We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”
Review of Horseback Africa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Horseback Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2016

A 3 hour lion tour and walk with 7 month old lions....
4 hour trail horse ride where the game is phenominal, you will see Kudu, Giraffe, zebra, Gemsbok, waterbuck and others.

The accommodation is homey and comfortable, and the place is family run where they make you part of the family, are incredibly welcoming and are willing to help with anything you need.

A definite must for animal lovers.

Room Tip: NO wifi or cellphone signal so be prepared to embrace nature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

From the moment you arrive, you are warmly welcomed by one or more of the MacRae family members. I did a full day there (from 8am- 3.30pm). First up was a horseback ride on one of the many trails around the property. Brandon was an excellent tour guide for our small group of 5- he was so encouraging and knowledgable! You have a very unique introduction to your horse that is carefully recommended to you based on your experience and riding confidence. Then you're off! We were very lucky to see giraffe, zebra and antelope on our ride. For the slightly more experienced riders there are few opportunities for a canter as well!

Lunch was homemade, wood fire pizza made on an organic base- yum! Where else would you try ostrich or kudu pizza?
They can make vegetarian options as well.
There are meerkats, snakes, cats, dogs and a very chatty bird also around the property. And a pool! So don't forget your swimming costume!

The lion walk was my favourite. Colin feels like your long lost relative as he takes you on a walk with the lion cubs. He explains what they are doing for the African lion population and how they are going about it. His passion is quite contagious!

We met other bigger lions at the park and watched on as they ripped apart their lunches. Colin shares every one of their stories like a proud Dad.

Last, but certainly not the least, was a hands on introduction to the smallest lion cub resident (but not for long we are told, as two lioness are expected to give birth in just a few weeks)! There are really no words when you are sitting there cuddling a lion cub in Africa. It's a pretty amazing feeling.

The whole day was incredible. Such a warm and friendly environment for both the animals and visitors. If you're looking for a hands on animal experience- done the right way, with conservation and animal wellbeing in mind- then this is it! A big thank you to Colin, Theony, Megan and Brandon for making not just my day but my whole year! Xx

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

The most magical place in the world. Thank you all for giving me space to be me and recover my strength.
I will treasure the memory always
I'll see you again next year for sure - we are up for the new tour to do together next time.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 631judyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We were in South Africa for 2 weeks this month. Of the time in South Africa, all of which was unforgettable, some of our fondest memories were from the experience with Colin MacRae and family at Horseback Africa. The best way to describe this bed-and-breakfast horse ranch and game preserve is that it feels like you're visiting your favorite cousins' country home. You'll meet some of Colin's adult children who run much of the day-to-day operations. And the staff who have very clearly been with them a very long time. You'll have room to roam on your own - we felt very safe and secure walking around visiting the animals they have on site - lions of various ages, meercats, guinea pigs, rabbits, horses and more. The ride was spectacular - where else can you ride amongst a herd of zebras, visit a giraffe close up, see a herd of wildebeest while you're riding? The whole experience was amazing. If you're wondering about the quality of horses, they are in superb shape, well cared for and good natured. We had absolutely no problems in a group that ranged from pretty experienced riders (my h and I have owned our own) to almost first time riders. They separated the experienced riders into a group that could run a bit which was great fun. I would go back in a heartbeat - when we were leaving I told my h that I want to just do it all over again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main lodge. Rooms were clean, well cared for. Not necessarily luxuriously furnished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jill_and_Steve_Corv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The horseback safari and lion walks can be experienced without actually staying there, but we chose to spend 2 nights in the lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms were very nice, clean, and comfortable, and the meals were excellent. The entire staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The highlight of the horseback safari was the ability to actually mingle among the herds of zebras and wildebeests. The lion walk was very informative and a great way to get up close and personal with the lions. Another highlight (which they should stress more) was hiking the Blue Trail with its stunning vistas, geological formations, and flora and fauna.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank U2071VQsteves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cullinan
23,5 km away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 74 in Pretoria
146 reviews
8,8 km away
Zebra Country Lodge
Zebra Country Lodge
#1 of 11 in Cullinan
149 reviews
0 km away
IZapa Bush & Game Lodge
IZapa Bush & Game Lodge
#5 of 18 in Cullinan
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14,6 km away
Cheval Tachete
Cheval Tachete
#11 of 18 in Cullinan
5 reviews
12,2 km away
Abloom Lodge
Abloom Lodge
#3 of 18 in Cullinan
89 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Ma Tala Tala Wildlife Lodge
#8 of 18 in Cullinan
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseback Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseback Africa

Address: Portion 12 & 13 | De Tweede Spruit, Cullinan 1000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Cullinan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Cullinan
Price Range: R1 436 - R1 729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2,5 star — Horseback Africa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horseback Africa strives to give our guests the best possible Horseback Safari and Walking with Lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Horseback Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing