We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Algotels
R 1 603
Fully refundable before Tue, 12 Mar
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
55
108
42
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
108
42
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gateway mall business trip awesome location located close walking distance umhlanga accommodation convenience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2021

What a wonderful experience, the hotel team were welcoming on my arrival, and nothing was too much trouble.
As always, the team did everything to ensure I was looked after.
Great sized room, with an awesome bath location and the option to watch the tv at the same time!

Date of stay: February 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased to hear you sing praises of our helpful and friendly staff and hotel facilities. Our hearing of these things coming together for your enjoyment is what drives us to continue to do our best. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2020

Location, complimentary parking & size & cleanliness of hotel room was exceptional.
Everything in our room was of a very good quality ie bed linen, towel, toilet paper etc.
reason for 4 star rating is because Lady who works at the bar (blond coloured hair) on several occasion had her mask on her chin. When reminded to cover her face, it was not taken too kindly judging from her facial expressions. Some of the security staff also did not cover their noses.
some guests were sitting in the lounge area at reception without face masks. we found this disturbing & felt very uncomfortable. Staff did not tell them to wear masks in order to be considerate to other guests like ourselves who wore masks ALL the time in public spaces.

Room tip: we stayed in room 216.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabes1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2021

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that we met your expectations. It is always very rewarding to receive such great feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2020 via mobile

From the staff to the hotel rooms, Everything was lovely. The hotel is situated across Gateway shopping mall which is so convenient! I Totally recommend this hotel to everyone who wants affordability and luxury.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Suvana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2021

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2020 via mobile

Hotel has good pandemic protocols.
Rooms are clean
Parking is safe
Perfect location
Room tip choose the ones facing palm boulevard
With number 1 to 11
Bit disappointing the restaurant was not stocked with variety of beers.
And not much choice for food .

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ashleyd827
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2021

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2020

The rooms were very clean.
The staff, at the restaurant in particular, were pleasant and willing to serve with a willing attitude.
I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of my stay. It exceeded the standards of other three star hotels that I used.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatSummer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2020

Thank you for choosing one of our hotels as you spend quality and memorable time with your loved ones. We are delighted to hear your appraisal of our friendly staff and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews