We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
US$113
View deal
Expedia.comUS$113
TravelocityUS$113
CheapTicketsUS$113
Orbitz.comUS$113
TripadvisorUS$113
eDreams
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
176
20
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
176
20
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walk with the lions lion cubs horse riding wild animals amazing experience conservation project tiny babies a lot of fun made us feel at home lions roaring loved every minute great weekend ride beginners connie safari tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2020

I stayed at Colin's Horseback for one night in March and had a brilliant experience. All staff were wonderful and couldn't have been more helpful despite clearly tough times ahead. The accommodation is authentic and comfortable (wrong place to come if you're looking for luxury) but you are sleeping less than 20 yards from fully grown lions. The horseback safari was amazing, we saw giraffe, wilder-beast, zebra, kudu and much more. Being on horseback we were able to follow the wildlife and get up much closer than on normal safaris. After lunch we went walking with the lions and watched them feed before interacting with the lion cubs. The conservation project underway at Colin's will be explained in full but rest assured that this is a facility that is wholly opposed to contributing directly or indirectly to any sort of hunting either legal or illegal. Their lions are raised in such a way to give them the greatest chance to be released to the wild. I will certainly be back to Colin's. Thank you.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank adam4991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2020

I was at Colin's for a weekend in between some business events. Did three rides ("safari" first morning, then evening ride the same day and, since I did not have enough, earl morning ride the next day. Connie and her staff was phenomenal, I was lucky to ride with another another customer who was similarly skilled and they took us on a progression of difficulty and fun, ending with a full gallop. All this while seeing giraffes, gnus, zebras and more. I also did the walk with the lions that is really interesting, pleasant and informative. Playing with 6 mo and less than 1 month old lions is really fun! The staff is all excellent. My room was simple but clean and comfortable. Just be aware that when you arrive from the main (dirt) road you have to pull the gate to the property open yourself --there is no cellphone reception at the gate. I did not give full marks for sleep quality because you get lions roaring from 5AM; this is kind of fun and did not bother me, but I guess does not qualify for perfect sleep.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beenthere020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theony MacRae, Owner at Colin's Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2020

Thank you so much for enjoying our beautiful home with us. I really had to laugh when you write that you did not give a 5 star for sleep quality because of the lions roaring!! That is SO funny!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020

Staff is incredibly friendly, our horse ridimg guides were knowledgeable and a lot of fun. The horse riding safari was exiting with a great polo field galop to finish off a great ride. Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank telirider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theony MacRae, Owner at Colin's Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2020

Yes, the polo filed is great, and so is the new Parkrun route that is in the planning for a grand opening in April. This route can also be enjoyed by horse riders. Hopefully you can try this the next time you come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2020 via mobile

Was amazing!! Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. They really are doing great work here. The walk with the lions was fantastic seeing them practicing their skills to become predators. Then got a chance to meet some younger cubs and even some tiny babies.

Would highly recommend it.

Thanks again

Phil & Charlotte

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PhilLdn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBAHorsebackAfrica, Owner at Colin's Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

Hi Phil and Charlotte, Thank you SO MUCH for enjoying the lions with us. It is such a beautiful time of the year, so you had all the "summer" feel with the green grass and the warm weather as well. Thank you for coming!! Kindly Theony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020

By far the best horseback safari i have ever been on. We loved every moment of it. Connie matched us with the perfect horses. All the staff here are amazing and made us feel at home. Suited for beginners or experienced horse riders. Would definitely recommend

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TisH91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBAHorsebackAfrica, Owner at Colin's Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

That is the most fantastic comment that you made - by far the best horseback safari I have ever been on. What a compliment!! Thank you for enjoying this with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews