We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 073)
Filter reviews
2 073 results
Traveller rating
1 092
522
267
122
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 092
522
267
122
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sands restaurant building work private beach no lift beach bar sea view st ives secret escapes reception staff coastal path restaurant staff stunning location the main hotel spa treatments heated pool lovely hotel travelzoo deal
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 2 073 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2019 via mobile

My Wife and I recently visited for a meal in the Sands restaurant to celebrate our wedding anniversary and again we were not disappointed. We got married at the Carbis Bay three years ago so decided to return here after many previous fantastic visits.
The food was absolutely amazing and could not fault one bit. The staff were very welcoming and Daniel in the restaurant was particularly brilliant being very attentive and professional throughout the evening.
We will certainly be returning in the near future. First class.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineD3617, Front Office Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2019

Dear Dan,
A fabulous 5 star review - thank you so much and Happy Wedding Anniversary again!
We are delighted you had such a good evening with us and good to hear you won't be waiting until the next anniversary before you come again!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and had dinner in Sands restaurant one night. Impeccable service and amazing food. Beautiful location right on the beach. Staff are all brilliant and a credit to the hotel. Thank you and well done Carbis Bay

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 179nickir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineD3617, Front Office Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2019

Thank you too for such a lovely review!
Do visit us again soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019 via mobile

Myself, husband and in laws stayed for a one night stay in the apartments which are located a short 2minute walk from the main hotel building. Check in was smooth and the apartment was welcoming and clean throughout. The bathroom would benefit from a little maintenance/refurb as it was starting to look a bit dated but perfectly adequate. Our evening meal was very pleasant. Portion sizes are small but the quality was high. The Ferris wheel of fun sounded great but we did regret that option, lots of elements but none executed well. The cake & coffee in the beach side restaurant was delicious. On Saturday we visited the spa and had treatments booked. On arrival it became apparent how small the spa actually is. The changing rooms are frankly a disgrace, one toilet and one shower! The floor space to get changed offers no privacy and is probably 2m squared. We were informed there was no lockers available and we'd have to use the gents. The reception staff took our coats to hang them up and when I needed something out of the pocket it became apparent they weren't hung up but I stead chucked on the floor behind the reception door. I swiftly asked for the staff to find a hook as it wasn't acceptable. A hydrotherapy pool which fits 6 comfortably but any more than that in my opinion feels a little uncomfortable. The couples treatment we had was ok for the money in comparison to other spas. Treatment staff were friendly. The extent of the spa facilities is an outdoor swimming pool, small hydrotherapy pool and a pod sauna. The hotel element, dinner and location were good. The overall spa experience was disappointing. After spending £500 on treatments we were charged £16 for four coffees!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank l0ren21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineD3617, Front Office Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2019

We note your comments on our Spa which always receives very great praise and has just won a prestigious award. We are looking into the points you raise and regret your disappointment. It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your accommodation and food; also our stunning location. We hope you will return to Carbis Bay to enjoy these aspects again or even to our Gannet Inn, which is also highly acclaimed.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

We booked a night away at the Carbis Bay hotel using Groupon which included dinner & a standard room. I only wish we had upgraded the room. Tiny room which had the tiniest shower room, you actually have to manoeuvre yourself sideways to use the toilet, which is a couple of inches from a wall in front of you....has to be seen! This was the only negative and the only reason I wouldn’t rate 5 stars.
Receptionist was very friendly & welcoming, a real asset to the hotel. Spa facilities are outside so not ideal in winter but I’m sure would be great when it warms up a bit.
Ordered a gin before our meal which was served in the wrong glass and therefore put me off ordering cocktails. Dinner was very nice, not amazing but ‘nice.’ Menu was a little bit too fussy and the atmosphere wasn’t so relaxed with being seated very close together. Staff were very friendly but don’t know why they try to put everyone together in one part of the restaurant?
Breakfast was very good and a choice of where to sit which made for a very relaxed, enjoyable start to the day.
Overall would definitely recommend & have done already. Will book a better room next time.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank catsar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineD3617, Front Office Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2019

We note all your comments and thank you for recommending us already!
Do come again when you can - we have a very wide range of different accommodation possibilities, many with stunning sea views...
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

My husband and I had the fantastic opportunity to stay in one of Carbis Bay Hotels Luxury Lodges for a night. Well...where to begin...We arrived at around 4 and were warmly welcomed. Once checked in, a lovely lady showed us the facilities of the hotel and explained that we could make use of the Carbis Bay Spa facility’s and where breakfast.

Following on we were shown to our Luxury Lodge (No.3) which was ours for the night. We were guided around all three levels, the top deck which accommodated our own exclusive hot tub.

Second level accommodating three spacious bedrooms with on suite bathrooms, two of which overlook Carbis Bay beach and one with its own skylight.

Continuing to the ground level having the large open plan living, dining and kitchen area leading out through the large sliding doors straight onto the private patio area which in turn has its own private path to the beach itself! No more than around 20 steps and you can place your feet into the lovely golden sand!

There is so many amazing touches to these lodges I do not know where to begin!
The spiral staircase interlinking each level seamlessly. The touch panels controlling heating and lighting which included daylight or night modes. The glass balcony on the second level which has non visible supporting brackets to provide a seamless unobstructed view of the sea from the bed! Homemade lemon drizzle which welcomed us and not forgetting after about an hour the doorbell rang and I was greeted by two lovely ladies who came down and provided us with a complimentary glass of bubbly and canopies.

The whole lodge is just luxury throughout from the beautiful tasteful decor and super comfortable furnishing to the Bang and Olufsen television in the living area, GHD hair straighteners and Dyson Hair-dyers, private hot tub, charging dock which pulls out of the kitchen counter, the beautiful fire, roll top bath in the master bedroom and the walk in shower which it’s own window so you can still see the sea whilst showering! even the little sewing kit in the drawer, a lodge tablet where you can book treatments at the Spa and much much more!

For the evening we booked a table at the Beach Club, having the meat platter to share for starter and sea bass for mains, the service and food did not disappoint. Exceptionally tasty and would book again.

In the morning after watching the sunrise from the hot tub! We made our way to the Carbis Bay conservatory for breakfast, helping ourself to the continental before our order was taken for our cooked breakfast. Staff couldn’t of been more attentive, topping up coffee without having to ask and clearing the plates from our continental selection.

Could not recommend enough. Thank you to all at Carbis Bay Hotel and Spa for an unforgettable stay I only wish I could upload all of the photos I took!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank perry1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineD3617, Front Office Manager at Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2019

Your extensive review is amazing - thank you so much for re-living your lodge experience.
We really appreciate your recommendation - we have to agree, our lodges are really to be stayed in, to be believed - they are our absolute premium beachside treasures!
We do hope you will visit us again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews