We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience of riding and walking with amazing animals”
Review of Horseback Africa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Horseback Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Our group of seven stayed 2 nights at Horseback Africa and experienced both the lion walk and the horseback safari. Thank you: to Colin and family and Robyn, for making us feel so welcome; to Silvesta and team for the lovely meals; to Wynand for teaching us about lions and letting us feed Lulu; and to Connie for her amazing professionalism and attention to safety. She gave us all confidence and helped us to understand our beautifully trained horses as individuals. I had a wonderful ride on gorgeous Jubilani. To be so close to giraffes, zebras and all kinds of antelope was enchanting. Almost as good was the birdlife - we enjoyed sitting in the gardens listening to the birdsong and spotting some very exotic creatures. The lodge was perfect for us and so clean and comfortable. We all left feeling happy, relaxed and extremely well looked after - we cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

It was our pleasure to have such a wonderful group in our lodge! As intellectuals, you have so much to offer the world - continue with your good work! We so enjoyed the chats to solve the worlds problems! It was wonderful having you here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2017

We spent two two days communing with lions, including 1.5 months, 4 month, 8 month and full grown, and a horseback safari second to none in pre-ride preparation and quality of the horses.
The lion breeding activity of the farm was very well explained including lion life history and how and why the farm was breeding lions for ultimate release into the wild. We had time to cuddle and feed a 1.5 month old cub, walk with the adolescents in an open field, and see and hear the full grown lions roar day and night. You will never have a better lion experience.
The horses are left to free range on the 380 ha estate all day, except for when they are being ridden. The quality of the horses is excellent and well above the standard for short term rentals. They are very well trained and can accommodate a range of rider experience levels. The most amazing thing about the horse safari was the quality and comprehensiveness of the pre-ride briefing. We had a few inexperienced riders in our group and they were given clear and useful information and the right horse that made the whole experience a real pleasure. So much better than the typical horse rental place that just gives you a horse and says go. Walking with the horses among wildebeest and giraffe was delightful.
Everything about this place is welcoming, friendly, and competent. You will love it.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

This is what we stand for - people need to leave here having had the time of their lives. We so enjoy what we do because we get such a kick out of the responses. We make a difference in people's lives, and that gives us purpose. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

All for profit. I severely injured myself here and as soon as I did, they were awful. Completely nasty, refused to refund me, refused to respond to my emails. Guide was not prepared to medically assist.

From the start, I arrived and had a really bad feeling. There was something shady and fake. Research further and you will see they are involved in Canned Hunting. Check out their facebook page and how they evade questions.

Additionally, safety is NOT a priority. They have beginners on young inexperienced horses and do not have safety precautions in place at all. I suffered a life threatening injury here which could have been avoided and they just didn't care at all.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank traveler3285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Oh how sad! It grieves us when Connie, our highly skilled safari leader, put so much effort into teaching and assisting you in every way, and then this happens! Maybe you did not completely understand the safety briefing. Even though we put you onto one of our trusted “School Master” horses, you fell off whilst the horse was in a walk. The horse was so un-nerved that she turned around and came to check if you were alright. This made you even more frightened. Without you requesting it, we did refund you for half of the tour (the afternoon Lion Tour program which unfortunately you could not attend). You make a public statement saying that we are “involved in Canned Hunting”. Colin’s Horseback Africa strongly disapproves of any form of canned hunting and keenly disassociates itself from this highly unethical practice. This practice is decisively against the law in South Africa and if you have any evidence of this happening, you should immediately report this to the relevant authority. We would advise you not to cite trash or interpret FAKE NEWS based on no evidence whatsoever. Sorry about our Facebook site, we are so involved in our conservation programs that we do not have time for Facebook!! I stand under correction, but I think our last entry was at least over one year ago !!
We love nature so much, that we don’t have time to sit behind a computer all day. Now that you are safely back in America we wish you a rapid recovery from your “life threatening injury”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We have been doing many rides around the world. This is one of the best we have done. Lots of wild animals and very good information and security. The lodge is not a fancy one but have a very nice family atmosphere, nice food and very nice people working there.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

It is our dream to have people with us who ride all over the world. We can share experiences and ideas and learn from people like you. Every day we realize how privileged we are to enjoy our life in this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Staff is super friendly, and bend over backwards to accommodate all requests. Food is out of this world and more than I could eat. I asked for extra days on horseback and rode in new scenery making it "just like my childhood days". Exploring, having fun on great horses. The Lion Walk was supurb, super informative, and lots of fun. I plan a 2nd trip to them as soon as I can organize it next year.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brendalX8881HW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

When you come again, we can try different routes and have even more fun!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cullinan
23,5 km away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 74 in Pretoria
146 reviews
8,8 km away
Zebra Country Lodge
Zebra Country Lodge
#1 of 11 in Cullinan
149 reviews
14,6 km away
Cheval Tachete
Cheval Tachete
#11 of 18 in Cullinan
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12,2 km away
Abloom Lodge
Abloom Lodge
#3 of 18 in Cullinan
89 reviews
0 km away
IZapa Bush & Game Lodge
IZapa Bush & Game Lodge
#5 of 18 in Cullinan
10 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Ma Tala Tala Wildlife Lodge
#8 of 18 in Cullinan
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseback Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseback Africa

Address: Portion 12 & 13 | De Tweede Spruit, Cullinan 1000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Cullinan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Cullinan
Price Range: R1 451 - R1 707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2,5 star — Horseback Africa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horseback Africa strives to give our guests the best possible Horseback Safari and Walking with Lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Horseback Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing