We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$95
US$89
View deal
SAVE US$6
Free cancellation until 21/06/27
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Lol.travelUS$95
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
123
244
145
26
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
123
244
145
26
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern hotel next door bilbao city business hotel walk car metro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2020 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel, huge room and great comfy beds! Overall, a very modern hotel that ticks all the boxes as long as you are ready to walk for some time to the beach/ town centre/ metro or take your car. For us it was perfect as it was a bit out of the way so it was quiet and a great place to explore the region. The current assisted buffet because of C19 is not practical but I guess there's no perfect solutions.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BESTOFBERKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel Unzalu Biteri, Director General at NH La Avanzada, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2020

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2020

It's always nice to see other people commenting in a similar manner to what your review will say! I feel for the hotel to an extent as there are certain elements of my stay which they can't really do much about, such as their location, but otherwise this was a perfectly acceptable stay for one night on business.

It's interesting to see that this NH review is very similar to what I wrote about a sister property in Logrono as they seem to suffer from similar issues which might either be the way in which NH fit out a hotel, or simply how the Spanish put up their buildings...not sure which it is, but paper thin walls in hotels is something for me which is a cardinal sin in the hospitality industry...nobody wants to hear the shennanigans of their neighbouring room(s) and I got woken up by one of the rooms next door both in the late evening when trying to get to sleep and again, first thing in the morning before waking up which detracted from my sleep quality which was actually pretty good in a comfortable, clean bed.

The view from my room was OK, the slightly bigger issue was that it overlooked a busy main road, and since it was very warm, I wanted the window open, and then it was very noisy from the road, so it was a kind of no-win situation! But I prefer an open window to any AC system.

The room (and hotel) is modern, clean and simple. It does what it needs to, and as people have commented before, this is NOT a 4* hotel in the traditional (and British) sense. There are very limited facilities on site and this is a budget hotel wrapped up in modern clothes! But everything was fresh & clean and that is important so full marks there! The shower in the room was also very good; my only issue was that the bidet/toilet got in the way of you getting in and out of the shower, so the bathroom was badly designed (and too small). The only other tiny thing in room 507 was there was no USB sockets in the room which for a modern hotel was surprising and I needed to charge my phone and had forgotten my plug. Luckily, your kind staff on reception were very helpful indeed and lent me a charger for a couple of hours.

Finally, the breakfast was perfectly OK...there was a decent selection of options to eat and the fruit juices especially were very good.

Overall, this is a good business hotel for 1-2 night stays, and has good access to the Bilbao city/port and the Rioja area.

Room tip: Try and ask for a room that is not facing the main road
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank AngloItalian78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel U, Director de Recepción at NH La Avanzada, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your detailed description of our hotel. It is undoubtedly a great help for other travelers who decide to visit our city. We hope to receive you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2019

This was a great place to stay overnight before an early ferry crossing the next day. Room fresh and modern, we didn't eat in the restaurant as the food was a buffet so we ordered room service which was excellent

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank MockyNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel U, Director de Recepción at NH La Avanzada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2019

Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for choosing Nh La Avanzada hotel for your stay in Bilbao and for your feedback. We are glad to read that you had a comfortable experience.
We hope to welcome you again soon,
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2019 via mobile

This is a budget hotel, so you have to judge it accordingly. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was fine and the beds were comfortable. However the location is really nowhere near anything other than a very dodgy looking club opposite.The walls are thin so you can hear the neighboring rooms and the curtains did not meet.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank pabrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel U, Director de Recepción at NH La Avanzada, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2019

Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments and remarks regarding your experience at the Nh La Avanzada
We are pleased that you were satisfied with you room, and the breakfast alternatives during your stay.
Sorry bt i can´t be agree with you regarding the location. We are situated in one of the best area of the basque country, in a residencial, place very close of all important tursitic places of the area and just fifteen minutes derving to the center of the city.

We are at your full disposal and we thank you once again for your comments.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

I loved the hotel, they were welcoming and helpful, the only downside was the walls were thin so you could occasionally hear the neighbours. We didn't have the breakfast there so can't comment on that. It's in a nice neighborhood

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel U, Director de Recepción at NH La Avanzada, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Customer,

It is a pleasure to know that you had a nice stay and the hotel services were according to your needs.
We hope to see you again when you visit again the city, and this time you have the opportunity to taste our breakfast buffet.

Thanks and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews