We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful family Beach House to rent...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Amanzi Beach House

A little piece of heaven...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A little piece of heaven...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
A little piece of heaven...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Umzumbe, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ianmprint...
Benoni, South Africa
2 reviews
“A wonderful family Beach House to rent overlooking the sea, South Beach, Kwa Zulu, Natal”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We recently had a wonderful, restful week’s family holiday at the Amanzi Beach House on the South Coast at Umzumbe Beach in Kwa Zulu Natal which after much consideration and research was our final choice of venue for an overdue holiday and family reunion. We were not disappointed and hope to return there as soon as we have opportunity.

Firstly concerning the location, we could not have chosen better. The Beach House overlooks the sea and one can easily walk down to the beach from the garden within three minutes. The whole environment of this particular stretch of the South Coast is particularly beautiful, green and tropical with many quiet, pristine and unspoilt beaches. Upon exploring along the beaches one can observe and discover some amazing fauna with shells, rock pools and an abundance of marine life. It was not unusual to spot seals in the ocean. We also spotted otters etc. One is spoilt with multiple choices of interesting, exciting places to explore, and activities to do. It truly is a perfect place for a family or group, desiring a good holiday by the sea. One can access seaside towns or beaches that are busy and buzzing or choose quieter places each with its own unique character and features.

Although there were nine of us, covering a wide spectrum of ages. There was so much to see and do from that location all within easy reach that everyone in our group enjoyed themselves to the hilt. A visit to Oribi Gorge was a thrilling and major highlight, regretfully, we ran out of time and could have easily spent more time there. Even visiting UShaka Marine World for a days outdoor ocean related fun and activities was in good reach and an enjoyable worthwhile drive.

The Beach house is large with a bright, sunny, and open plan layout. The décor is tasteful modern and breezy following a beach/ocean theme. Kitchen was large and well equipped as advertised. We could easily have accommodated a few more as there were five bedrooms and sleeper couches in the large lounging area and a few camping beds could have been pulled out, so the venue is ideal for large or small families or groups. Everything which we needed was provided for incl. wi fi, tv, laundry facilities, etc. The prices for a group are very reasonable and we feel we received very good value for the cost.

Some of the features we enjoyed were:
The large well furnished/equipped deck and deck pool overlooking the Indian ocean where we spent much of our family time. A beautiful braai area had just recently been completed. We loved watching and hearing the occasional steam train passing by which
added to the indigenous character and colour of that part of the world. Amazing how we sometimes never grow up.
We loved having our bedrooms overlooking the magnificent ocean. No need for alarm clocks, we just got into rhythm with the early morning sun rising over the sea.
The home is serviced every day, including washing up of dishes as needed. [so truly a good break for moms]. Cleaning staff was very sweet and did a great job of needful daily housekeeping.
Carol and Peter our hosts were amazing, friendly, funny, outgoing and efficient in running a great beach house with care. We loved having them around and often invited them to join with us for the pure pleasure of their company. They also were not obtrusive but it was good knowing that they were always accessible should we need them. They had provided beach towels, even surf boards as needed and were able to direct us and give us good advice re best places to visit etc.
Finally but not least of all, we enjoyed getting to know Hugo the master of Amanzi Beach House, who humbly took up his responsibility to watch over us and always gladly accepted our invitations for him to accompany us down to the beach as he so much loved to join in our walks along the beach and romping in the surf.

We certainly had a truly happy time which was enjoyed by each one of us. The only complaint was that we would have loved to stay a little longer. Thank you so much Carol and Peter and Jenine for sharing your beautiful home and making such a wonderful holiday possible. Thank you Jenine too for the lovely tea and spread we shared with you at the Amanzi Lodge, an equally beautiful location and home in Nottingham Road.
Hoping we will be able to visit you all again some time in the foreseeable future;
Best regards and love from Ian and Jen, Michael, Di and Paul. Natalie, Jesse, Rebecca and Caleb

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spectacular view and quietness
Liked least: cant think of anything..it was all good
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
I have a feeling a travel magazine may be contacting you to write reviews for them after reading this :)
Thank you for the comprehensive and thoughtful review. It truly expresses what a stay at Amanzi is all about.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylan94
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Best beach house I've stayed at”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I would 100% recommend the Amanzi Beach House to anyone and everyone. It truly is a breathtaking and special experience! Everything is so perfect; from the decor, to the views, to the service and let's not forget the most gorgeous doggy who stole all our hearts! We were so relaxed and comfortable that it we felt like it we were at home. I would go back in a heart beat! Thank you so much Amanzi team, we will definitely be back:)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
So glad you enjoyed your time with us and we're looking forward to having you stay with us again :) Please remember that repeat guests get priority bookings at special rates.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliznaF
Knysna, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best doggie holiday ever”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Usually, places that allow pets are the crummy ones with plastic furniture of the stoep, we were pleasantly surprised when we realised that this stunning place will allow our doggie children to accompany us. All 5 of us were in heaven. Amanzi has the most breath-taking view from the stoep, and are basically on the beach. We found the stretch of beach in from of the house to be very quiet with not many people during the day. The decor is stunning, the furniture is comfortable, overall the experience was awesome. The managers were very accommodating with our very friendly Scottish terrier that wanted to visit them almost around the hour and we felt comfortable leaving them alone one night to go for grown-up dinner without the kids. If budget allows, we will definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning stoep and view
Liked least: Not enough space for the dogs to do their business, the grass was planted only recently and made their paws dirty
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2016
For many of us, our dogs are very much part of the family and we hate the thought of leaving them behind when we go away on vacation. I'm sure you'll agree that holidays are made even better, when as a dog lover, you get to see the pure joy a dog displays from running free on the beach, sniffing so many new, interesting smells and swimming in the ocean or lagoon. So glad the whole 'family' enjoyed their stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorneLang...
Edenvale, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in October 2015

What an amazing home away from home! Friendly welcome, comfortable home, beautiful views and peaceful surroundings! Will definitely return for our next beach holiday!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2016
Ah Corne, so nice to hear from you again. We have made so many improvements to the house since your last stay, you'll just have to come and have a look.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distantsh...
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most stunning stay”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in July 2015

Oh My gosh - most amazing place to stay. I must admit that i did have an early morning display of Dolphins in the surf from my bedroom followed by a breaching whale which just topped it all for me.
The house is beautifully decorated and looked after by the caretakers. we were greeted personally and were left a bottle of win on arrival.
If I had 1 thing that I would point out to clients is that the driveway is steep into the garage ( manageable But for a nervous driver it may be daunting).
There is a lift which is great if travelling with infirm or those who find stairs an issue.
As a travel consultant I would highly recommend Amanzi Beach House :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size
Liked least: Driveway
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2016
The positive thing about having a house situated on a slope is our spectacular views (especially of dolphins & whales) but it also it also results in our driveway being rather steep.
We agree with you about forewarning our guests and have made a note of this in our booking confirmation and Welcome Letter.
Thank you for the positive review. It is particularly significant coming from an expert in the Travel industry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing