We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
1
9
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1
9
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We went to this great little place for my parents 37th anniversary and my mother's birthday. We stayed in the Bush baby house that was really great. Lots of space to move around and great feather down duvets :) Shower door is broken, just to let you know, but was not a major issue. Would also recommend some ice as the ice trays were all empty. Everything was clean and tidy. Prince welcomed us at the gate on arrival and checked on us a couple of times which was really great. Boma is really great, but would really suggest shade netting or an umbrella or something as it is impossible to use that whole area from 10:30 till before sun set, which makes it kind of useless.as you have to sit in front and have no privacy. Pool was very nice and clean. All our requests were met by Alex and her amazing staff, especially the bougainvilla flower heart on the bed. Thank you so much! I personally would book the Anthelope house next time as it has a huge covered stoep and has more privacy.Thanks again for everything, we will definetly be back soon! O and we actually heard a lion in the early hours of the morning...is that possible...wow!

Room tip: Close to Jhb and Pta and no MTN signal at all!
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Uzzy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KwaThabisile2015, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Thank you for the the review and recommendations, it is much appreciated!

I'm glad you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves for your parents' anniversary and birthday and the flower hearts! I will definitely forward your appraisal to Prince and the staff, they will be encouraged and always enjoy hearing positive feedback.

The lions that you heard roaring are most likely from the Lion Whisperer 'Kevin Richardson'. Next time you stay with us, you can enjoy a day visit with him and his 'cats' that are being cared for …

We look forward to hearing from you again.

Kind regards
Alexandra
KwaThabisile Game Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

No manager in sight throughout our stay. Not even a phone call to "welcome" us at least.

Only two staff members were available, who were alright. I am just surprised that the two units which we occupied were not serviced. Self catering does require one to wash their own dishes and tidy up, but I did not expect a total neglect of basic service.

The place needs a lot of TLC, broken shower doors, patched up ceilings, bed resting on bricks, faulty ceiling fans and stove .... etc, etc!

The place looks like it was decent many, many years ago.

Would I recommend KwaThabisile - NO!

Date of stay: June 2015
2  Thank mmathabod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra R, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

Dear Mmathabo

Thank you for taking the time to review KwaThabisile.

I did reply to you via email. In the meantime, I would like to let you know that we have assessed the points that you mentioned.

Unfortunately, you were not available when the manager was there and did not want to disturb your privacy. Should there be a problem, he is available at moments notice.

We do sincerely apologise that the foot of one of the beds was missing and one of the shower doors was broken, both have been fixed.

The fans are in full working order as well as the stoves etc.

Both our staff that were on duty have been with us for many years and are mostly praised for their friendliness and willingness. It does happen that guests prefer to wash their own dishes and prefer not to be disturbed.

The photos are a true reflection of what we offer, however, I am sorry that KwaThabisile did not meet your expectations. I am grateful sincerely grateful for the points raised as it is important to us to be able to improve where certain things have been overseen or not attended to.

Please extent our gratitude to your mom for writing an encouraging review in our guest book.

" 07/06/2015

Beautiful stay, friendly staff (Emily and William)

Thank you both 60th & 35th Birthday Celebration (mom & daughter)
06/06

Disemelo family - Soweto"

I do apologise that you were disappointed but hope that you enjoyed this special occassion as well as the birthday cake we arranged for you and your mom.

We do hope that we see you and your family again in the future and wish you the very best.

Kind regards
Alexandra R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile

The accommodation really was top class and was in an awesome environment where you can hear lion as well as other animals. Unfortunately the inside of the thatched rooms were a bit dark but other than that it was an awesome 10 day stay.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Murray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KwaThabisile2015, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Thank you so much for the review!

We are so glad you guys had such an awesome time and well done to all at the rowers at the National Rowing Competition at Roodeplaat Dam.

We appreciate your input and will definitely take your advice.

In the meantime have a wonderful year and really look forward to seeing you all again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A bit nervous when we first arrived - it's out in the middle of nowhere off a dirt road. But this turned out to be a good thing, as it was so secluded and peaceful with no city noises.
Quite empty when we arrived, took a bit longer than I would've liked for someone to come and meet us - except the four boisterous dogs, which were running around our vehicles as soon as we got in the gate. This was fine for me because I love dogs and they were all very friendly and docile, but Max in particular is a big fellow, and could easily intimdate people unfamiliar or not partial to dogs - a warning when booking, at least, would be good for people to know. These dgos roam loose around the property, which became a problem when they invited themselves into our units. They've even figured out how to open the closed sliding doors! Also a bit of a pain during outside braais, with four dogs around your feet begging for scraps.

Our group rented several of the units - they were all similar, but we did find that many of the lights didn't work. One of the kitchens had absolutely no lights working, and no windows, so was in darkness all the time. The ceiling fan in this kitchen also looked in danger of falling off, didn't want to stand directly under it. Fridges all worked, but a couple of them needed their seals replaced. Freezers kept frozen things frozen, but didn't freeze things from room temperature very well (ie, a tray of ice took a day and a half to freeze totally).

Bedrooms were comfortable, clean and tidy. Our mosquito net had several holes in it. None of the doors or windows had screens on them, so it got very hot inside. Bathrooms were clean and tidy, bit of mould on some of the ceilings though.

The communal braai area outside was fanastic, with torches and a fire pit. The swimming pool and patio was also a favourite area for a great deal of the day.

The staff were all helpful, but at times difficult to find. It's quite a large property though, so that's understandable.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank z0mbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KwaThabisile2015, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our venue!

It is much appreciated and valued …We have definitely taken note and will make improvements where needed.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, especially by the Pool and Boma area. We look forward to hearing from you again when you are next in South Africa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Another wonderful break at KwaThabasili. We just love spending time there with the dogs. The sunsets are incredible and the stars at night awesome. If you have bikes take them along otherwise take a walk with the pooches-they love the exercise.

Room tip: Antelope with its stope overlooking the bush.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny312583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KwaThabisile2015, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Dear Jenny

We have thoroughly enjoyed having you back with the new addition to your family. I have no doubt that Max and Bibi loved making new friends.

Your review is lovely and look forward to seeing you again with your little pooch!

In the meantime take care ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews