We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely gorgeous holiday cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Main bedroom
Front garden from cottage
Twin bedroom
Kitchen looking towards dining room
Bathroom - shower over bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fordingbridge, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Glynn793
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous holiday cottage”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful cottage. Adele & Sarah were there to greet us and then to say goodbye. We were made to feel very welcome The cottage had everything you could ask for when self catering. Spotlessly clean with fresh flowers. The beds were very comfy. Central heating and the use of a log fire. Our dog enjoyed the very well kept gardens. Plenty of places to visit. We went to Poole, Bournemouth, Salisbury and of course, The New Forest. I also managed to get to fly a two sweater plane at Compton Abbas, which was a treat from my husband. So thank you to the gardener who advised we should go to see the light aircraft fly past. We would love to go back, in fact I didn't want to leave. Thank you so much Adele & Sarah

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the facilities available to us and the comfort of the beds
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Great review thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentishtr...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Garden Cottage - A perfect New Forest retreat.”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

From the minute we arrived at Garden Cottage, the owners made us feel very welcome.
The cottage is very clean and well equipped, and set in beautiful and peaceful rural surroundings, in a lovely village with easy access to new forest walks.
There is generous parking to the front, and both the front and rear gardens are wonderful to relax in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location.l
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveRachK...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, offered everything that we look for in a holiday home. Weather didn't allow us to make much use of the garden but it was lovely, and fortunately there was much more downstairs space than the photos suggest. Kitchen well equipped, living room and bedrooms comfy and clean. Hadn't noticed that it was a cottage that allowed smoking until after we booked and were a bit concerned about possible cigarette smell, but there was no trace of it. Owners were friendly and attentive (especially in dropping round a little gift for my son's 4th birthday). We chose this place largely because it was much cheaper to stay outside of the New Forest boundary and drive in - for the sake of a 15 min drive it fitted the bill well. Only suggestion I would make is to lower the temperature of the hot water! Had to make sure the kids didn't try and use the taps.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No single thing - was all good.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Brighton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Gorgeous old cottage with snug fire - perfect retreat”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Had a wonderful post Christmas break in this old cottage situated between Salisbury and Fordingbridge. It was wonderful to have both central heating and a log fire with temperatures around freezing and the house was comfortable with sofa and chairs in the sitting room and excellent beds! The extras from the owners - fresh flowers, farewell gift of marmalade - were really thoughtful and we thoroughly enjoyed the log fire which we don't have at home - really lovely. Visited Salisbury and Fordingbridge, read books from the extensive library in the house and enjoyed the birds feeding in the back garden. Also found the trout farm just along the road which sold logs and, unsurprisingly, trout. My dog loved the garden and walks around Rockbourne. Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Log fire
Liked least: Chilly cottage
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2015
Very happy with this review. We enjoy having guests winter and summer and want to keep them comfortable at all times.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misshazel...
2 reviews
“A home from home”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Garden cottage is lovely. It has everything you need. The gardens are beautiful and the whole property is well maintained. Rockbourne village is a true chocolate box village, all thatched roofs and quaint old cottages. It's criss-crossed with walks so is ideal for those bringing their dogs. It's close to Salisbury and a pleasant drive to just about any of the neighbouring villages and towns. The property owners are really friendly and helpful, they gave us some of their home grown veg too. All in all this was a great holiday made so by garden cottage. It really is a home from home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Very many thanks for your lovely review. It is just what we want our guests to think. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing