We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A foodie heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ah! Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ah! Guest House
Ranked #1 of 19 Paternoster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate,UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A foodie heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

For 8 years we have been telling the tale about a perfect little guest house 2/3 hours north of Cape Town where the owners hold a dinner party a couple of times a week. The food is beautifully cooked and a feast for the eyes. We returned to see if things had changed. Thank goodness they haven't apart from the fact that there are a few more people walking on the 7 km beach.
The rooms are quirky and you are encouraged to be sociable which suits us. The whole atmosphere is friendly, and you meet many different people -all united in their love of food. A definite must

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biggles023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
253
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment you arrive until you leave it was like staying with your best friends.
Arnold and Annalise are the most perfect hosts. The room we stayed in was delightful!
It was so peaceful and tranquil.
Breakfast was delicious, and it was really nice eating around a big table with the other guests!
Unfortunately we didn't get to stay long enough to eat Arnold's food but from the other guests recommendations it was our loss! But we are all ready planning to stay next year!
Thanks again for looking after us.
They are also very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and wine farms, so we did a tour on our way back to cape town !

Room Tip: It's so quiet I don't think it matters
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninacoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you to the beautiful hosts for such a superb and faultless stay. Arnold's food is out of this world - worth travelling to paternoster for that alone. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and welcoming. Hotel standards with a very personal feel. Will definitely be going back!

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Durkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We felt very relaxed and comfortable in the ground floor room at Ah! and had a most enjoyable four night stay. We were lucky enough to have two of Arnold's evening meals enjoyed with other guests which made for a very sociable occasion. Arnold is a wonderful cook and his presentation has to be seen to be believed. Breakfast is a three course affair and keeps you going all day.

Ah! is a little way out of town but right next to the beautiful beach. It is probably advisable to go in the car to local restaurants in the evening but do make sure you experience one of Arnold's evening meals.

Thank you Annalise and Arnold for a memorable four night stay.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dear Arnold and Annalise. Thank you again for hosting us on our recent visit at AH! Guesthouse in Paternoster. Once again the two of you went out of your way to make us feel comfortable and welcome; returning to your beautiful home is always food for the soul.

Arnold your dinner preparation and presentation has gone to a stratospheric level. The dishes are filled with flavour layers, taste sensations and textures. We loved every bite and often look back at the photos as a reminder of the wonderful dining experience we were privileged to enjoy.

Your home remains beautiful and modern and without any complexities or fuss. Every corner is filled with hidden treasures and treats.

Good luck and may you bask in your continued successes.

Room Tip: The only place to stay in Paternoster
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
0.1 km away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
0.1 km away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.7 km away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Gilcrest Place BnB
Gilcrest Place BnB
#2 of 19 in Paternoster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.3 km away
Paternoster Cottages
Paternoster Cottages
#13 of 16 in Paternoster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.0 km away
The Oystercatcher's Haven at Paternoster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ah! Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ah! Guest House

Property: ah! Guest House
Address: 1 Mosselbank Street | Mosselbank, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Paternoster
Price range (per night): R1 207 - R1 543
Hotel Class:4 star — ah! Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ah! Guest House is owner run and situated in the picturesque fisherman's village, Paternoster, just 150 km from Cape Town. Sumptuous breakfasts, gourmet dinners, comfortable bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms & attention to detail, air con, designer bedlinen, unique artwork, splash pool and personal attention await visitors to ah! guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your ah! Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing