We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ah! what can we say!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ah! Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ah! Guest House
Ranked #1 of 19 Paternoster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ah! what can we say!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a beautiful night in this great guesthouse, as we had booked for the Jazz Concert at Tietiesbaai. What a treat it was, and I was sorry that we could not enjoy Arnold's food as we were at the Jazz, as here is a chef who is passionate about his art of cooking, and it is a pleasure watching him prepare the menu for the guests. He is at the top of his game, and we were lucky just to savour a beautiful decadent breakfast, which included a Burnt fig and Caramel Icecream on French toast ,which we followed with a long walk along the Paternoster beach.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
253
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2017

Had a great two night stay. The hosts were very friendly and if you get the chance you must dine in, Arnold is a great cook but a bit expensive.
Our room was very clean and well thought out.
Great place to go to get out of the city to relax.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights and we had an amazing time, thank you.
Great service and attention to detail. Nice pool and design. |Very relaxing. Nice seaside village next to the sea. (Was sad to see the poverty in the black area where there is a lot of unemployment and will be nice to see the business getting involved creating more jobs. Although this hotel was employing local people.)
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beninabungemilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017

Just had a marvellous stay with Arnold and Annalise at ah! It was our second visit. Love the ambience of the guest house - a place to chill out and relax. The rooms are comfortable and spotless.
On arrival we head down the beach and walk for miles! Paternoster is a charming west coast village and worth including in your SA itinerary.
Arnold's three course breakfasts are not to be missed. Also, his dinners are a "must" if you are lucky to be there on the nights he is cooking! Would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Retired061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017

We booked the Ah guesthouse as part of our month trip to SA, and the three nights we spent there ranked very high indeed.
Arnold and Annalise have that knack of making people very welcome and relaxed, and having guests eat at the big table makes for some interesting conversations over breakfast.
The meals produced by Arnold I would say are Michelin star quality, the breakfasts are superb, but the meal he produced for us on Hogmany(New Years Eve) was world class in my opinion.
The Ah guesthouse is a class act in lovely Paternoster.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FORB's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
0.1 km away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
0.1 km away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.7 km away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Gilcrest Place BnB
Gilcrest Place BnB
#2 of 19 in Paternoster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.3 km away
Paternoster Cottages
Paternoster Cottages
#13 of 16 in Paternoster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.0 km away
The Oystercatcher's Haven at Paternoster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ah! Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ah! Guest House

Property: ah! Guest House
Address: 1 Mosselbank Street | Mosselbank, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Paternoster
Price range (per night): R1 250 - R1 598
Hotel Class:4 star — ah! Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ah! Guest House is owner run and situated in the picturesque fisherman's village, Paternoster, just 150 km from Cape Town. Sumptuous breakfasts, gourmet dinners, comfortable bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms & attention to detail, air con, designer bedlinen, unique artwork, splash pool and personal attention await visitors to ah! guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your ah! Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing