We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
107
13
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
13
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south coast place to stay plenty of space easy access to the beach home away from home surf camp outdoor shower view of the ocean great location on the beach feel right at home banana bungalow main beach stayed for nights we loved our stay relaxing stay direct access your doorstep
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Was in the area on business and thought i'd try something different. Although it is really a back-packers for surfers and holiday makers, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Staff were helpfull but suitably chilled. Place is right on the beach and straight out of a The Endless Summer. I stayed in a private rom within the main house, shared bathroom, but very civilised all the same. Clean and organised but relaxed and comfortable, two friendly dogs who are always up for a walk on the beach. Well done guys.

Room tip: Depends what you want, old ballies like me prefer a private room in the house rather than a dorm.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyB97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

We combined a work/surf trip at Umzumbe for a week and the Beach House served as an ideal spot to do so! Awesome coastline and super friendly staff/team made for an ideal environment - if u heading to Umzumbe, point ur steering wheel in this direction.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank justinbeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisunrae, Owner at Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

Thanks Guys, epic people, come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

My son and I went on a skateboarding and surf holiday in Kzn. We stayed at Umzumbe Surf house. The place is brilliant, plenty to do, great relaxed vibe and my boy laughed and smiled the whole time.

Our hosts ( Rich and Ali) have been fantastic.

For a well priced, relaxing and wonderful kid friendly place I highly recommend it

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisunrae, Owner at Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Thank You Stephen, you guys rock! Can't wait to see you both here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Super nice place, great garden, clean house, comfortable rooms, nice large range of surfboards on offer (short boards and beginner board), ocean on your doorstep. Really nice hosts. Very good value for money!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Afropean123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisunrae, Owner at Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank You guys. Pleasure having you. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

We searched many options along the South Coast trying to find something that was modern, relaxed, clean and on the sea front. Umzumbe Surf House is all that and more. Our room was clean, comfy and nicely decorated with a toilet right next door. Kitchen is well kitted out. The living area has ample space for all guests so you never really feel on top of the other guests but it's easy to chat to other like minded travellers. I loved the couch on the yoga deck under the big, beautiful tree outside mind! My absolute best was the outdoor shower. Love to be outdoors in the tropical weather in a well designed shower! Thanks for a great stay guys.

Room tip: The room with the queen bed is the best
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lexlndn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisunrae, Owner at Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thrilled to hear that you enjoyed it. Thank you and please come again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews