We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
9
5
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
5
4
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

Just got back from a week staying in the hotel. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Food good and children were catered for with a separate menu choice. Family the run the hotel were helpful and friendly. Galtur is great to ski particularly if you have young children at ski school.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. On both occasions I have had a very warm welcome from the owner and all the staff who have delivered first class service. I am a single traveller but was given a double room overlooking the village centre; it was warm, spacious and comfortable but without a balcony. The hotel is a five minute walk from the bus stop which is essential for access to both Wirl (Galtur's ski area) and Ischgl's ski slopes. The walk down the drive to the main road can be a problem but it is constantly cleared and gritted so shouldn't be too much of a problem; there is also a ski locker facility in the village for use by skiers using hired equipment which solves this issue. Meals are typical Austrian; a good quality hot and cold breakfast buffet and evening meals offering five courses with choice of main dish. These were of excellent quality, well presented and wholesome, served by efficient and courteous staff. I had an English translated menu and wine list available from which to choose. The lounge area is spacious and offers an afternoon après ski meal free of charge and is a comfortable and relaxing place in which to spend the evening. Overall I would recommend the hotel for all of these qualities in a resort which is very quiet in the evening and offers an alternative to the hustle and bustle of its neighbour, Ischgl.

Room tip: Rooms facing into the village are quieter although none are noisy.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 557paulleeds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Stayed in this hotel as part of a Crystal Ski package. We have been to Galtur before, but first time at this hotel. If you are looking to ski Ischgl, Galtur is a good choice for hotels as they are much cheaper than in Ischgl itself. The downside is that nightlife is virtually non existent in Galtur, which is fine if you are not a party animal. The hotel was of good quality. The rooms were warm, spacious and clean. Separate toilet & shower room with ample hot water. Breakfast was buffet style and had choice of continental type or bacon and and scrambled egg. Bread buns appeared to be baked on the premises as they were always served hot and were delicious. Evening meals were typical Austrian fare, well prepared and presented and very tasty.
There is a ski storage room in the basement with heated boot racks.
WiFi is available in the hotel at a cost of 10 euro per week or 2 euro per day.
You will struggle to find anywhere in Galtur that has free WiFi.
The hotel had a leisure suite but we never used it as it was chargeable separately. I believe it may have a sauna, gym and possibly a steam room but no swimming pool.
It is a 2 min walk to the bus stop to get buses that take you to either the Wirl ski area (which takes about 2 mins on bus) or the other way to Ischgl and beyond. Journey to Ischgl on bus takes about 15 mins. Buses run both ways about every 10-15 mins during peak periods and about every 30 mins during off peak.
Wirl is a fairly small ski area, good for beginners and lift queues are virtually non existent.
Ischgl on the other hand is a large ski area, but the lift queues are horrendous. Both areas are very susceptible to weather conditions and if the wind gets up, a lot of lifts and runs can be closed. You will struggle to get free WiFi anywhere in Ischgl also. A fact that I find annoying in this day and age. I have been to many Austrian ski resorts and all of them have free WiFi available in hotels, bars and some even have it available on the slopes (Schladming for example).
An observation on the hotel, but by no means a complaint, the hotel seems to cater mostly for German guests, so there is no translation on the menus to English.
So, acid test, would I go back to this hotel?
Without hesitation I can say that if I go back to Galtur I would use this hotel again.

Room tip: I believe all rooms have balconies
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougR766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Hotel is ok but I'v missed something. The family is working hard to run this hotel. Everything is very clean, rooms are spacious. Breakfast good and dinner ok. Also good SPA corner with dampf bad, sauna and jacuzzi.But this is my second time in Galtur and comparing to the previous hotel we stayed the owners should be more polite, try to smile and share happines. They must make you feel welcome!

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hakeri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

A fabulously friendly hotel with wonderful service, food and facilities. Everything we wanted and more for our stay in Galtur and we would definitely return. A slight walk to the ski bus stop but a very accessibly ski/boot room to make the process easy.

Date of stay: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews