We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Base Camp for Mt. Kenya”
other traveller has booked this property
Mt Kenya with blooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mt Kenya with blooms
Mt Kenya from the porch Mt. Kenya
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Mt Kenya with blooms
Mt Kenya from the porch
Mt. Kenya
Sundowner spot
Each room has two singles combined for a king
Cozy around the fire at night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Laikipia County, Rift Valley Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
geraldwmo...
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Base Camp for Mt. Kenya”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Oustanding place to prepare for climbing. Comfortable for a place to rest, cook, sleep. Tent and house are both clean and well cared for. Vegetable garden provided excellent meals.
Security guard, day manager and housekeeper make the place 10X better than any hotel in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CionaithC...
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple and wonderful”
Reviewed 22 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The cottage is wonderfully simple ... two ensuite bedrooms separated by the living room and a kitchen. One side of the living room has a fire place which we used almost every night, along with the kerosene lamps, to add atmosphere and save the solar power for the fridge. It worked out wonderfully. Both adults and children (7 & 9) just loved the nights by the fire. When our friends from Nairobi came for a weekend, the children stayed in the safari-style tent which is perfectly suitable for adults too. 

Andrew, the gardener, was discreet but always around. Two of his children, Martin and Julius (12) were on holidays and so played with our children a lot (especially Julius). Steven, the night guard, would just say hello when he arrived before sunset but he also helped us if we had a request, especially when he put us in contact with a local ranger, Daniel, who was really helpful on our trips to Mt. Kenya (2) and the Aberdares (1). Maina got us here from Nairobi, taxied us for a shopping and arranged on very short notice a safari van to Ol Pejeta. Last but not least, Mary, the housekeeper, was always in a good mood and kept the place clean and tidy. Our children got to know her grandchildren (also on a two-week school holiday) and were facinated by her house and farm (milking cows, hens, rabbits, ...). Lucy (from next door) had a similar set-up, but also with pigeons! Before we got there, Peter (one of the co-owners, with Rex, aka Lex) was also a great help.

All in all a wonderful experience for us and hopefully, we will be back another time to enjoy more breakfasts on the terrace with a superb view of Mt. Kenya.

Cullen360

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere about the place, quiet countryside.
Liked least: No mains electricity. We worried about this a bit before arriving but when there turned this into part of the experience and we all loved it ... Fireside stories, kerosene lanterns, ...
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Reviewed 4 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing