We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extraordinary”
Review of L'Elisir Del Poeta

L'Elisir Del Poeta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$45
Cuisines: Deli, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner
Description: The Elisir del Poeta, through the skillful mastery of Signora Barbara, Owner and Chef, offers its clients a tasteful taste for the palate; tradition and knowledge merge into a just marriage. The old kitchen of the hamlet is revisited in modern style, products used strictly at km 0, in combination, on certain dishes with local and Italian excellence.
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

what an amazing surprise! everything was simply perfect : Andrea and Barbara who welcomed us warmly , making us feel like family by the time we left. the special ambiance in the tiny restaurant, the nice music accompanying the meal. and the food... simply delicious and abundant. Andrea explained each of the many dishes he brought, each prepared with love from ingredients coming from his own farm or other local farmers and shpherds. the wine was great, and the price more than fair. we will certainly return.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank 844rachel844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Direttore at L'Elisir Del Poeta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you so much for the wonderful words. With the wish to be able to have you back our guest, a cordial greeting.
A & B ... ^ _ ^

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2018

This is a restaurant ran by a married couple Andrea and Barbara - there is only one room, where up to a max of 14 people can be seated. There is no menu - a selection of several dishes made exclusively from local ingredients (many grown by Andrea himself!) are served for a fixed price menu. The food is fresh and delicious, and the service is very attentive. I was utterly stuffed by the end! The fresh ricotta was, I believe, made that morning. Please note the restaurant accepts CASH ONLY as it is located in this very remote, tiny village. It's a unique experience and a real treat, not to be missed.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank myappletree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Direttore at L'Elisir Del Poeta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you so very much for the wonderful words. With the wish to be able to have you back our guest, a cordial greeting.
A & B ... ^ _ ^

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Yep. This place is excellent. I have lived in Italy for a year now and this restaurant makes the top five list. Very unique flavors, great service, and friendly staff. The small plates featuring local ingredients really stood out. It is a fixed menu and the place only has four tables. Reservations essential. They were very accommodating to find space for my large stroller in their small restaurant. I will definitely return.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank goatsdoroam2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Direttore at L'Elisir Del Poeta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you so much for the wonderful words.
With the wish to be able to have you back our guest, a cordial greeting.
A & B ... ^ _ ^

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

The motto of the husband-and-wife owners, Andrea and Barbara Piccinini, is “Ospiti, non Clienti”, and from the moment we walked in to this tiny restaurant we felt as if we were welcomed into their home.
While Barbara did her magic in the kitchen, Andrea brought us many amazing dishes, each with an explanation as to what was what, and what came from where. There wany small servings, each as different and as delicious as the previous – and all examples of the local cuisine. Most of the ingredients came from local vegetable gardens, and much came in the form of wild herbs and vegetables gathered by Andrea from the nearby hills.
Here are some of the tastings: Tomatoes with wild fennel; eggplant served with fresh pear; locally-made ricotta cheese with pistachio nuts; roasted pepperoni with potatoes; zucchini and carrot soup with barley; grilled cheese with honey and hazelnuts; barley risotto with wild herbs, almonds and lemon rind. We drank a delicious Cerasuolo rosé and a hearty red Montepulciano d’Abruzzo.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Proprietario at L'Elisir Del Poeta, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Yes, exact Guests of our little house, we thank you for your words.
The commitment to always do well and better.
A dear greeting Mr Miguel!! ^ _ ^
A & B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

This is a tiny restaurant in the owners Barbara and Andrea's house in this fabulously picturesque mountain town. As soon as we arrived we could feel the warm of both the room and the welcome of the hosts and we just felt that we were somewhere magical. Andrea is the epitome of an attentive host making you feel comfortable, relaxed and special all at the same time. He describes each of the dishes to you, all made with local ingredients, and is clearly and rightly proud of the fabulous dishes Barbara prepares. The food is served with regional wine to compliment the traditional dishes and you really feel you have shared a taste of the best that the area has to offer both with the gastronomic experience and the warmth and hospitality of Andrea and Barbara. Barbara came into the restaurant several times to say hello and see if we were enjoying the food and was the most lovely lady and fabulous cook you could hope to meet. I could not recommend this restaurant highly enough and will certainly be returning with friends to share this wonderful gem. Thank you Andrea and Barbara for a truly special evening.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stevoBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Proprietario at L'Elisir Del Poeta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you for coming to visit us in our little house.
A warm greeting !!!
A & B .... ^_^

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Elisir Del Poeta also viewed

Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
 
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
 
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
 

Been to L'Elisir Del Poeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing