We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Country life’s good 😏”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Spaxton, Bridgwater, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Irma T
1 review
“Country life’s good 😏”
Reviewed 15 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We, Dutch guys, had a wonderful two weeks with our two dogs at Hillside Cottage.
Nice garden, where the dogs could run free and beautiful surroundings for dog walks etcetera.
We went from Calais to Folkestone by train through the Eurotunnel and that was so easy and relaxed. It only takes you about half an hour. I can recommend it to my fellow countrymen. England is a very dogfriendly country and therefore nice to visit if you’re looking for a ‘dog holiday destination’.
When you visit the website of the Eurotunnel, you’ll find all the information you need to know about how to travel to the UK with your 4-legged frien(s).
Have a nice holiday!

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmY41...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Somerset Escape”
Reviewed 20 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We found the cottage very comfortable and well equipped. With a private garden and seating for that outdoor dining experience. Set in the small village of Spaxton on the edge of the Quantock Hills. Within easy reach of a number of places of interest and the Somerset coast.

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff P
2 reviews
“A very comfortable, cosy cottage in a lovely village.”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Hillside Cottage is a very well maintained, well equipped cottage in the peaceful village of Spaxton and we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend there. We enjoyed the pretty rear garden and can imagine that, in the winter months, the cottage will be welcoming, cosy and warm.
The village has a lovely pub and an excellent community shop - both within a ten to fifteen minute walk of the cottage. We would have no hesitation in recommending Hillside Cottage and would stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rp2017mp
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely village location close to beautiful Quantocks, Jurassic beach and Somerset attractions”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We used the cottage as a base to visit family, see the wonderful Haynes Car Museum, Yeovil Fleet Air Arm Museum, Glastonbury and Cheddar Gorge. We also visited the beach to see the fossils, and enjoyed the steam railway from Bishops Lydyard to Minehead and Dunster Castle. A week was nowhere near enough time to see it all.
The local people were so polite and friendly, and the cottage itself had more thoughtful touches than you can imagine. Excellent value, well done Sandi and Colin, and thanks for welcoming us to your cottage.

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevLesG
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An ideal cottage for a quiet and relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Hillside Cottage nestles in the village of Spaxton Somerset. The accommodation is well equipped with a secluded garden and within easy walking distance of a village store where local people make you really welcome. Plenty of good safe local walks and easy access by car to the main resorts and activities. The owners are to be congratulated on the care they have taken in making this cottage a true home from home.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.