We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic, peaceful stay in a lovely Lancashire...”
other travellers have booked this property
The cottage is to the left, partial gated access is shown
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage is to the left, partial gated access is shown
This is our details for more pictures and information about what the area has to offer. Little door leading out to gravelled seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The cottage is to the left, partial gated access is shown
This is our details for more pictures and information about what the area has to offer.
Little door leading out to gravelled seating area
lounge looking towards the multi fuel stove
Lounge looking towards the feature fireplace and staircase leading to the first floor
Kitchen diner showing seating for 4 persons, the table expands.
Utility room showing washer, dryer & sink here there is hanging room for the coats and a boot tray
Large ensuite bedroom showing traditional decor views over the fields to the rear and front
Ensuite to large bedroom which has a spacious shower unit and a separate bath
Medium bedroom showing traditional decor with the oak beside furniture, this bed is 5'
Shower room ensuit to medium bedroom this is an 800 x 1000 shower room, tiolet and sink
Views around the cottage towards Arnside knott
View from Sandside over the Kent Estuary brilliant views if you enjoy a cool drink at the Ship Inn.
Snowy views over the Kent Estuary from Storth
Hazel slack tower is less than a mile from the cottage and on the way to the fairy steps.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Arnside, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
haakon_ha...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic, peaceful stay in a lovely Lancashire cottage”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We've just returned from a brilliant week in Rollen Cottage. The cottage itself is absolutely lovely, very well appointed and roomy (especially for a 2-bedroom property).

Host Carol was extremely welcoming, and able to recommend places to visit in the area.

The area is very peaceful, but within easy distance of the prime destinations in that area (Lake District, Lancaster, Kirkby Londsale, Kendal etc).

We would also recommend the walking and cycling opportunities in the immediate area - Arnside Knott is a bracing walk, and gives fantastic views over the Kent estuary and out into Morecambe Bay.

Whilst there are no shops within walking distance, the villages of Arnside and Silverdale (both have large convenience stores) are only 5-10 minutes by car, and the nearby town of Carnforth has several supermarkets.

We would thoroughly recommend Rollen Cottage for a family break, and are looking forward to visiting again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peaceful location, very well appointed accommodation
Liked least: No negative points!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
This review is great you have said it all from the location and standard of the cottage in a peaceful area, its distance from both the local village and shopping, a car or other form of independant transport is essential the cottage is 1.5 miles from the shops and nearest public house either Sandside or Arnside also you are within easy reach of prime destinations. what I am mostly grateful for is your description of what there is on offer from the cottage door step for walkers and cyclists, the cottage has a large variety of walking maps, laminated walking sheets, books and leaflets to suit everyone. Thank you once again and see you next year Carol & Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnMerse...
merseyside
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rollen Cottage”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Arrived to a most welcoming hello from Carol the owner, who was more like a family friend than owner, the cottage was outstanding from the bedrooms to the showers rooms, kitchen was so well equipt you never had to bring annything from foil to kitchen rolls sky tv on a smart 40'' TV.Grounds were immaculate enough room for 2 x cars, a truly outstanding accomadation a credit to the owners Carol/Bruce, central to most part of the surrounding towns, would difinitely recommend this property no problem and next door is a 4 bedroomed cottage also.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking time out to make this review on Rollen cottage and the surrounding area, you had a lovely bank holiday weekend of weather enjoying the afternoon and evening sun sat outside whilst relaxing, I like to make sure the kitchen is well equipped and then guests do not have to bring the kitchen sink. Thank you one again Carol & Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grover100
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Rollen Court Cottage for a weekend break with friends. The cottage was tastefully furnished with leather recliner settees a 42" high spec T.V. with a full sky package internet and wifi , which was an added bonus. The kitchen had everything you would ever need, dishwasher, halogen cooker, microwave, fridge freezer and washing machine and every utensil, in fact we were quite spoilt. Upstairs was a treat, beautiful bedroom furnishings king size beds and fabulous power showers and scrupulously clean. The area the cottage is situated is an AONB which speaks for itself . The villages of Arnside and Silverdale are close by and we also took the train over the aqueduct for a day in Grange-over-Sands were they had the Prom Arts, a Jazz band playing and in the park a full Brass band concert playing themes from musicals, a thoroughly lovely Sunday. I'm saving the best till the last the owner Carol was more like a friend so kind and helpful anything you needed to know best places to eat, directions, local info etc. never intrusive but always on hand if I had one complaint it was a weekend is not enough to enjoy the delight of South Lakeland. This was a gem of a cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thank you so very much for your review, your description of the cottage , and all it offers, I am really pleased that you enjoyed Arnside and the town situated 6 minutes by train to Grange O Sands, thankfully the weather was excellent and you enjoyed sitting out during the afternoon and evening see you soon.

Carol & Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keely M
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage.”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I cannot recommend this cottage enough. It has everything you could possibly need. We were met by Carol, a lovely lady, who showed us round and explained a few things about the cottage and the area. The cottage is as lovely as it looks on the photos. It's very clean and comfortable, just the place you need to relax after being out all day. Thanks again Carol, we had a great time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Hello Keele M and all.

Thank you very much for this review, I really do appreciate this you have described the cottage to a T and I am so glad you were able to relax albeit you told me the areas and sights you visited during your stay and you certainly did a few miles and greatly enjoyed the comfort of the cottage after being out all day come back soon.
Carol & Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tango944
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful, Peaceful Location - Far From The Madding Crowds!”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We experienced a very welcoming arrival following another horrendous journey on the M6. As we approached Carr Bank, it stopped raining, the sun came out, the birds were singing and everything felt very relaxing after the stressful motorway. Carol has done a great job of the conversion. The cottage had everything we needed in the kitchen, and more. It is furnished to a high standard, is immaculately clean, has great super fast wifi for those who need to be connected, great laundry facilities, a wood burner (that we did not get the opportunity to use as it was too warm!!). Private off road parking, private outdoor sitting area, 2 ensuite Double bedrooms, easy access to the wonderful estuary at Arnside, beautiful Silverdale and close to the Lake District without all the hustle bustle. The pheasants, blackbirds, cows and sheep were the only noises we heard, perfect. We enjoyed it so much we extended our stay and would certainly return. The Albion Pub at Arnside has a great patio to watch the tide, listen to the locals, and chill out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locaton
Liked least: We prefer 100% cotton sheets
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
Wow what a great review thank you for this I am really pleased you were able to relax and indeed extend your stay you were wonderful guests and hopefully we will see you at Rollen cottage in Carr Bank soon, I have to agree the location and setting is peaceful and surrounded by lush green countryside and Arnside is on the doorstep not far from the cottage, once again thank you for the review and all the best Carol & Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing