We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$108
View deal
eDreams
Expedia.com
US$108
View deal
Hotels.comUS$108
CheapTicketsUS$108
TravelocityUS$108
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
176
20
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
176
20
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walk with the lions lion cubs horse riding wild animals amazing experience conservation project tiny babies a lot of fun made us feel at home lions roaring loved every minute great weekend ride beginners connie safari tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2020

I love the horse. They are so well trained. And the hospitality at Horseback Africa is wonderful... I learned alot with our tour on horse back through the safari game drive and wild animals... Thanks to everyone there... They made us feel very welkom...

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JeanelS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBAHorsebackAfrica, Owner at Colin's Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

You were the first guests of 2020! Thank you for starting our year off here with us on a beautiful horse ride in the African bush. Spread the word to other horsy people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2019 via mobile

What a lovely place. The host and staff are realy welcoming and friendly. They try to make sure you have the best time away in the bush. The guided tours are extremely informative and a must. I definitely recomend Colin's Horseback Afrika for any family getaway. The walk with the Lions is special and an experience unlike any other.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vincent_Kelly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBAHorsebackAfrica, Owner at Colin's Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2019

Thank you so much for your kind words! Yes, the Horseback Africa team do us proud. Even when we (Colin and I) are away, they do their best because they love their life at Horseback Africa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2019 via mobile

First day in johannesburg was such a blast with the Colins Horseback Safari! Me and my friend booked the safari in advance via their homepage. When we arrived we were greeted friendly by all the staff and were even offered a selection of dishes to choose from for our lunch after the safari. Afterwards we received a very good introduction by our guide regarding the handling of the horses. I was very surprised by all the great details she gave us. At most other places I have visited you are simply ‘put’ on a horse which then just carries you around. However, our guide Marie taught us all about how to steer the horse and about safety rules. After this we felt totally confident for our horseback safari! During the Safari we saw almost all the wildlife present in the park such as Zebras and Giraffes. Marie was also providing us with a lot of interesting information and patiently answered all my questions!
All in all we had am amazing time!!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Laradiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBAHorsebackAfrica, Owner at Colin's Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2019

It makes us so happy when people enjoy what we have to offer. Our horses are darlings and our team is great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2019

That's my second time at Colin's and it couldn't be more exciting! We were a group of three and from the booking via email until the end of our tour the experience was excellent, the guide that took us to see the Lions are very smart and was paying attention to our safety every time, the possiblity to meet and walking with baby lions is something you cannot miss!
Thank you !!!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Brunobquirino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBAHorsebackAfrica, Owner at Colin's Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2019

Thank you so much for coming again. It proves that we really want to continue doing what we do and do it as well as we can. We love our animals and we want to share this with everybody.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2019

This place is amazing we loved every minute of our time there. Probably the nicest people you will ever meet, straight away you will feel more like a friend than a guest. Our horse back safari was fantastic got so close to all the animals it was unbelievable led by the most friendly and knowledgeable guides. Walking with the lions was an experience that I will never forget but for me interacting with the cubs was the highlight they stole my heart so hard to leave. Thank you to everyone for such an amazing day

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank kismet o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheonyMacRae, Owner at Colin's Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2019

Y
Thank YOU for enjoying the day with us. We always strive to enrich mankind with close encounters with other living beings that share this earth with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews