We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dog friendly well equipped apartment, ideally...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cherry Bank

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Bolton Castle
The Buttertubs
Aysgarth Falls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bainbridge, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tonyandma...
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dog friendly well equipped apartment, ideally located for walks in the Dales.”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Bainbridge has a great pub dating from 1445. There is a tea room and village shop that provides limited items within a residential home. Easy access to walks by foot and plenty more with a short drive, the Pennine Way is close by. Hawes and Leyburn have shops and small supermarkets. Wensleydale Creamery was an interesting and tasty visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian W
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“All that it was advertised to be”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We were very pleased with our stay in Cherry Bank. The house was well appointed with everything we needed. Bainbridge is smaller and quieter than Hawes but still a short drive away. An added plus was that the bar featured in "All Creatures..." is about a mile away in neighboring Askrigg. A reasonably short drive away is Richmond and Leyburn, which had some very nice markets, pottery outlets and other attractions.

The only issue I had is that it is hard to describe exactly which house it is. We probably drove past it five times before we figured it out. Probably our fault, because you don't want to be knocking on the wrong door especially after dark. Besides that, top marks! Very centrally located.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helen O
Wallington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, cosy and well equipped ground floor apartment.”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Cherry Bank Cottage is an idyllic setting in the beautiful village of Bainbridge. We found ourselves in a very central location in order to explore Wensleydale and beyond. We walked, golfed, kayaked and ate.....lots!! We were spoilt for choice when it came to good pubs and tea rooms in the area.
Wendy and Hugh left lots of useful information in the cottage and sent clear instructions as to how to find Cherry Bank and how to access our keys ahead of our visit.
As soon as we walked in, we felt at home. Everything was nicely presented and very clean! The accommodation was very well equipped, with excellent facilities.
We had our 2 teenage daughters with us and found it ideal for a family of 4.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and comfort of the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cj-Dixon6...
Bourton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wow! Superb cottage and location.”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We arrived after a long drive and no sleep for over 36 hrs and expected to just find the bed and sleep, but the cottage was so clean, homely and beautiful that it instantly rejuvenated us. We settled in and took the dogs for a well deserved walk popping in the local for a pint before returning. The kitchen is very well equipped and a joy to cook in. All the info you could possible think of is supplied in the welcome book and plenty of leaflets for things to do. Comfortable beds and a surprisingly relaxing bath. Really felt like home from home, not a holiday let. There was a fire prepped when we arrived but we did not need to light it. One evening it was a little chilly but warmed up by just having the heating on for half hour. The village is also a great location, with a lovely cafe and a friendly pub both within a minutes walk. There is some fabulous walks from the cottage should you not wish to drive but also a great base for many of the beautiful walks, waterfalls and attractions of the Dales. Would highly recommend..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the cottage
Liked least: Lack of garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing