We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ah! Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Club Mykonos(Langebaan)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Calypso Villas(Langebaan)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
394
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef's tableguest housecourse dinnerlong tableother gueststhe open plan kitchenmichelin star qualitygourmet breakfastwonderful foodfrench toastcommunal tablecooking dinnersouth africaout of this worldbig tablewestern capefabulous night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Had a great two night stay. The hosts were very friendly and if you get the chance you must dine in, Arnold is a great cook but a bit expensive.
Our room was very clean and well thought out.
Great place to go to get out of the city to relax.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights and we had an amazing time, thank you.
Great service and attention to detail. Nice pool and design. |Very relaxing. Nice seaside village next to the sea. (Was sad to see the poverty in the black area where there is a lot of unemployment and will be nice to see the business getting involved creating more jobs. Although this hotel was employing local people.)
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beninabungemilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Just had a marvellous stay with Arnold and Annalise at ah! It was our second visit. Love the ambience of the guest house - a place to chill out and relax. The rooms are comfortable and spotless.
On arrival we head down the beach and walk for miles! Paternoster is a charming west coast village and worth including in your SA itinerary.
Arnold's three course breakfasts are not to be missed. Also, his dinners are a "must" if you are lucky to be there on the nights he is cooking! Would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Retired061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We booked the Ah guesthouse as part of our month trip to SA, and the three nights we spent there ranked very high indeed.
Arnold and Annalise have that knack of making people very welcome and relaxed, and having guests eat at the big table makes for some interesting conversations over breakfast.
The meals produced by Arnold I would say are Michelin star quality, the breakfasts are superb, but the meal he produced for us on Hogmany(New Years Eve) was world class in my opinion.
The Ah guesthouse is a class act in lovely Paternoster.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FORB's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Arnold and Annalise were very welcoming to their home and guest house. They both, clearly, have a natural gift for making people feel welcomed and at ease. The room which was in the eaves of the house and finished in thatch on the outside was cool and beautifully appointed with all the conveniences one could wish for. It lead onto a communal sundeck with seating and sun-loungers. A bracing walk along the beach and it's time for dinner. If you can, please stay on a evening when Arnold is cooking as this is an experience and the quality of produce and how it was presented were both first rate. BYOB allows you to use some of that nice wine you've bought and fail;ing that Arnold is passionate about some of the Swartland producers and may be able to help. Breakfast was 4 courses and the first time I've had tonka bean ice cream.... All in all, a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs offers access to a nice roof terrace...
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TunaTownFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews