We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
407
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef's table course dinner guest house long table other guests the open plan kitchen gourmet breakfast wonderful food communal table culinary delight fabulous night fine dining attention to detail wonderful hosts cape town special treat third visit
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2018 via mobile

We have been going to Ah! For many years, and we are still happy to plan the next stay .

Comfortable rooms, excellent bed and exquisite bed sheets and pillows.

And as always, an excellent breakfast.

A new little addition, is a comfortable deck with two lounge chairs - perfect for reading or a G&T.

Also new, a mobile spa service , getting a massage in the room was great!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mattheus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018

Great for a multitude of reasons - comfort, location, personable owners (Arnold's breakfasts worthy of any Masterchef finalist) There is nothing to dislike here - it really is spot on in EVERY area No more need be said Go and be lulled to sleep by the sound of the sea - Ah!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GREENSEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2018

Paternoster is a seaside village which is 90 minutes drive from Cape Town up the West Coast. Over the last 15 years the village of Paternoster has developed into one of the favourite villages that locals head up to for weekend retreats. The town is gorgeous - the design of all homes has to stay in the original West Coast fisherman cottage style - ie white with stone. The village attracts artists, foodies and beach lovers. For those who wish to spoil themselves while staying in Paternoster, I would highly recommend staying at Ah! Guesthouse. This is the home and guest-house of Chef Arnold Hoon and his wife Annelise. With them you arrive as guests and you leave as friends who will return over and over again. I love their location. They are located in the oldest part of Paternoster and are a mere 30 second walk from the beach. One of the big attractions of booking with Ah! is that guests can also book for dinner with Chef Arnold. Arnold only opens dinner bookings for in house guests and does a wonderful 5 course dinner at a wonderful long table in his kitchen. Breakfast is also a three course gourmet affair! When planning your stay - book ONE night at Ah! and the other nights at the other restaurants in Paternoster such as Leeto and Noisy Oyster. Arnold will happily make the dinner bookings for you.

The decor in the guesthouse is a wonderful assortment of the art that they have collected over the years. Both of them are very creative and it is reflected in the decor. I love that so much thought has gone into everything in their rooms so that you feel completely pampered! It is all the little touches that blew me away - they put out beach towels for to use, there are bathrobes/slippers, beautiful Rain products in the shower, a little dark towel for wiping off make up! Wine glasses and a fridge that can fit in your wine bottles, washing powder for washing out your smalls. The beds are super comfortable and the linen is wonderful.

To sum up - if you are a foodie - make sure you include Chef Arnold into your travels - every meal that I have had there has always blown me away. His flavours and combo's always blows me away.

Room tip: All of their rooms are wonderful!
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pammycapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

We booked based on the wonderful reviews and it was even better than expected!
Fantastic and welcoming hosts (Arnold & Annalise).
Loved all the attention to detail and creative touches.
The bed was super comfy with luxury, crisp white linen - something that always stands out.
The guesthouse allows for the perfect balance of having a sense of your own private, personal space with the room layout and sunny patio areas etc, combined with the long table in the kitchen/dining area where fellow guest sit together and dine - Arnold's breakfast was exceptional! We will definitely be back, not only for a wonderful night's rest, but to experience more of Arnold's culinary delights!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imogensa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

We were at AH! in march ...and we went back for some more ....
Again a more than wonderful stay in this laid back town with laid back hosts and their wonderful staff . Don't let the watershortage withhold you from going to this guesthouse you will hardly notice it . Excellent chef's table two or three times a week , excellent firm beds, wonderful shower , parking right in front of the building . Did many lovely beachwalks on almost deserted beaches ; all very safe in Paternoster !Some great restaurants that wil be prebooked when you arrive so you can sit back and relax the minute you enter AH! Our main reason for becoming returning guests are the hosts Arnold and Annalise ........with whom we had many laughs during diners and breakfasts. Breakfasts from heaven I might add..Please send me a pm if you want to know more about AH! O and you can have a inhouse massage that Arnold can arrange for you .
And yes ....already booked for next year march.....what can I say.....

Room tip: Ask for the chef's table !
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hans d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews