We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great holiday that we will always remember”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kilrush, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angela B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great holiday that we will always remember”
Reviewed 26 March 2017 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It was lovely to stay in a house that took you back in time whilst still offering all the mod cons. It was great to look out onto the market square and hear the town gently waking up. My teenage children took a morning run to Cappagh and called into the shops on their way back always to be greeted warmly by the shopkeepers.
There was plenty to do, we walked to Vandeleur gardens, had breakfast at Jamm, and admired the cakes in Miniters. We walked along the cliffs at Kilkee and visited the Cliffs of Moher, but nothing was as nice as just being in the village of Kilrush because my children felt everyone was just so friendly.
At night we enjoyed live traditional irish music in Crotty’s - great atmosphere, a real sense that this music had been handed down from generation to generation, great food and they were genuinely interested in how they could help you have a good holiday. Then only a few steps and you could get back to the atmosphere of the Merchants house. Climbing up the wooden stairs. Looking out of the sash windows. For a brief moment you felt like it was Kilrush 1906 - wouldn't that be something!
Paul and his family were wonderful, very informative and friendly. They have a genuine interest in helping you enjoy your holiday and always have time to have a chat and ask you how your day has been.
A holiday we will always remember and I hope we will return.

Ps. We all loved having breakfast in the kitchen with the blue china and the pantry!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avril B
Mount Macedon, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
“A delightful place to stay...old world charm”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Merchant's House was a welcoming,comfortable home away from home. Paul met us and gave all the information we needed to make our visit happy and interesting for first time visitors to this part of Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DidiSjo
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly lovely stay.”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I absolutely adored my time here, and daydream often of Kilrush and The Merchant's House. I'm frightfully lazy about leaving reviews, but I think of this place every once in a while and smile, so I figured I should finally leave one!

My Mum and I stayed here for a few nights in late March and had a wonderful time. The Gleesons were very accommodating and made sure we felt right at home.

In person the Merchant's House is even more adorable than the photos, and the many small details like books and artwork make the place feel very homey. I found that the rooms were all very spacious, and the large kitchen was a treat. The weather when we were there was chilly, but with the fireplace lit it was very manageable. One of my favorite parts of the apartment were the large windows with a view overlooking the market square. The central Kilrush location really cannot be beaten!

The car park is only a few steps away, and you can also walk anywhere in town. Aside from the usual pubs, there is a good bakery called Considine's just down the street, and if you walk a bit past that you will reach the shore and a marina. I would also urge you to have a look around Gleeson's hardware store, just down the street, as it carries much more than just hardware. The best souvenir of the whole trip was a darling little mug with a strawberry motif that I purchased there.

The Merchant's House is a great place to stay. I has character, history, and is large and comfortable. It's the kind of place you are happy to relax in after a long day of site-seeing. In the future I would love to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Historical with a great location.
Liked least: It was a bit chilly without the fireplace lit.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Wow! Thank you for this incredible feedback, it really makes us happy to hear about the superb time you had in Kilrush. Daydream about The Merchant's House no more, it is right here waiting for you and we would love to have you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisecas
UK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation in a lovely Irish town”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The accommodation is beautiful and the location is perfect for a quiet, authentic Irish coastal town holiday.

The first thing to say about this gorgeously restored apartment is that it is much, much bigger than it looks in these photos. We were really surprised to find that the kitchen is large and has an adjoining butlers pantry; the living room is much bigger than we expected; and the bedrooms and bathrooms are on a separate floor, up a large, wide, winding staircase. It's been beautifully restored and one suspects Farrow and Ball played a significant part in the decor.

We deliberately sought out lovely accommodations as we wanted a place where we would feel happy and spoiled about having nights in with a DVD and staying in for supper; we were tired, and just wanted a rest. But we also knew that we would be bored of that after a few days and so we also looked for a town with a quiet, friendly population and exploring to be had within short distances. We found that spot here.

The town of Kilrush is quiet - perhaps because we went at the end of September - and was perfect for what we were seeking. We wanted a town with one or two local pubs populated by friendly locals and served food, in a town by the sea, with a little to explore by car in the vicinity. That is what Kilrush is; it's not got a huge nightlife and you'd be sorely disappointed if you were looking for a party town, but if you want genuinely low-key high-friendliness Ireland, you can find it here.

Sites like TripAdvisor will tell you about Crotty's pub (which serves lovely Guinness and great, though somewhat overpriced food) and the Buggles Bar (with free wifi and friendly owners who are happy to chat to blow-ins like us). However, we recommend you seek out Johnsons Bar, opposite Gleeson's Hardware store: the Guinness is fresh and the banter is friendly and, if you're really lucky, you may even get invited to join a lock-in without even noticing it happened.

That all sounds glowing, so were there any drawbacks? Well... in terms of the flat, we could have done with some instructions on how to use the cooker, and the en suite shower is a bit small and that bathroom has no shelves. The staircases, particularly as you enter the flat, are rather steep and the television is very small. It would also be very hard to stay here without a car, though I suppose you could easily get here by taxi from Shannon airport.

Overall we loved the short time we stayed here. We were supposed to stay a week, but our time in Kilrush was cut way too short due to being called home. We hope we'll go back to finish what we started, and see the dolphins the bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and the locals
Liked least: Having to leave early
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing