We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hunter's Country House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2017

a step back in time. we expected to see Lord and Lady Sommerset at any moment.
amazing grounds to stroll thru. flowers and birds breakfast room amazing
the staff was excellent- the hot water bottels for bed warmers nice touch-
as was honor Gin bar so many different gins in libary.
So glad we did not stay in Town.
hint: the road off the hwy. turns into dirt/gravel road for short distants not a problem just information

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8084P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 8084P
At Hunters Country House, we strive to offer an experience that many Urban Hotels have lost with modernisation. We offer all the 21st century amneties and services, with a timeless friendly approach, where the small details matter so much to us. We are blessed to have the beautiful gardens that are flowering, no matter what time of the year, that attract a wide array of birds and animals. Thank you for staying with us and for the very kind compliments that will be passed on to all the staff.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights here at this wonderful venue. The moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Amy. She had prepared a welcome pack with details of the local area The setting is idyllic by day and by night. Wonderful quite areas to relax by open fires. Each member of staff we met was friendly attentive and nothing was too much effort or trouble for them. The food was delicious. This is great place relax unwind and be spoiled. We wished we could have stayed longer. Customer service is five star

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Mary J
Thank you for your kind words and compliments. We are very proud of our quiet, yet attentive style of hospitality, that allows our guests to instantly feel they are "home away from Home". It is also a privelage for us to share our knowledge of the wonderful area that we live in. We are blessed with pristine coastlines and beaches, indigenous forests that are home to an amazing array of flora and fauna.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We couldn't recommend this place enough. The style of the grounds are out of this world gorgeous.
The staff are comforting and go above and beyond to make their guests feel special. A few examples of this were leaving hand written notes for us, leaving hot water bottles in our beds at night, washing our car before departure & accomodating special dietary requirements.
Every little detail of this country house is perfection.
Our stay here was very special and we were blown away with the high standard the staff and grounds are upholding.
Thank you!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Eloise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Eloise O
It is a privelage for our entire dedicated Team here at Hunters Country House to share our environment and special brand of hospitality with you. Thank you for all the wonderful compliments, which be passed on to all the departments that work very hard to always be pushing the boundries of service levels.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Loved every second of our stay at this hotel! The lodge itself is lovely but it was all the extra little touches that made our stay really special. Hot water bottles in the beds at turn down, bottled water and a little sweet by the bed! The staff were fabulous, everyone made us feel welcome and at home. Our evening meal was delicious and I really enjoyed the Gin and tonic served to us by the fire in the garden! Possibly one of my favourite ever hotels to have stayed in and will be recommending it to all my friends!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lesa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Lesa09
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hunters Country House so much. We really enjoy offering those extra little touches that make stays so special. I am very proud of all the staff who all enjoy the chance to interact with the guests for any travel suggestions or local knowledge that we may be able to help with. Thank you for recommending us to your friends. We will give them our special warm Hunters welcome, whenever they may visit us.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom lodge which was so beautiful. Log fires,underfloor heating and hot water bottle . The furnishings and detail are so impressive . The gardens were like a film set and the food was excellent .We sat outside one night with a log fire and the birds were singing and flowers pungent . The staff attention is excellent and I would give it 10'stars if I could . Already saving to return it's definitely on my bucket list

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Copson96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Copson96
Thank you for giving such a wonderful review on Hunters Country House. We live in an amazing natural environment, that has been carefully nurtured over many decades of the Hunter family. The staff are all very passionate about sharing our very special brand of hospitality, to make your time spent at Hunters Country House a highlite of your trip. I will pass on all the compliments to all in the kitchen and in the rooms division, who see that all the special little touches are never forgotten.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harkerville
9.4 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
574 reviews
0.4 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
559 reviews
9.1 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
380 reviews
17.3 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
11.5 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter's Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter's Country House

Address: Off N2 | 10 Km's west of Plettenberg Bay, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > Harkerville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Price Range: R1 465 - R7 928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hunter's Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant and colorful, Hunter's luxuriant gardens create an idyllic setting for this opulent retreat in the heart of the Garden Route. Hunter's Country House combines gracious elegance with sheer comfort and impeccable service with warm hospitality. Far from the madding crowd, yet conveniently close to a wide variety of leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hunter's Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter`s Country House Hotel Harkerville
Hunters Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing