We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Immaculately kept barn conversion”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Catterlen, Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ColB51
Cornwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Immaculately kept barn conversion”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in July 2016

We trawled the internet for hours trying to find the perfect Lakeland cottage and we were truly delighted.
Swallows Nest is the perfect place to look forward to coming home to after a hard days walking.
Debbie and Derek have made the perfect holiday destination for us
and thankyou for going out of your way making us feel very welcome.
We have had a wonderful week visiting Kendal, Windermere, Keswick, Carlisle and Penrith not to mention miles of walking
around Buttermere, Scale Force, Derwent water and up to Aira Force at Ullswater and Pooley Bridge.
We were blessed with good weather and stunning views but the crowning glory goes to Debbie and Derek for providing Swallows Nest.
We have booked again for 2017.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theharrog...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
637 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“5th Visit 💕”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Back from another February stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our family chose to return because your holiday starts as you step through the door. Everything is maintained to a meticulous standard by Debbie who welcomes you just like family.
We love the area with Penrith being only 5 mins away and it's full of shops, restaurants, take-sways etc, as well as several supermarkets from Booths to Aldi. The stunning lake Ullswater is your closest lake around 15 minutes drive away. I love everything about Swallow's Nest and will certainly be returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theharrog...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
637 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed several times at Swallows Nest and each time it has been perfect! The cottage is contemporary and stylish yet feels very homely and cosy! The cottage has everything you could want and two bathrooms make it ideal for a family. The hosts are so friendly and accommodating and nothing is too much trouble. Penrith with Booths supermarket is less than 10 mins away as is Ullswater. Fabulous and we cannot wait to stay again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioStar
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location for access to M..... but sooo quiet”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

If you are wanting a location that can access the Lake District and beyond, this is your place. It may have tight bedrooms but the view from the upstairs and space to spread out is great after a day of running around. The kitchen was better than my own at home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location and quiet
Liked least: tight bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TandEm200...
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the Best, better than all the rest...”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was our first visit to both the Lake District and to Swallow's Nest. We didn't get the best of weather but despite that we still went out each day to explore the area and admire the stunning scenery. We felt totally at home in the beautiful cottage and nothing was too much trouble for the owners to make our stay so comfortable and enjoyable. We enjoyed the freedom to come and go as we pleased and, whilst our accommodation was in a peaceful rural location, we were only minutes away from nearby pubs and Penrith was just a short drive away. We look forward to making a return visit in the future.

The property is upside down insomuch that the two bedrooms (one with en suite) and bathroom are on the ground floor with stairs leading up to the living room, kitchen and dining area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing