We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
andele_nel
Johannesburg, South Africa

Overnight Stay

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 May 2017
We received a very warm welcome on arrival. The main guesthouse is stunning and looks very cozy, inviting and well maintained. Unfortunately we could not find accommodation in the main house and booked a room to accommodate 4 people. The room was very neat and catered for the cold winter weather, thus I cannot complain about the interior and comfort of the room. The issue was that there is no space to park in front of the room and one can see renovations are still being done, so it might come later. With this said, there are no steps to get to where you park witch is right behind the room on the grass. The patio is quite high from the ground up, and makes it difficult to get up or down especially if you are all dressed up to attend a wedding just across the road. Other than that it was good for an overnight stay.
Date of stay: April 2017
Room Tip: Book in the Main Guesthouse.
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
Free parking
Pool
  • Agoda.com
Free parking
Pool
Zebra Stables Exterior
R 2 136
R 1 797
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 797
Free parking
Pool
Wild life in the conservancy
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 395
  • eDreams
Free parking
Pool
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
Free parking
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
Free parking
Restaurant
Bass Lake Lodge
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
View more hotels in Cullinan
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
4
2
3
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
4
2
3
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We had the worst experience ever at Liebencharm GuestHouse. We attended a wedding about a 10 minute drive from Liebencharm. As we arrived on the late side for the wedding, we decided to phone the owners and tell them we would be late. That was met by complaints from their side, but they promised to leave the key for our room - which we had paid for weeks before - with the security guard. We arrived at the guesthouse around midnight only to find that the security guard didn't have the key to our room. We had to wait for a long time, then the owner walked up to and started swearing at me and then threatened to get his firearm to eject us off his property. He used shockingly crude and offensive language.We left shaking and I was crying.

I am really well traveled and this is the worst treatment ever from a tourism establishment. To top if off, we had to drive back to Johannesburg in the middle of the night and the owners have refused to refund us while we never even stayed there. Awful awful place, they are a disgrace to this beautiful country.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank ruth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

What a lovely place to relax and unwind with stunning scenery and peace and quiet. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and immaculately clean. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. Would definitely recommend to anyone! Will be back for sure!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AnnaJ5713
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We booked out Liebencharm guesthouse for a bachelorette party. We received a warm welcome and enjoyed the peace and quiet. Definetly a hidden jewel and conveniently close to wedding venues and restaurants but out of the hustle and bustle. Will definitely recommend this place to everyone that enjoys the outdoord and peace of quiet a farm offers.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Adelesmit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Never in my life have I experienced such disregard. I'm shocked that a place like this has been allowed to operate today. The owner or whoever it was came out threatening to get his firearm and shoot us while we were trying to get our room key for which we paid for a week in advance. I'm disgusted by the experience and it's confirmed to me that people like this will never change

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fabianmedea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

I opted to surprise my hubby with a mini breakaway to "recover from the December madness". What a stunning surprise to find this little gem nestled away just outside cullinan! I loved the privacy of our cabin, the staff were all so friendly and owner Wanda went out of her way to personally be on standby for our every wish. We felt so spoilt and relaxed more in our 4 days there than we did the entire December holiday. We will be back for sure!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Elanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews