We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hunter's Country House
Nearby Hotels
Tsala Treetop Lodge(Harkerville)
US$634
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Sky Villa Boutique Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$121
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$71
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
US$284
US$275
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$259
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beacon Island Resort(Plettenberg Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falcon Hill(Knysna)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
269
32
4
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
32
4
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthatched cottagecountry housegarden routelog fireunderfloor heatingthe main houseprivate gardencanopied bedhonesty barbeautiful groundsbeautiful antique furniturefamily suitethoughtful touchesplettenberg baylovely swimming poolbath and showertour group
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights here at this wonderful venue. The moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Amy. She had prepared a welcome pack with details of the local area The setting is idyllic by day and by night. Wonderful quite areas to relax by open fires. Each member of staff we met was friendly attentive and nothing was too much effort or trouble for them. The food was delicious. This is great place relax unwind and be spoiled. We wished we could have stayed longer. Customer service is five star

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Mary J
Thank you for your kind words and compliments. We are very proud of our quiet, yet attentive style of hospitality, that allows our guests to instantly feel they are "home away from Home". It is also a privelage for us to share our knowledge of the wonderful area that we live in. We are blessed with pristine coastlines and beaches, indigenous forests that are home to an amazing array of flora and fauna.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We couldn't recommend this place enough. The style of the grounds are out of this world gorgeous.
The staff are comforting and go above and beyond to make their guests feel special. A few examples of this were leaving hand written notes for us, leaving hot water bottles in our beds at night, washing our car before departure & accomodating special dietary requirements.
Every little detail of this country house is perfection.
Our stay here was very special and we were blown away with the high standard the staff and grounds are upholding.
Thank you!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Eloise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Eloise O
It is a privelage for our entire dedicated Team here at Hunters Country House to share our environment and special brand of hospitality with you. Thank you for all the wonderful compliments, which be passed on to all the departments that work very hard to always be pushing the boundries of service levels.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Loved every second of our stay at this hotel! The lodge itself is lovely but it was all the extra little touches that made our stay really special. Hot water bottles in the beds at turn down, bottled water and a little sweet by the bed! The staff were fabulous, everyone made us feel welcome and at home. Our evening meal was delicious and I really enjoyed the Gin and tonic served to us by the fire in the garden! Possibly one of my favourite ever hotels to have stayed in and will be recommending it to all my friends!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lesa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Lesa09
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hunters Country House so much. We really enjoy offering those extra little touches that make stays so special. I am very proud of all the staff who all enjoy the chance to interact with the guests for any travel suggestions or local knowledge that we may be able to help with. Thank you for recommending us to your friends. We will give them our special warm Hunters welcome, whenever they may visit us.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom lodge which was so beautiful. Log fires,underfloor heating and hot water bottle . The furnishings and detail are so impressive . The gardens were like a film set and the food was excellent .We sat outside one night with a log fire and the birds were singing and flowers pungent . The staff attention is excellent and I would give it 10'stars if I could . Already saving to return it's definitely on my bucket list

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Copson96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Copson96
Thank you for giving such a wonderful review on Hunters Country House. We live in an amazing natural environment, that has been carefully nurtured over many decades of the Hunter family. The staff are all very passionate about sharing our very special brand of hospitality, to make your time spent at Hunters Country House a highlite of your trip. I will pass on all the compliments to all in the kitchen and in the rooms division, who see that all the special little touches are never forgotten.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We stayed at Hunters for two nights recently as part of a tour group. The grounds are extensive and beautiful but unfortunately our time was too limited to explore. The country house has many rooms for you to relax in or simply enjoy seing all it has to offer. We dined as a group together in the country house, although the estate does have another restaurant. Breakfast was eaten in the conservatory and was self service buffet with a cooked breakfast prepared to order. The "rooms" are actually thatched cottages and are a real luxury. Underfloor heating, very reasonably priced mini bar with chocolate and snacks, log fire, enormous bathroom, large comfortable bed and I could go on. What made staying here even more special was the added extra touches. The note to welcome you, the water and small cake by your bed on an evening, the hot water bottles, the lighting of the log fire whilst you are eating dinner, the removal of the wet bath towels whilst you are out, the turning down of your bed. Such thoughtful things that truly made this a memorable stay. We were even supplied with a gift of water and chocolate to enjoy on our journey on the morning of our departure. All credit to the owners and employees of Hunters. Your customer service and attention to detail are certainly 5*

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyNYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear FamilyNYorks
Thank you for appreciating all the small touches that set Hunters Country House a cut above most five star Hotels. Our entire Team set very high standards of service and subtle anticipation of our guests needs. Given our beautiful environment that we have to work in, it's not hard to tell that the smiles and greetings that you receive, are genuine and well meant. Your compliments will be passed on to all the departments of the Hotel.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews