We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
107
13
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
13
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south coast place to stay plenty of space easy access to the beach home away from home surf camp outdoor shower view of the ocean great location on the beach feel right at home banana bungalow main beach stayed for nights we loved our stay relaxing stay direct access your doorstep
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful 3 night stay, unwinding and relaxing in the double bedded room.
This amazing communal surf house is located right on the beach and is nicely decorated. With clean shared bathrooms and a well equipped kitchen.
Great place to make friends!
Thank you Shani for your professional attentiveness and for always making us feel at home. Thanks also to Eunice for always having everything clean and in its place.
P.S. Please give Hansa and Savanah a scratch for us
We will definitely be back.....

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

I Absolutely loved it, the Surf house has a very homey feel. Thank you for the kind assistance... The weather may not have been in our favour but we still made the best out of our little get away, the oceanic view was remarkable and absolutely breath taking. I will definitely be back...

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank requels2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

we (4 people) booked a dorm room in the surf house through air bnb and had not expected an accomodation THAT amazing! from the photos we knew it would be beautiful but it exceeded our expectations. even saw dolphins and wales right outside the house. they have two super cute dogs at the house and we would have loved to stay longer. had a nice bbq and sat outside on the porch. super nice vibe!
definitely reccomend!

Date of stay: September 2016
1  Thank DaveB5271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisunrae, Owner at Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank You Guys, what a pleasure! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

First stop on my tour with SA Surfari. The energy of the ocean front property is very inviting. The rooms have great lighting, plenty of space, and comfortable beds. The bathrooms are very nice along with the showers, both indoor and outdoor. Staff is awesome and can help with booking activities/tours around the area. Kitchen is very clean and has ample space for cooking and storage. Epic deck for reading and yoga sessions. Lots of rental boards if you want to get out there and shred or take a surf lesson. Free wifi. 2 friendly dogs.

Date of stay: July 2016
Thank katherineastubbl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisunrae, Owner at Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Hey Katie,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review! The USH crew and the pups enjoyed having you and look forward to having you visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Umzumbe Surf House is the perfect place to spend a few nights on the KZN south coast. The house is beautifully decorated, with neat rooms and a clean shared kitchen. The balcony and deck areas are perfect to lay about reading, playing board games, eating, and drinking, and the garden leads right onto the beach. The staff were friendly and overall, it was a great stay.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PaulJ4291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisunrae, Owner at Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Thanks Paul, so glad you enjoyed it. Come back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews