We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
342
155
29
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
155
29
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman road outdoor pool afternoon tea tonelli family evening meal cakes lake garda the local bus service half board lakeside town e bikes santa lucia hotel is situated secret escapes olive trees small village down hill
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018

We arrived late, due to a delayed flight, and so were unable to appreciate the beauty of the surrounding mountains until the next morning, when they revealed themselves in all their glory (Lake Garda is every bit as lovely as everyone says).

We had slept well - the hotel was quiet throughout our stay. The room itself was clean and pleasant enough, although on the small side - especially as we were staying for 11 days. We had to cram a lot of our possessions into corners, which made for a slightly claustrophobic experience at times. Our balcony looked over the rear of the hotel, and was a nice spot to enjoy a few quiet minutes at the end of each day.

The hotel is described as non-smoking, although this is not entirely true - smoking appears to be allowed on balconies, in the grounds and in the outside bar. There is also an inside bar, which seemed very nice but was never staffed (so we stayed in the bar outside).

A word about the bar staff - never have I encountered such friendly and charming people. They spoke several languages, took great pride in recommending local beers and were polite, even when one guest kicked one of them in the leg to gain their attention. All the bar staff are a real credit to this hotel.

Payment for drinks is made by scanning your room key, which charges the drinks to your room. There is an option to pay this off daily, which could prove wise.

Breakfast is self-service. There is plenty of food, from traditional 'English' breakfasts to fruit and cereals. Evening meals are more formal, with waiter service. We were half-board, but found that breakfast and the evening meal were more than enough to keep us going through the day.

In fairness to the management, the evening meals were not what you would expect; avoiding pizza and pasta in favour of more exotic local produce. We enjoyed most of our meals, but did step out to the local pizzeria on two occasions, just for a change (about a five minute walk from the hotel).

We were told that management 'preferred' gentlemen to wear long trousers to the evening meal, although most folk 'preferred' to ignore this polite request, and wore shorts instead. There were also, apparently, two gala nights whilst we were there; although we only knew this because we had seen the sign in reception. I am not sure what 'gala' entails in this case, but there did not seem to be any difference from any other evening.

There is a shuttle service to the actual lake itself, which is a journey of two kilometers. It would have been more convenient if these had been more frequent, although it is possible to walk to Torbole (and even Riva, if you like a stroll), so we had few complaints here. There is also a convenient ferry dock in Torbole, from which the other villages on the lake can be reached.

The hotel has a heated outdoor pool, and a very pleasant indoor pool. There are also spa facilities and a gym. Be ready to avert your gaze in the sauna: my wife had something of a fright when she encountered a naked gentleman on his way in. Not the sort of thing we are used to in Blighty.

The area surrounding the hotel is all cobbled streets and beautiful architecture - quite a nice place to wander through, especially in the evenings. Beware of cyclists, who become greater in number the closer you are to the lake, when it is like watching the Tour De France.

The greatest selling point is the lake itself - just breathtaking.

PS This was apparently a Tui holiday, although I am not sure why, as there was no rep at the hotel - they just seemed to provide the transfers (which were late delivering us and collecting us).

All told, apart from the minor gripes listed above, we had eleven magical days, and will keep the memories forever.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyBatty2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

We stayed at this hotel for 11 nights and didn't want to leave. We had the most fantastic holiday and just wish more hotels were like this. We cannot fault a single thing. The staff are absolutely wonderful. Whether this is from their training or just natural for them. They make everyone feel special. The reception staff are so knowledgeable and nothing is too much trouble. All the restaurant staff are lovely and you generally have the same waiter/waitress allocated so are able to build up a relationship. The bar in the evening is always busy and is a really nice area to sit outside and enjoy a cocktail or two. There is relaxed musical entertainment a few times a week. The pool area is great as you can choose to sit in the quieter terraced garden or around the pool itself. The gardens and planting are absolutely beautiful. The hotel is in the village of Nago and is away from the normal tourist trap but it is such a pretty little village and it is a lovely walk down into Torbole. It is a steep walk back up but the public bus service is very good if your trips do not coincide with the hotel shuttle bus. We used the buses a lot going back and forth to Torbole to catch the connecting bus or boat to Malcesine and Limone or stayed on the bus to Riva Del Garda which has a lovely old quarter with vibrant colourful buildings . We also caught the bus to Rovereto from where we caught the train to Verona one day which is well worth a visit. We bought books of 10 bus tickets at the tabacchi in the village for 9 euros. I cannot sing the praises of this hotel enough. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone who enjoys beautiful scenery, ambling around gorgeous old towns with really interesting old buildings. The whole area is just breathtaking. We would love to return just as soon as possible.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 969julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday, staying a week at this hotel. We could not fault it. The staff are brilliant- nothing is too much trouble for them, and always smiling.
We enjoyed the food - plenty of choice. We used the ebikes one day and explored the local area. The hotel also has free guided treks. We went on one and had a lovely morning learning about the history around us from the delightful guide. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Everything about this hotel (and this holiday) was awesome. The position, views, staff, food, pool, Lake... I could go on.
The staff in the hotel are genuinely friendly and go out of their way to help and answer any questions you have. We experienced this first hand and observed interactions with other guests. It just feels like a family hotel and we felt very comfortable there.
The room is huge, good air con, nice balcony, cleaned every day and towels replaced. The bathroom is a little tired, but again spotless and cleaned daily. Nice toiletries too. Situated where it is, we had uninterrupted sleep each night.
We booked half board and were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to full board when we got there, not sure if that was TUI or the hotel, but we actually only ate lunch twice as we were out and about, but it was a nice upgrade. The hotel provides complimentary cakes at 4pm every day too, and one of our nights nibbles and sangria before dinner. All really nice touches for guests.
The food.. I could rant all day about the food. As I say, we booked half board thinking we'd probably go out a couple of nights just for a change. The food was so varied and so delicious that we ate at the hotel 7 nights out of 7. We couldn't imagine any better food in a restaurant. Over the course of a week there wasn't one dish repeated. The salad bar in particular was something to look forward to every day.
Both pools were lovely, spotlessly clean and well maintained. The outside pool and garden are beautiful, with the mountains as a backdrop. I don't think you'd ever get tired of looking at the views.
The outside pool has a bar and we also spent a fair amount of time in the main hotel outdoor bar (which has a canopy if it's cloudy). Happy hour every day from 5pm-6pm. A huge range of drinks to suit anyone, and live music a few times a week.
We're in our 40s and like a quiet, relaxed holiday and found Hotel Continental perfect for us.

We found getting around the area easy. We walked to Torbole every day, and back most days. We didn't use the Roman Road, but we stuck to the main road which was steep but gradual and level underfoot. Took 20-30mins - just keep to the sides and watch out for bikes.

We walked to Riva which was about 45 mins from Torbole. We got the ferry to Limone and to Malcesine (where we went on the cable car - a must do). We got a bus to Rovereto and then a train to Verona one day - again we highly recommend a visit. The hotel printed off timetables for us. Public transport is cheap and reliable and easy to use. Bus and train return on that day cost us less than 40euros.

I'm really happy to answer any questions if I can help with anything. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank heidih347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Wow! This is a great hotel in every way, I would recommend it to anyone 100%!

We arrived late and after the dinner setting but they had set aside a meal for us, the room and facilities are excellent but the staff are this hotels best asset. Every single member of staff went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful, no request was too much.

We stayed half board so had breakfast and evening meal in the hotel, food was very good and the menu varied each evening.

Indoor and outdoor pool and pool bar, great standard and no rip off prices on drinks. There is a happy hour each evening.

Special mention to the reception staff who were excellent in every way, very helpful with even the smallest matter and nothing was too much trouble, both a real asset to the hotel

The hotel is in Nago which is up towards the mountains, free shuttle runs 3 times a day into Torbole, the hotel also has bikes you can borrow. Nago is a traditional little town.

Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel, best service I have experienced for many years in any hotel and would happily return for another stay

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews