We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
410
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef's table course dinner guest house long table other guests the open plan kitchen gourmet breakfast wonderful food communal table culinary delight fabulous night fine dining attention to detail wonderful hosts cape town special treat third visit
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Paternoster has always been one of my favourite places in the Cape and so on a visit this year we decided to spend three nights and chose the AH! Guest House. Just PERFECT. Views to die for and not to mention Arnold and Annalise who were absolutely amazing hosts. Never in all my travels have we eaten such awesome breakfasts..... three course, a starter, main and desert! Arnold is a truly inspirational cook in line with Michelin chef status. One of the evenings he made us a five course dinner. I have only one word to describe this evening HEAVEN. Anyone wanting to stay in Paternoster, this Guest House is a must. AA!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Noelle251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Arnold and Annalise give5 star service,food,sheets,venue,style,personal warmth and a feeling of complete relaxation.Most guests ,as us ,are repeats ,which tells one all you need to know about this jewel by the sea.
One mustn’t forget the amazing room service which happens invisibly and to a very high standard.
Superlatives are in adequate

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

We just love coming to the ah guesthouse. It’s an easy drive from Cape Town and located right at the end of town overlooking a beautiful long stretch of beach. The house feels very homey and the rooms are beautifully furnished and meticulously clean. You will find a teakettle in your room and fresh water, next to lovely self made biscuits. The best part of the guesthouse, however, are the wonderful hosts Annalise and Arnold. They will pamper you and make you feel special. Their food is just amazing. Make sure to not just enjoy their wonderful several courses breakfast but also a dinner, which can easily compete with any Michelin Restaurant. We can only highly recommend the ah Guesthouse, definitely reason enough to pay Paternoster a visit every time we are in South Africa.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Having previously stayed and dined at Ah Guesthouse we just HAD to stay again and book an evening dinner.
Since our previous visit, the house has been re-vamped slightly, with lovely red signage and everything looked immaculate, from the garden to the interior of the house.
Arnold and Annalise were just the complete professional, from start to finish.
The breakfasts cooked for us were a perfect combination of flavours, from the perfectly diced and delicious fruit salad to the amazing 'Arnold's Eggs Benedict' and finished off with an incredible Tonka bean ice cream on a toasted croute- this isn't an ordinary breakfast and the evening meal was just exemplary.
When I walked through the kitchen in the afternoon, Arnold and Annalise were busy making the pasta for the Tortilini( that is the high spec of their cooking!)
Six lucky guests sat at the communal dining table at 7pm and then the delicious meal
started.
From the mushroom and cheddar cheese Tortilini, followed by a beautiful salad,a Bitter Balls( excuse the incorrect spelling please!), Silver fish as the main course and then a composition of desserts with coffee Charlotte Royal, panna cotta with lime meringue and butterscotch sauce this meal just kept up the incredible selection of wonderful food served and cooked incredibly well.
It is obvious that a huge amount of thought and preparation had gone into every course to ensure it was all perfectly balanced, with various textures, temperatures and flavours in each course, all the while they were on display to their guests.
They managed to make the kitchen look immaculate at all times and worked together so well. It has been another gastro delight for my husband and I and we so hope that you get all the recognition and appreciation you both so deserve.
Yes, Ah Guest house is a wonderful place to stay, but Arnold and Annalise's dining experience put the whole thing on another level which any other guest house cannot compete with.
If you are a 'foodie' you will not believe how great it all is- please go and try for yourself.

Room tip: Top floor gets the sea views
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NobbyWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

I think this was my 20th visit to Ah! There has to be something special for me to visit so often, especially when it’s a 12 hour flight away. This time I was in the downstairs room, a first for me and it’s as beautifully appointed as the other rooms. But it also has a gorgeous seating area outside, where you can sit and relax or enjoy your morning coffee, with nobody to disturb you.
Service was exemplary as always and breakfast a culinary delight! Lemon curd and blueberry ice cream was on the menu this visit. Can’t wait to visit again in April.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews