We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Italian fine location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Ischia sunset from our terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ischia sunset from our terrace
the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
Ischia sunset from our terrace
the terrace
Gulf of Sorrento from Meta - Panorama -
the apartment
the apartment
from a window
from another window
the building
our big 'naked' palm
from the terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Meta, Province of Naples, Campania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Russian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
davidtg46
middlesbrough england
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Italian fine location.”
Reviewed 2 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We took a standard double apartment which was large, basic and wonderfully cool on hot days. We choose Villino Castellano primarily because of it's location for transport to the major sites, the fact that Meta would be genuinely Italian and yet would be reasonably accessible to "tourist" Sorrento. The apartment fulfilled our hopes on all these counts plus the patio was fabulous for breakfast (pastries from the local bakery about 50 meters away), Luigi's arrangement with a local family restaurant made eating out great value and the local pizzeria (60 meters) does fabulous take aways. The "issues"? Take your own electric kettle if you want tea or instant coffee! The seating wasn't too comfortable and of course no TV.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat_T518
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic local experience”
Reviewed 18 November 2012 for a stay in April 2012
4
people found this review helpful

This was the first stop on a two month European adventure for my girlfriend and I. Following 30 hours travel time from Sydney, we arrived exhausted to Luigi’s very warm and energetic welcome. The villa is nestled on a quiet cobble stoned lane in Meta di Sorrento, with outstanding views looking over the local community.
Rooms are big, clean and simple. The large rooftop deck is great for quiet dinners (recommend prosciutto melone). Location for us was ideal, we were looking for a local community away from the hustle and bustle of main Sorrento where we could drink and drink with the local Italians, this ticked all boxes. We were staying in Meta for the Easter weekend and were lucky enough to catch the local Easter parade from our balcony.
The train station is a 30 second walk up the hill, passing the local patisserie 30 metres from the Villa’s door with coffee shop only another short stroll towards the train station (ideal for early rising travellers looking to grab a bite/kick start to the long days of exploring).
While the train ride is by far the quickest and easiest way to get to the main streets of Sorrento, I would highly recommend walking the coast line and nearby quiet streets for something different. You will see some of the best views Italy has to offer as well as some amazing estates.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa E
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed 22 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 6 nights in September. It was a last minute booking and because it wasn't in Sorrento where we wanted to stay we were a little dubious, however, when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised.

We stayed in apt 11 which opened onto a courtyard. The decor was really simple but it was very well kept, very clean and comfortable. It had a basic kitchen which is good enough for cooking simple meals.

Luigi's English is very good and he's very friendly and helpful. He lives on site so is available if you need him.

Meta is only three stops from Sorrento on the train and there are regular buses as well. Our only problem was that the buses and trains finish quite early in the evening so if you're planning on staying in Sorrento beyond 11pm you could be stuck with getting a taxi back to the apartment, and these are expensive (€30+).

All in all though, a great place to stay to explore the region.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allotment...
essex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal base for exploring”
Reviewed 15 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our one week stay here. The apartment we had number 15 has a small terrace, kitchenette, large living area and a mezzanine bedroom reached by a spiral staircase. The bed was not very comfortable and i didn't like using the spiral staircase, no good for anyone over weight or with mobility problems. However, the positives far outweigh the negatives, Meta is a great little place just 3 stops from Sorrento. A wonderful bakery just down the street for your morning bread or croissants. A lovely church, and while we were there, in the municipal park people were dancing every night under the stars and it was free to join in. We found the people to be really friendly and we felt very comfortable roaming around at night. It was nice to be staying outside of Sorrento and the crowds.
Travel links were excellent, the airport bus stopped and picked us up from the main street, other buses to Sorrento stopped here and the Circumvesuviana train stops in meta also. The train can take you to Sorrento in a matter of minutes and to pompeii in just 15 mins or so. Very reasonably priced and reliable. The apartment was very clean and reasonably well equipped, Luigi the owner lives on site and is on had if you need any help. There is a nice roof terrace to watch the sunset from. It is not super comfortable but a great base for exploring the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sightseer...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All you need!”
Reviewed 20 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 6 days. The appartment had everything you need for a relaxing inexpensive holiday. It's not luxury by any means but given the location and prices as well as all the facilities it's well worth it. The recommendation of the restaurant where the owner has a special deal for guest could make this a clinche of a deal. It's a short walk to the station, beach or the bus. Plus Meta has some of the nicest beaches this side of Sorrento.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$76
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing