We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveller rating
470
120
50
25
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
120
50
25
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews village pub the secret garden afternoon tea spa treatments private garden potager restaurant relaxation room cinema room sorbet hotel restaurant hydrotherapy pool potting shed homemade biscuits huge bathroom little touches mini moon rosemary verey
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 670 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017

This is couples only and we were lucky enough to have the apartment/suite with its own walled garden. A large stone bath at the bottom of a huge comfy bed and a view straight into the private garden. A huge breakfast delivered to the room and an hour in the Spa for a massage completed an awesome visit. Highly Recommended.

Room tip: The garden suite No 11 for a great experience. This has its own walled garden.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rogerCaymanIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCalcotCollection, The Team at Barnsley House at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear rogerCaymanIslands

Many thanks for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Barnsley House recently, together with your spa treatments. We do hope to see you again soon.

Regards
The Team at Barnsley House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

We have eaten here several times before and found the service and food excellent

The menu was a little limited and with several spelling mistakes and incomplete listings surely at these prices they can afford to spell check before giving out to customers

However we booked the restaurant for a friends 60th birthday meal and were disappointed with the food quality based on the price we paid of £60 a head I have eaten better food with a wider choice for half the cost

The food served tasted ok but a basic presentation for example the beef Wellington was served on a large plate with nice pastry crust but very soggy based and tasteless mushroom filling and a simple mashed potato on an what meant to be purple sprouting was basic sprouting

A nice ambiance spoilt by lack lustre food and presentation. Save your money and go somewhere that earns its cost

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank AshtonJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I booked Barnsley House to host my husband's 60th Birthday weekend in February 2017. It was utterly fabulous from start to finish.

The experience started with a supremely efficient events organiser (Elise) who produced a spreadsheet for the event cataloguing every detail weeks in advance. When we arrived at the hotel, our guests were greeted by delightful staff who couldn't help enough (including Georgia and Emmanuel). There isn't any air of pretension - even restaurant managers offer to help carry bags with smiles and welcoming words. We basically filled the hotel so had the benefit of seeing most of the rooms. The top end rooms are virtually self-contained flats (even the more modest rooms are very spacious) and beautifully decorated in natural/neutral tones. All have large bathrooms and lots of character. The food is also excellent, relying heavily on produce from the hotel's own pretty and immaculately tended gardens. A few of our guests had spa treatments (including myself) and my very reasonably priced massage (from Katie) was pure heaven. We had booked the Rosemary Verey suite and had afternoon tea for our 22 guests in there. It worked very well, with the staff setting up and clearing very efficiently. We also ate in the hotel pub (accompanied by hotel staff with torches to light our way) and had a celebratory dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday. Again, the food was superb (thank you Victor) and matched by the sensitivity of the waiting staff (including Paul, Tomak and Sarah) who worked discretely around the ongoing speeches and carefully cleared away while we partied until the small hours. The attention to detail is such that I had mislaid one of the name cards for a guest but by the time I returned with a replacement, the hotel had already written one, complete with her menu choices on the back. While we were there we also enjoyed a film in the Hotel's cinema, to which the Emmanuel brought drinks and fresh popcorn.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Hotel for your special occasion. We've stayed in a few top-end boutique hotels but Barnsley House is one of (if not) the best. It manages to combine everything you want from a luxury hotel with the warmth and approachability of one that is much smaller. The staff treat each guest with the utmost care and attention and move heaven and earth to make your stay the best that it can be. We will be back.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carol2948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCalcotCollection, The Team at Barnsley House at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Hello Carole2948

Many thanks for your recent review following your stay to celebrate your husbands 60th birthday. We are very pleased that you and your guests had an enjoyable time. At Barnsley House we do pride ourselves on our house becoming our guests home away from home and that you all enjoyed the gardens, afternoon tea in the Rosemary Verey Suite, dinner at both the Potager and Village pub all topped off with a movie and popcorn in our private cinema.

We do hope to see you, your family and friends at Barnsley House soon.

Kind regards
The Barnsley House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Had very high hopes for Barnsely House having read great reviews both on here and in CNTraveller. It is a relatively nice small boutique hotel but anyone expecting any sort of luxury 4/5 star experience (which at the price point of £500ish for a deluxe room is not unreasonable) will be disappointed.

Location - Yes it is in village in the Cotswolds, but it overlooks (100m away) a fairly busy country road going through the village which I found to be loud and not exactly the country idyll I was dreaming of. To mitigate this I would request a room facing out of the back of the Hotel. The Gardens were fairly tatty compared to other Hotels of similar caliber, and were rather small. The hotel does not really have much of its own grounds. They definitely need to hire some more groundsmen / gardeners as outdoor areas looked run down and unloved. Appreciate it's February but no reason to let standards slip.

Room - nice but smaller than expected, some of the décor was well done, but attention to detail really let it down. Clumps of exposed wires from phones, cheap (and slightly broken) cabinet for the fridge etc. A whirring fridge that I had to turn off every night. Already used large bottles of soap in the bathroom, instead of small personal toiletries. Small things indeed, but irritating none the less.

Restaurant - woefully average food, not particularly good value. Under seasoned, overcooked, think elements had been microwaved and couldn't even do that right. Probably most disappointing element of whole stay.

The first night we got to the Hotel there wasn't enough hot water for a bath - not great given the bathrooms are some of the main selling points in the rooms. Was going to take it up with reception in the morning but in the morning there appeared to be enough and didn't want to cause a fuss.

Staff were mostly friendly and enthusiastic, but potentially not trained up to the same level as other similar hotels.

It wasn't that I thought it was a bad hotel, just nowhere near as good as it should / could have been. Every element of the stay was a solid, 3 stars out of 5, where I had been hoping for 4-5 given the price point and the other options available. Can't see myself returning.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenneth7654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCalcotCollection, The Team at Barnsley House at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Hello Kenneth

Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you stay wasn’t as you expected. Please do get in touch directly with our General Manager, Michele with any concerns you have. He would also to hear about your travels and other hotels where you have stayed.

Kind regards
The Team at Barnsley House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We were only here one night. The place oozes charm. Room was spacious with cute windows looking over the backyard. We enjoyed the spa facilities. Lack of a 5th star was due to a few instances of poor service that seemed related to them having a large party at the property (for a wedding I think). The Sunday night movie advertised on the website did not happen. We were "lucky" to be allowed a seat to eat at their pub even though the website says you never need a reservation for the pub. And we had drinks on their back patio after checking in. The scene was lovely and we were relaxed and prepared to spend a lot of time there but I had to get up 3 times in the course of an hour to get any service, they simply couldn't seem to remember we were out there.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darwin96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCalcotCollection, The Team at Barnsley House at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Hello Darwin96

Many thanks for your review and your comments regarding Barnsley House’s charm and cuteness. However, we are sorry that the service wasn’t to yours or our standard. The team have been advised and we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards
The Team at Barnsley House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews