We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't tell your friends!”
Review of ah! Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ah! Guest House
Ranked #3 of 19 Paternoster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Wow- what an undiscovered little gem! We were fortunate enough to be pointed in the direction of Arnold and Annaliese at Ah! guesthouse by our hosts in Franschoek. Luckily, there was one room available, and to make things even more perfect, Arnold just happened to be hosting one of his random chef's table dinners. What a delight- the dinner was exceptional. The evening began with cocktails on the upper deck with a gorgeous view of the sunset and beach. We then moved down to the dining table, where we were treated to an absolutely amazing four course dinner. Arnold presented each course with a detailed description. The food was simply amazing. What struck us was the detail of each plate and the fact that Arnold and Annaliese assembled the courses seamlessly and calmly in front of the guests in the kitchen. If I had a heaven's worth of Michelin stars, I would give them to Arnold and Annaliese. The rooms are modern, quirky and well designed and the beds are true heaven. What serendipity to fall upon such a wonderful experience. Thank you to our gracious hosts for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique. We stayed on the top floor and loved the open air deck and view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017

It was our first visit to Paternoster and we were happy to have been introduced to ah! Guest House. Although we had the smallest room, the setting and overall ambiance at ah! were perfect for the occasion. Both Arnold and Annaliese are excellent hosts and can prepare a gourmet evening meal equal to most. They kindly made our other dinner reservations in advance at two very good restaurants, which otherwise were fully booked. Breakfasts were healthy and varied from day to day.

Room Tip: Try to book a larger room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

I'll start by stating that the owners, Arnold and Annalise, are friends of ours but given that we live in Australia, this has been our first visit to ah! Friends or no friends, it was an amazing experience. They have done a lovely job of decorating the house and rooms (we saw ours and that of other friends who joined us) creating a classy, homely feel with some unique pieces and beautiful artworks. Breakfast is a scrumptious three-course affair, 4 if you have cereal :-), ending with ice cream of all things! Dinner is served based on requests from the guests and we were lucky enough to experience this on our first evening. Fine dining by any definition. Every course was beautifully presented with flavours that transported one on a taste experience. It was great to see how Arnold and Annalise interacted with the other guests, and all sitting at the same table in the open kitchen, we had a roaring time. If you're going to Paternoster or need a base from which to explore the region, check with ah! first before you consider anything else.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

After Paarl, our next stop was in Paternoster, staying at ah! Guest House. There were now four of us, as our friends had arrived from the UK while at Paarl.
In a lovely location the ah! Guest House is set with a 2-5 minute walk of the wonderful beach. The rooms were lovely and clean, with a roof terrace that could be enjoyed by all the guests.
We arrived at around 5pm and found that a nearby restaurant had been booked for our evening meal by Arnold, owner of ah!.
A walk along the beach the following day, collecting shells, and enjoying a drink at the beach restaurant, and then strolled back at lunch time, this was wonderful and relaxing.
Breakfast was a 9am and we enjoyed a varied menu of yoghurt and fruit and if wanted a cooked breakfast by Arnold.The highlight was Arnold's home made ice cream, an absolute first at breakfast for us.
Our evening meal was also cooked by Arnold, where we enjoyed a first class meal of seafoods all enjoyed with one or two glass of wine.
All the houses are painted white here and in a funny way reminded us of the cult TV series, 'The Prisoner'.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NML28London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

We found the name Ah! interesting until we learned it was the owners initials - Arnold and Annalise Hoon. We did not stay at Ah! although our good friends did. We went on a quick tour of the guesthouse and it is amazing and exquisitely and uniquely decorated. We have dinner at Ah! which is an awesome experience. The dining table is a chef's table in the open plan kitchen. So wonderful to be able to watch Arnold and Annalise prepare the food whilst chatting and entertaining the guests. The 4 course meal tantalized our taste buds with every mouthful. One of the best meals we have had and a fantastic experience if you appreciate good food and fine dining. This is a very popular guesthouse and has many guests who have returned each year, some close to 20 times, so be sure to book well in advance.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paternoster
0,1 km away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
35,8 km away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#3 of 6 in Langebaan
370 reviews
1,6 km away
Gilcrest Place BnB
Gilcrest Place BnB
#1 of 19 in Paternoster
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,7 km away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
1,6 km away
Paternoster Manor Guest House
Paternoster Manor Guest House
#5 of 19 in Paternoster
76 reviews
2 km away
The Oystercatcher’s Haven
The Oystercatcher’s Haven
#6 of 19 in Paternoster
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ah! Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ah! Guest House

Address: 1 Mosselbank Street | Mosselbank, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Paternoster
Price Range: R 1 453 - R 1 558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ah! Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ah! Guest House is owner run and situated in the picturesque fisherman's village, Paternoster, just 150 km from Cape Town. Sumptuous breakfasts, gourmet dinners, comfortable bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms & attention to detail, air con, designer bedlinen, unique artwork, splash pool and personal attention await visitors to ah! guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your ah! Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing