We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, decent oizza”

Il Postino Pizzeria
Ranked #7 of 52 Restaurants in Howick
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

We had a good dinner at Il Postino. It was a chilly night and the roaring fire didn’t really touch sides so we ate in jackets and scarves. Friendly and efficient service and pizzas that were this based and good; big range of options and while we were not blown away it was not a bad night out.

A wine list would help so you actually know how much you’re going to have to cough up!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Matvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2018

We went to Il Postino while staying in the Midlands recently. It was half price pizza night so the restaurant was busy. We never booked but were offered a table outside which we took. The waiter was attentive initially and then all but forgot about us. It took over an hour for two pizzas - in the hour, the waiter never once asked us if we needed a drinks refill ( we had to go inside twice and ask one of the other waiters for some more drinks). When the pizzas finally arrived, our waiter basically dumped the pizzas on the table without uttering a single word. The pizzas were indeed delicious and we really enjoyed them. Once we were almost finished, our waiter appeared with an empty pizza box and just placed it on the table again without uttering a word - we had never requested a box either. While we were outside the manager did come stumbling past but never uttered a word either ( it was all rather bizarre) - the manager did appear about 10 minutes later and asked whether we would like to move indoors, which we declined. We had to again though order the desserts from inside from another waiter as ours had once again absconded it appeared. We paid the bill and left rather disappointed. We can't fault the food but the SERVICE needs working on.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gecko0673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

We live just down the road from Il Postino in Lions River. We eat here at least once a month. Their pizzas are the best, my wife never liked pizzas until she tried a "Mr. Gee". If you like anchovies, this is for you.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmberleighGuestFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Had brilliant pizzas all round with decent wine and friendly service. This is a real gem! It was a miserable day outside but the restaurant had 2 fires blazing and was wonderfully warm and the cooking smells were delicious. I could have hung out there for hours.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Otter68uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Wow! What can I say. From the minute we walked in we were greeted by warm friendly and welcoming faces, the staff were bubbly and extremely pleasant to interact with making our visit enjoyable even before we tasted the delicious food. They were incredibly accomodating and had a variety of vegan meals for my partner who has a very strict vegan diet. He enjoyed ‘The Goodwin Pizza’ with roasted red pepper, danish feta, garlic, olives, cherry tomatoes and avocado.... we have been in SA for 2 weeks and he says this is the best meal he has had since being here. I enjoyed the ‘Pollo e Funghi’ which was a delicious, creamy and full of flavour. The kids (who are extremely fussy) thoroughly enjoyed their kiddie sized pizzas and kiddie sized ‘Ragu’ pasta. We will 100% coming back next time we visit this part of the world!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank carinachallenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Postino Pizzeria also viewed

Howick, KwaZulu-Natal
Howick, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Howick, KwaZulu-Natal
Howick, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Il Postino Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing