We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
107
13
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
13
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south coast place to stay plenty of space easy access to the beach home away from home surf camp outdoor shower view of the ocean great location on the beach feel right at home banana bungalow main beach stayed for nights we loved our stay relaxing stay direct access your doorstep
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2016

First stop on my tour with SA Surfari. The energy of the ocean front property is very inviting. The rooms have great lighting, plenty of space, and comfortable beds. The bathrooms are very nice along with the showers, both indoor and outdoor. Staff is awesome and can help with booking activities/tours around the area. Kitchen is very clean and has ample space for cooking and storage. Epic deck for reading and yoga sessions. Lots of rental boards if you want to get out there and shred or take a surf lesson. Free wifi. 2 friendly dogs.

Date of stay: July 2016
Thank katherineastubbl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisunrae, Owner at Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Hey Katie,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review! The USH crew and the pups enjoyed having you and look forward to having you visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Umzumbe Surf House is the perfect place to spend a few nights on the KZN south coast. The house is beautifully decorated, with neat rooms and a clean shared kitchen. The balcony and deck areas are perfect to lay about reading, playing board games, eating, and drinking, and the garden leads right onto the beach. The staff were friendly and overall, it was a great stay.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PaulJ4291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisunrae, Owner at Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Thanks Paul, so glad you enjoyed it. Come back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Was in the area on business and thought i'd try something different. Although it is really a back-packers for surfers and holiday makers, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Staff were helpfull but suitably chilled. Place is right on the beach and straight out of a The Endless Summer. I stayed in a private rom within the main house, shared bathroom, but very civilised all the same. Clean and organised but relaxed and comfortable, two friendly dogs who are always up for a walk on the beach. Well done guys.

Room tip: Depends what you want, old ballies like me prefer a private room in the house rather than a dorm.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyB97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

We combined a work/surf trip at Umzumbe for a week and the Beach House served as an ideal spot to do so! Awesome coastline and super friendly staff/team made for an ideal environment - if u heading to Umzumbe, point ur steering wheel in this direction.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank justinbeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisunrae, Owner at Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

Thanks Guys, epic people, come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

My son and I went on a skateboarding and surf holiday in Kzn. We stayed at Umzumbe Surf house. The place is brilliant, plenty to do, great relaxed vibe and my boy laughed and smiled the whole time.

Our hosts ( Rich and Ali) have been fantastic.

For a well priced, relaxing and wonderful kid friendly place I highly recommend it

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisunrae, Owner at Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Thank You Stephen, you guys rock! Can't wait to see you both here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews