We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$120
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/12
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$184
US$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/12
Priceline
US$120
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/11
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$117
Trip.comUS$184
TravelocityUS$117
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (781)
Filter reviews
781 results
Traveller rating
479
160
64
32
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
479
160
64
32
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool tree house private beach howler monkeys redonda bay paddle boards our honeymoon yoga deck full kitchen ocean view restaurant staff beautiful place restaurant bar crashing waves spa services yoga retreat small pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 781 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2020 via mobile

One of the most beautiful places to visit in Nicaragua, the views are amazing, food was delicious and the environment is just a dream.
The place also is pet friendly, and definitely is a plus.
People who works in there are really polite and cool.
You won’t regret to visit them!!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank BiancaG1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua Reservations, Ventas at Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2020

Dear Blanca

We are pleased that you were able to spend time with us at Aqua but we are much more happy to know that you had a great time during your stay.

Thank you very much for your comments and we hope you come back soon with your friends or family.

Regards

The Aqua Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2020

Aqua is your dream vacation, whether you can splurge for a week, or you take advantage of their affordable day rate. Jetsetters can skip the dirty capital and fly straight into the local Tola airport, while those catching waves in Costa Rica can catch a quick bus over the border, catch a cab in Rivas and get to Aqua in time for the Pacific Coast sunset. Charming wooden cabins nestled among tropical trees each have their own personal pool so you can soak as you take your siesta from the noonday sun, or unwind after an adventurous day as you stargaze. The beach bar is perfect to send selfies to your envious friends, complete with cute bartenders and top shelf mixers. The sports shack has everything you need for snorkeling, kayak, beach volleyball or sand toys for your kids. Delicious ceviche or other menu items are available if you don't want to cook in your cute private kitchen. While all beaches are public in Nicaragua, Playa Redonda is only accessible through the resort's security gate, so you can trust your bag won't get stolen as you dive into these perfect waters, gentle enough for kids since its a protected bay. Want more waves and a local scene? Playa Gigante is just a 20 minute walk through a dirt path. Just bring enough drinking water cause that sun is no joke.

Room tip: the pathways to the top cabins are a serious workout from the beachfront. i recommend staying as close to the bottom as you can.
Date of stay: May 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank taleigh2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua Reservations, Ventas at Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2020

Dear Aqua friend,

We're so happy you had a fantastic time with us!

Your story is incredible; thank you for sharing that with us!

It's wonderful that Aqua Oceanfront Reosrt has made such a difference for you. Thanks for your trust, we're thankful for amazing customers like you.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely

Aqua Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2020

My husband and I recently stayed at Aqua for a week. We didn’t want to leave. The beach is beautiful and clean. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. Everybody made us feel at home. If you like relaxing on the beach, chilling on a sun lounger by your own private plunge pool, being in nature, having your own private cabin in the trees and reading a book whilst listening to the monkeys, then you’ll love this place.

The beach bar has perfect sunset views and we enjoyed sipping cocktails there in the evenings.

Thank you team for a fantastic holiday! We will be back.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank natalienY6706JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua Reservations, Ventas at Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2020

Dear Natalie

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback regarding your stay at Aqua Oceanfront Resort.

We are glad that we were able to accommodate you and we are very delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We also appreciate your kind words for the team and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your husband back at Aqua in the near future.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2020

My wife and I recently spend 3 nights at Aqua. We live in Managua and were on our honeymoon. I would like to provide a fair and balanced review of the resort, however if you’re in a hurry I can sum it up in one word: overpriced. For the prices they charge for both lodging and food/drink, it should be much better. There are several small details described below which, taken individually, wouldn’t be worth mentioning, IF the price of lodging, food, and drink were HALF of what they were at Aqua. However, the prices they charge definitely put them in the ‘luxury’ range of places in Nicaragua (and having lived here for over 5 years I am familiar with most of them), and taken together, the details below are inexcusable for a luxury resort.
First, the positive: the location is absolutely beautiful. The small Redonda Beach is effectively a private beach, as there are no other properties on the bay. The views are amazing, the forest is lush, and the waves are not as strong as other Nicaraguan Pacific beaches. The spa is also quite nice, and has a very nice massage room, with talented masseurs. Additionally, despite having a limited menu, everything we ate was delicious; the food is high quality and well-prepared.
Now on to the ‘opportunities for improvement’. First and foremost, the service in the restaurant / bar is absolutely horrendous. Without exaggeration, there was not a single order over the 4 days we were there that was without errors. The servers constantly forgot our orders, brought the wrong things, or left out basic necessities like salt/pepper, hot sauce/ketchup, or utensils, requiring us to spend 5-10 minutes trying to get a server’s attention to bring us whatever was missing. It also takes forever to prepare your bill to sign, so be sure to ask for it at least 10 minutes before you want to leave the restaurant. We ordered a slice of cake to take to the room and were given a slice of cake on a heavy glass plate, not wrapped, without a spoon, nothing. Just blam, here’s your cake to go. There was also no Wi-Fi at the beach bar / restaurant, only in the rooms. So keep that in mind. When we asked, we were told something about the owner changing the password daily, and the servers didn’t know the new password. This happened two days in a row so we just gave up. On Sunday, when we came down to the restaurant, the owner and his buddies were watching golf at full volume, with even louder commercial breaks every few minutes. Obviously not the environment one expects at a ‘luxury’ resort. I even asked him to turn it down, and his response was ‘there are only two holes left’. To his credit, he did end up turning it down a bit, but I expected him to turn it OFF. He treats the resort like his home, and the restaurant like his living room, rather than as the customer-serving business that it is. There was also construction going on (the property is slowly being remodeled), starting quite early in the morning, and as it is a family-friendly place, there were a fair number of boisterous children, who were running as screaming (as children do) as early as 8AM, so keep that in mind. If you’re looking for peace and quiet, this might not be the place. Also, they do not provide beach towels, which seems very odd for a ‘luxury’ beach resort. So you either need to bring your own beach towels, or use your bath towels on the beach. If you’re a coffee fan, be aware that the coffee served in the restaurant is terrible. They provide Aqua-branded coffee packets in the room, which are quite good and can be used in the coffee machine in the room. I’m not sure if the coffee they provide in the restaurant is a different kind, or just badly prepared, but it was practically undrinkable, and I’m no coffee snob. The rooms are also in need of a good remodeling. The fixtures were old and not in the best shape. For instance: some rooms (including ours) have a small plunge pool on the deck. The paint in ours was peeling all over the place. It’s something that would take so little time to fix (drain, paint, dry, fill) that I was surprised to see it like that. Again, these are all small details that, for half the price, I wouldn’t even bring up. But for a ‘luxury’ resort, they really are unacceptable.
Two final points to keep in mind, that aren’t’ necessarily positive or negative. One, this place is built into a hillside, so if you aren’t in the best shape, or have knee / back issues, you will want to ensure that you get one of the rooms near the bottom of the hill / beach. Our room was nearly at the top, and had over 180 steps from the beach up to the room. I actually loved this aspect, because it was a SERIOUS leg workout at least 2-3 times daily, which balanced out the hedonistic eating and drinking we did. So it’s not a complaint, just something to keep in mind. The other thing to keep in mind is that this is a place in transition. The current owner only bought it in February, and it had been neglected by the previous owners. It’s being remodeled and improved, and if improvements are also made to some of the service aspects, then I imagine it will be a lovely place to stay in 6-12 months. However, I don’t think I will be going back, unless they either half their prices or I hear some firsthand reports of serious improvements. There are many other lovely beach resorts and hotels in Nicaragua, so until Aqua makes some progress or lowers their prices, I can’t recommend them.

Room tip: Be sure to ask for a room close to the beach if you don't want to climb tons of stairs, as the place is built into a steep cliff.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B796KZmarcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua Reservations, Ventas at Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review and share with us.

We are sorry your experience did not match your expectations and we truly appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us identify the areas we can improve the guest experience.

The management team was disappointed to learn of the shortcomings you had and we're currently taking steps to improve with each and every stay.

Once again we appreciate your comments about aspects of the all services that need updating. We hope that we can convince you to change your mind about another visit to our property. We will keep you updated and please reach out if you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around. It would be such a pleasure to welcome you back.

With much appreciation,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2020

It is definitely a very beautiful place. It was my wedding anniversary and as a surprise for my husband I ordered a special dinner by the sea that they offer, we were ready at 7pm at the meeting point and nobody ever came. We called the front desk and they said they had forgotten to contact the chef and other staff for dinner. The next day we decided to look for a better hotel to spend the rest of our vacations.

a week ago they robbed one of the houses while the guests slept. They stole money and personal documents. The hotel responded with a statement that made guests appear to be liars and they didn't respond for the stolen stuff.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ariadnnae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua Reservations, Ventas at Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2020
Google Translation

Estimado huesped

A partir del 1 de febrero de 2020, Aqua Nicaragua está bajo una nueva administración. La propiedad ha sido sometida a una importante revisión, limpieza y renovación que incluyó mejoras en las áreas comunes y el spa. Se construyó un nuevo bar restaurante en la playa con un nuevo menú y se incorporaron actividades en la playa para poder brindar una buena experiencia para nuestros clientes.

Sobre el incidente que menciona, como bien dice el comunicado nos encontramos colaborando con las autoridades. No omitimos mencionar que también hemos reforzado la seguridad tanto en las habitaciones como en las áreas comunes.

Adicional, es importante mencionar que la salud de nuestros huéspedes y colaboradores es importante para nosotros por lo que en Aqua tomamos las medidas dispuestas por la OMS para evitar el contagio de COVID-19 y hemos implementado sistemas y procedimientos adecuados para garantizar que cuando regrese sea bienvenido a un complejo turístico muy diferente y seguro.

En nombre del "nuevo" Aqua Nicaragua, lamentamos que haya tenido una mala experiencia con la administración anterior y esperamos poder darle una cordial bienvenida muy pronto.


Cordialmente,

Aqua Oceanfront Resort



Dear guest


As of February 1, 2020, Aqua Nicaragua is under new management. The property has undergone a major cleaning and renovation that included improvements to the common areas and the spa. A new beach bar restaurant with a new menu was built and beach activities were incorporated to provide a good experience for our customers.

In reference to the incident you mention about the other guest, as the statement says, we are collaborating with the authorities. We should not fail to say that we have also strengthened security in both rooms and common areas.

Additionally, it is important to mention that the health of our guests and employees is important to us, so at Aqua we take the measures established by the WHO to avoid the spread of COVID-19 and we have also implemented adequate systems and procedures to ensure that when you return you are welcome to a very different and safe resort.

On behalf of the "new" Aqua Nicaragua team, we are sorry that you had a bad experience with the previous administration and we look forward to welcoming you very soon.

Sincerely,

Aqua Oceanfront Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews