We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best cottage I have ever stayed in.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Spaxton, Bridgwater, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

cinthorne
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best cottage I have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is on a windy road in a quiet place but you are only 10 to 15 minutes from Bridgwater by car which has supermarkets and takeaways. For a bigger resort there is Minehead less than an hour away and there are dog friendly beaches in between. The cottage itself is cosy, comfortable and exceptionally clean and well equipped. It felt like a home from home. Whether you are sitting around the kitchen table or lounging on the sofa, it is perfect. The nearest pub is a mile walk and that is a lovely place too. There are lots of places to walk the dogs but you do have to get in your car to start with in the main, if you want to let them off lead. There is a lovely mile loop just round the corner that you can do on lead first thing in the morning. We ran a very hilly 5 mile course as well, which was great. Congratulations to the owners and Gary who looks after the place. Cannot wait to find an opportunity to go back. The information we received before we went was excellent too.

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham_H1...
Kempston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage in peaceful village...”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely little cottage in a quiet little village off the beaten track. Handy for the Quantock Hills and Bridgwater and beyond, or just sitting in the garden relaxing. Some lovely little touches from the owners to greet us; tea-bags, sweets and biscuits laid on! All the amenities you would expect, plus some you wouldn't, all in excellent, clean, condition. Certainly hope to go back in the future.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judio_11
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have just returned from hillside cottage and what a fantastic week we have had the cottage is one of the nicest we have stayed in great location and the view over the country side is superb the cottage itself was lovely extremely clean and very well equipped especially the kitchen we especially liked the private sunny garden and had many a meal outside its so quaint many places to visit we must return at some point there is so much to see and most definitely return to hillside.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda Y
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, great village”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great walks on the Quantocks...SO peaceful!
Cottage cosy and very good facilities...really appreciated the woodburner.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ted w
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy with all you need for a lovely break.”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lots of nice walks and viewsinthe Quantocks. We had a lovely dog walk from pretty Quantoxhead down to the coastal path. We wandered along the sea line, not for the faint hearted, towards Chantry. Look for the quaint tea gardens. Here you can enjoy lovely traditional food. I had tomato and sweet potato soup with lovely bread, absolutely scrumptious, best ever. My better half tucked into a cream tea. Finished the round walk with a stroll back to the car along a footpath through open fields.
Dunster castle , Weston S. Mare and Sands bay were enjoyed.
An enjoyable visit to Taunton was topped with our lunch. Try and find "Loafers" near the centre. They are tucked away near the end of a small shopping arcade. They do a wonderful selection of lovely take away food. The choices available are vast. The biggest problem is choosing, and it is healthy and tasty. lovely staff also.
Back to Spaxton. Lots of lanes. The cottage is best approached from Bridgewater from West st, just past Morrisons on the Broadway.

Date of stay: September 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.