We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes! I want to go back!!”
Review of Horseback Africa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Horseback Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We were in South Africa for 2 weeks this month. Of the time in South Africa, all of which was unforgettable, some of our fondest memories were from the experience with Colin MacRae and family at Horseback Africa. The best way to describe this bed-and-breakfast horse ranch and game preserve is that it feels like you're visiting your favorite cousins' country home. You'll meet some of Colin's adult children who run much of the day-to-day operations. And the staff who have very clearly been with them a very long time. You'll have room to roam on your own - we felt very safe and secure walking around visiting the animals they have on site - lions of various ages, meercats, guinea pigs, rabbits, horses and more. The ride was spectacular - where else can you ride amongst a herd of zebras, visit a giraffe close up, see a herd of wildebeest while you're riding? The whole experience was amazing. If you're wondering about the quality of horses, they are in superb shape, well cared for and good natured. We had absolutely no problems in a group that ranged from pretty experienced riders (my h and I have owned our own) to almost first time riders. They separated the experienced riders into a group that could run a bit which was great fun. I would go back in a heartbeat - when we were leaving I told my h that I want to just do it all over again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main lodge. Rooms were clean, well cared for. Not necessarily luxuriously furnished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jill_and_Steve_Corv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2016

The horseback safari and lion walks can be experienced without actually staying there, but we chose to spend 2 nights in the lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms were very nice, clean, and comfortable, and the meals were excellent. The entire staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The highlight of the horseback safari was the ability to actually mingle among the herds of zebras and wildebeests. The lion walk was very informative and a great way to get up close and personal with the lions. Another highlight (which they should stress more) was hiking the Blue Trail with its stunning vistas, geological formations, and flora and fauna.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank U2071VQsteves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Everyone visiting the area or living locally must visit Horseback Africa to walk with the Lions and learn more about this wonderful project. We will certainly be back for the horseback riding. Tremendous experience!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 143minettem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Unforgettable is an understatement! The staff are wonderful, the animals are heart melting. The whole thing is just mind blowing! SUCH an intimate experience with the lions, much better than squinting from afar!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D1847DVkatec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

This place is by far one of the most amazing experiences ever! We went here on the last day in south africa and walked with the lions. Being able to have them in arms reach was amazing. They were so cute and active. The facility was amazing as well with tons to do! I would have loved to stayed here over night but we just visited for the walking with lions. If in the area you should definitely put this on your list as a must visit place in south africa!

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Aaren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cullinan
23,5 km away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 74 in Pretoria
146 reviews
8,8 km away
Zebra Country Lodge
Zebra Country Lodge
#1 of 11 in Cullinan
149 reviews
0 km away
IZapa Bush & Game Lodge
IZapa Bush & Game Lodge
#5 of 18 in Cullinan
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14,6 km away
Cheval Tachete
Cheval Tachete
#11 of 18 in Cullinan
5 reviews
12,2 km away
Abloom Lodge
Abloom Lodge
#3 of 18 in Cullinan
89 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Ma Tala Tala Wildlife Lodge
#8 of 18 in Cullinan
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseback Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseback Africa

Address: Portion 12 & 13 | De Tweede Spruit, Cullinan 1000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Cullinan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Cullinan
Price Range: R1 436 - R1 729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2,5 star — Horseback Africa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horseback Africa strives to give our guests the best possible Horseback Safari and Walking with Lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Horseback Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing