We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveller rating
548
47
15
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
548
47
15
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard room wonderful hotel cape town nougat cooked to perfection breakfast and dinner private deck attention to detail blown away little touches nature reserve every respect plunge pool outside patio a true gem stunning location fishing village
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 612 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2015

My twin brother and myself decided to celebrate our (60th!) birthday at Strandloper.

The Hotel met our (high) expectations, and more.

I can only imagine what it must be like during the Cape summer - our weather was foggy and cold, but this only enhanced the experience of the warmth and comfort of the Hotel.

The food was excellent (special requests met with no fuss), the service friendly and attentive without being intrusive, and the rooms spacious and very comfortable.

I loved the attention to detail - hot water bottle in a turned-down bed, names remembered, nothing to much trouble for the Staff.

At breakfast we were surprized by the entire staff, led by Gill with a complimentary bottle of bubbly, singing Happy Birthday!

I will never forget our experience, and look forward to trying all the seasons - what a place to "chill".

Room tip: Loved the Country rooms!
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnOinZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandloperOcean, Manager at Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review of Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel.

It gave us great pleasure to celebrate with you and your twin your very special birthday!! We are pleased you enjoyed your meal in our Ocean Lounge Restaurant, and look forward to your return where we hope to wow you again with our local and freshly grown organic products.

For our new winter Ocean Lounge menu and other winter spa specials with pampering Healing Earth treatments, together with the latest Strandloper Ocean news, please check out our Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel Facebook and Twitter if you like.

We too are looking forward to your seasonal visits and will be happy to accommodate you in our Nature Suite that you so enjoyed this time.

Warm wishes from Paternoster

Gill Anziska and your Strandloper Ocean Team
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015

We had wanted a coffee and another hotel told us to sit outside and they would be along when they had a moment: yeah, right!!
So as we drove away I noticed a sign board for the Strandlooper Ocean Boutique Hotel and thought they may help us out. When we got there we were the only guests as the hotel was closed for some tarting up and the kitchen was being cleaned. However, Gill the manager, was kind enough to offer us a coffee (R20). We asked where we could eat in paternoster and she generously said we could eat at the hotel, which we did after a walk on the foggy, and totally empty, beach.
The menu is very small, with an extensive wine list, which as I was driving, I did not sample, but what there is is well prepared and cooked to a high standard. I do not know how often it changes, and if it was just a luncheon menu. Perhaps, as Paternoster is not a Winter location, they reduce the Bill of Fayre during the off season!
We sat by the fire with an uninterrupted view of the sea, with gulls and a black backed heron that stood on a hump in the sand. The linen, cutlery and crockery were elegant, the chairs very comfortable, with a special ambiance to the hotel.
Jill had 6 oysters (R17ea) with a lemon and cucumber vinaigrette. The chef had taken the trouble to cut the muscle that held it to the shell, a subtle and unusual touch. Delroy our Waitron, was so well trained that when he brought the Tabasco for the oysters, he made sure the labels were facing us. Again that extra touch.
I had the chef's gazpacho (R60). There was a large potion in a lovely shaped bowl. It was not quite spicy enough for my chilli destroyed palate but a few drops of Tabasco remedied that! The soup was colourful and apparently has watermelon and basil added to it. It was served with a hunk of home baked bread. Whatever the recipe it was delicious.
Jill had the Chicken Fillet which came with chips (R150). This was butterflied and cooked to perfection. It was also a substantial portion of Chicken.
I had the Open Rump Steak Sandwich.(R160) A large portion of steak was presented , medium rare with another slice of the home baked bread and salad.
We had a bottle of Sparkling Water (R30) and a filter coffee (R20).
The total with service was R575. Not the cheapest luncheon, but one served with care and thought,What is more, we enjoyed the experience of being the only people in the restaurant and having Gill and Delroy take the time to chat to us between courses

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mervyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2015

Great experience and wonderful hospitality at Strandloper Lodge

A touch of Greece with a few white houses perched on a large bay with the Atlantic Ocean stretching to the horizon.

Fishing boats are drawn up on the beach each morning and that days catch sold to the excellent restaurant’s that abound. Strandloper's menu is world class - freshness and originality and a view that one would find difficult to improve on

Evenings the sunsets fill the full sky from the horizon to horizon

A wonderful place to wind down, stroll along the beach and meditate – we were very sad to leave

Room tip: All the rooms excellent
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SVWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandloperOcean, Manager at Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Trip Advisor.
You being well travelled guests we so appreciate the comment of world class. We pride ourselves with our team’s hospitality and it gave us great please in contributing to your stay at Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel. We hope to welcome you as our guests again in the not-too-distant future.

For future updates and latest information on our hotel please follow us on Facebook, Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel and on Twitter.

Warm wishes from Paternoster

Gill Anziska & your Strandloper Team
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015 via mobile

I am nervous about putting this review because I will be revealing my latest best kept secret.
This little hotel has got the balance of luxury and relaxation just right. The rooms are spacious and luxurious. The finishes are contemporary and minimalistic. The bed was so comfy and the fireplace that was lit in the evenings was so cosy. The food in the dining room was simple but exquisite and tasty. The wine list was excellent too and realistically priced.
The staff were courteous, friendly, helpful and so efficient.
From the moment the booking was made, this hotel exudes a standard that has all been forgotten in hospitality circles in South Africa.
This is one really special place. The small personal touches were very appreciated. The management and staff are to be congratulated on the way they are running this gorgeous place.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LTWells101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandloperOcean, Manager at Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear Guest,

We are so delighted by your lovely review and your amazing compliments about our hospitality, thank you! It makes me and my team very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. It gave us great pleasure to have you as our guest, and we are especially pleased that your daughter was able to advise you to visit us.
We hope to welcome you again as our guests very soon again. For future updates and latest information on our hotel please follow us on Facebook, Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel and on Twitter.

Warm wishes fro Strandloper
Gill Anziska

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2015

my first visit will not be forgotten and I can not wait to head back...

Prosper (butler): blown away at his friendliness, efficiency and overall attention to detail.
Astrid (waitress) : WHAT a pleasure to be served breakfast from someone with a smile!

blown away from the overall look & feel of an amazing hotel that offers 1st class luxury which includes multiple hotel staff knowing your name, smiles all around and just THE ONLY place to spend time in Paternoster!

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank brad_capetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandloperOcean, Manager at Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear Guest,

It gave us great pleasure to be able to celebrate your birthday with you, and contribute to your enjoyable stay at our hotel.
Thank you for such a wonderful review and both Astrid and Prosper, along with the rest of the Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel hope to welcome you back as our guests very soon!!

For future updates and latest information on our hotel please follow us on Facebook, Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel and on Twitter.

Warm wishes from Paternoster

Gill Anziska & your Strandloper Team

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews