We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't have felt more comfortable.”
other travellers have booked this property
The building itself is grade 2 listed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The building itself is grade 2 listed
The living room with the fire roaring The kitchen is one of the main features of the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The building itself is grade 2 listed
The living room with the fire roaring
The kitchen is one of the main features of the property
The kitchen has everything you will need
The pond and the cottage
The master bedroom is spacious and comfortable
The second bedroom all ready for your stay
Newly renovated bathroom
The bathroom has a bath/shower
The living room has a luxury double sofa bed
Open plan landing area
Simply decorated livingroom/diner to relax in
Lovely views to the front of the property
There are dozens of waling routes metres from the door
The cottage is based at the foot of Kinder
Welcome to the Gamekeepers cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hayfield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nabihadar...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't have felt more comfortable.”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Me and my four children decided to stay at the cottage over their easter holidays & it was the best decision we made.
The Cottage is as beautiful on the inside as it is on the outside, with gorgeous peacocks and other wildlife we enjoyed looking at.
My kids love to run around & make noise, so the playground nearby and the open space just outside of our doorstep was very convenient.
We were welcomed with a perfectly clean accommodation, equipped with everything we needed. From kitchen utensils to two TV's, a washing machine, towels & toiletries. We couldn't have asked for more!
As everything was ready beforehand, we didn't need to contact the owner Christian that much, but on the one occasion we did, he was very friendly & helpful.

We loved our stay at the Cottage and would certainly come again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hendri_he...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent. And the kids loved it too.”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 days and had a good time. Excellent cottage with beautiful sorroundings to explore. It's a bit hard to switch back from tap to shower in the bath tub but otherwise it's good. The peacocks showing up outside was one nice surprise.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation, great location!”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I took a trip to the Peak District with two friends of ours and stayed here for four nights over the March 2016 Easter weekend. Although the weather was mixed, we had an amazing time and thoroughly enjoyed exploring the Peaks.

The cottage is located close to the foot of Kinder Scout so you can be out of the back door and starting your walk on the Peaks in under a minute! Great if you don't fancy getting the car out during your stay.

The cottage itself is very homely, tastefully decorated to a good standard and well equipped. The kitchen is well stocked with utensils etc. and there is a washing machine for dealing with those stinky walking socks!

Towels and soaps are provided along with wood for the log stove. We only dealt with the owner (Christian) on a couple of occasions but he was always friendly and happy to help.

WiFi is available for those that can't switch off but as to be expected for the location, it isn't the fastest.

Zero complaints from us and would certainly consider a return trip!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fabulous find in the Peak District”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We travelled with three children and took our bikes, wellies and maps having booked 4 nights over half term - certainly could have stayed much longer and would love to stay again.
The location was perfect as we could walk/run/cycle literally from the doorstep.
We took full advantage of the locality following the Sett Valley Trail, visiting the Chestnut Centre, Lyme Park, Hall and gardens plus a trip to the cinema to see the latest James Bond film...
Highly recommend the cottage!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Gamekeeper's Cottage”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a long weekend and wished it could have been longer. Brilliant location with direct access to the moor, Manchester and the peaks. Newly renovated and well presented accommodation within a beautiful Georgian setting. Lots of wildlife on display but the Peacock stole the show. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing