We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
398
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef's tableguest housecourse dinnerother guestsgourmet breakfastopen kitchenwonderful foodfrench toastcommunal tableculinary delightsouth africabig tablewonderful hostsfabulous nightfine diningattention to detailcape town
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2017

It was our first visit to Paternoster and we were happy to have been introduced to ah! Guest House. Although we had the smallest room, the setting and overall ambiance at ah! were perfect for the occasion. Both Arnold and Annaliese are excellent hosts and can prepare a gourmet evening meal equal to most. They kindly made our other dinner reservations in advance at two very good restaurants, which otherwise were fully booked. Breakfasts were healthy and varied from day to day.

Room Tip: Try to book a larger room with a view
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

I'll start by stating that the owners, Arnold and Annalise, are friends of ours but given that we live in Australia, this has been our first visit to ah! Friends or no friends, it was an amazing experience. They have done a lovely job of decorating the house and rooms (we saw ours and that of other friends who joined us) creating a classy, homely feel with some unique pieces and beautiful artworks. Breakfast is a scrumptious three-course affair, 4 if you have cereal :-), ending with ice cream of all things! Dinner is served based on requests from the guests and we were lucky enough to experience this on our first evening. Fine dining by any definition. Every course was beautifully presented with flavours that transported one on a taste experience. It was great to see how Arnold and Annalise interacted with the other guests, and all sitting at the same table in the open kitchen, we had a roaring time. If you're going to Paternoster or need a base from which to explore the region, check with ah! first before you consider anything else.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

After Paarl, our next stop was in Paternoster, staying at ah! Guest House. There were now four of us, as our friends had arrived from the UK while at Paarl.
In a lovely location the ah! Guest House is set with a 2-5 minute walk of the wonderful beach. The rooms were lovely and clean, with a roof terrace that could be enjoyed by all the guests.
We arrived at around 5pm and found that a nearby restaurant had been booked for our evening meal by Arnold, owner of ah!.
A walk along the beach the following day, collecting shells, and enjoying a drink at the beach restaurant, and then strolled back at lunch time, this was wonderful and relaxing.
Breakfast was a 9am and we enjoyed a varied menu of yoghurt and fruit and if wanted a cooked breakfast by Arnold.The highlight was Arnold's home made ice cream, an absolute first at breakfast for us.
Our evening meal was also cooked by Arnold, where we enjoyed a first class meal of seafoods all enjoyed with one or two glass of wine.
All the houses are painted white here and in a funny way reminded us of the cult TV series, 'The Prisoner'.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NML28London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

We found the name Ah! interesting until we learned it was the owners initials - Arnold and Annalise Hoon. We did not stay at Ah! although our good friends did. We went on a quick tour of the guesthouse and it is amazing and exquisitely and uniquely decorated. We have dinner at Ah! which is an awesome experience. The dining table is a chef's table in the open plan kitchen. So wonderful to be able to watch Arnold and Annalise prepare the food whilst chatting and entertaining the guests. The 4 course meal tantalized our taste buds with every mouthful. One of the best meals we have had and a fantastic experience if you appreciate good food and fine dining. This is a very popular guesthouse and has many guests who have returned each year, some close to 20 times, so be sure to book well in advance.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Our third time at AH! I We really needed a place to unwind and unstress our minds .
Enjoy your stay whlist enjoying Arnold's an Annalise's hospitality ,humor and in particurlar the cooking art of a culinary master. This place is the ultimate stay in Paternoster !!!
Resrevations at least 6 months in advance . Good airconditioning and an excellent shower. Very near to the beach. Best breakfast in SA . Ever had ice cream at breakfast ?
Beautiful roof terrace and free parking.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans9856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews