We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$136
US$121
View deal
SAVE US$15
Free cancellation until 21/06/27
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$136
US$121
View deal
SAVE US$15
Free cancellation until 21/06/27
Priceline
Expedia.comUS$136
TravelocityUS$136
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
94
115
53
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
94
115
53
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape town checking in long stay bath and shower lounge business meeting winelands conference venue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2019

This hotel is one of the GEMS in Durbanville for accommodation. Although this is a 3 star hotel, the standards are extremely high. We had pizza's at the restaurant on the Friday evening and it was divine. The rooms are neat, crisp and very clean. The 2 bedroom unit is recommendable for families with 2 bedrooms and 2 on-suite bathrooms. I can recommend this hotel as the standards are very high and the staff is very helpful and professional.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Illona0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDhotel, Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2019

Dear Illona

Thank you for your review on Protea Hotel Durbanville. We value your feedback and it warms our hearts to see our Guest's stay was memorable.

We will share your comments with our Team. We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Lenise Smit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2019

The rooms are good with everything you need. We had a big room with balcony, which was nice. Bed was very comfortable.

We often come here for lunch or dinner and love their food! Wine a bit expensive, but the food is good.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WilIls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2019

Business hotel, 40 mins from town centre off peak. Rooms were ok but not cleaned very well, early check in may have played a part. First night fire alarm went off twice, perhaps non smoking rooms and warnings should be clearer as opposed to in welcome pack. Otherwise comfortable and spacious. Construction on my visit so got noisy as they arrived 7am. Finished on last day.

BEWARE gate by stairs to and from pool,strong spring hinge with little space to get stable footing as it shuts. Design flaw in how close it is to steps.

Food mostly average, though pizzas and steaks were good. Breakfast was good in mornings.

Best part was friendly and helpful staff, great service.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Glbtrttr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2019

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Protea Hotel Durbanville. We value your feedback and use all comments as a teachable opportunity.

We take note of the gate spring, and will for sure bring this under the attention of our Maintenance Team.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our pizzas.

Looking forward welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Durbanville soon.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2019 via mobile

First time in Africa so wasn't really sure what to expect but so far so very good.

Traveling with work and it's a straightforward functional 3* hotel of the main tourist trap areas.

If I need to return i will use again.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2019 via mobile

I recently went to their pool bar area to relax on one of the loungers. I ordered a Margarita cocktail. It tasted just like all other Margarita's I've had before and was served in a standard size cocktail glass. I was astonished when the bill came: R95!

The standard going rate is usually between R45 and R65 for a cocktail. How can they justify charging that insane amount?

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CarriesWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2019

Good day CarriesWP

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent visit to Protea Hotel Durbanville.

Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient and friendly, personalised service. Your comments are instrumental in helping us to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced. As we are guided by Industry benchmarks on pricing, each ingredient is costed and input into a costing program used by the Hotel. Based on this a selling price is recommended for all our items.

We have brought your concern under our Food and Beverage Manager attention and we will relook at our serving portion in line with the current pricing and make any adjustments depending on the finding.

We hope that you will be visiting us again soon.

Every effort will be made to ensure that you enjoy our true hospitality!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews