We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely expat favorite for lunch.”
Review of Ballena Bistro

Ballena Bistro
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Ballena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Ballena Bistro is located in a beautiful wooden building. Our fusion dishes are casual and creative and made with the freshest ingredients. Everything is homemade including our burger buns. We are dedicated to make your visit special.
Reviewed 4 October 2018

My business regularly takes me to the south of Costa Rica and this delightful restaurant is my favorite lunch spot. For three years I have been able to rely on a delicious meal with the added positive of delightful service. A genuine Tico treasure.

Thank Escazu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizeth Q, Owner at Ballena Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tu comentario, siempre será un placer que nos visites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2018

Stopped in for lunch while driving up the coast - what a treasure! I had the special Arroz con Pollo which came with homemade potato chips and a pasta salad. I've had this dish multiple times in Costa Rica and this was the most beautifully presented and very delicious. My husband ordered the fish burger. It too was amazing - fresh fish, crispy onion rings, tartar sauce on a homemade bun. Sadly, we didn't have room for dessert, but the ice-cream choices look amazing. They are not open for dinner this time of year, so plan accordingly! Great service, great food, beautiful presentation and decor.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizeth Q, Owner at Ballena Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por la reseña, muy alegres de tenerles y que disfrutarán un almuerzo agradable, pura vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The Bistro is very nice and the food is excellent. Liz was our waitress and she was great! The pasta with shrimp was so good! Between us we had 4 different entrees and all were great. We had the blackberry ice cream for dessert and it was also very good. The Ginger Margarita was also very good. They aren't open very late so make sure you stop in for lunch or early dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aire5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizeth Q, Owner at Ballena Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tu reseña, fue un placer atenderles y hacer su almuerzo un momento agradable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

My husband and I went for a drive down the coast after visiting Uvita's beaches and stumbled upon this treasure. The restaurant is clean and decorated beautifully. The food was delicious and was very reasonably priced. My husband had the fish soup and I had a coconut quinoa and kale dish and we shared a ceviche. It was one of our favorite meals during our 7 day stay in Costa Rica. Liz was our server and she was so kind and hospitable. We didn't try the dessert but it looked amazing. We plan to go back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizeth Q, Owner at Ballena Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tu reseña Christine, un placer conocerte y a tu esposo, espero regresen pronto por el postre, un abrazo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Ballena Bistro provided my best meal of this trip! Pleasent surroundings,great wait staff.The trout was excellent! The highlight of the meal was the blackberry,basil,coconut milk vegan ice cream.Best ice cream I have ever had!!!

Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizeth Q, Owner at Ballena Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias Greg, espero regreses por más helado, saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ballena Bistro also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Ballena Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing