We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical.”

Review of The White Tower

The White Tower of Taymouth Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The White Tower of Taymouth Castle
Who said fairy tales don't exist? Spectacular views no matter where you look
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The White Tower of Taymouth Castle
Who said fairy tales don't exist?
Spectacular views no matter where you look
Modern Kitchen
Dine on the terrace
Living Room
Rooftop Hot Tub
Master Bedroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
An amazing intimate venue for small weddings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kenmore, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
coppergre...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Magical.”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We went here on honeymoon. I have travelled quite a bit, my wife is no stranger to the better things in life. I honestly cannot fault the place, it's not perfect but it was so near perfect and clearly tried to be so, it deserved some slack. The views are sublime, as close to an Alp experience as you will get in the UK. Sauna, Jacuzzi on the roof with very little light pollution. A credit to the owners, you are almost scared to go back in case it's not quite as perfect next time. Idyllic. I miss my little tower already...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benitoDal...
dalgety fife
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Thaumaturgic”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Spent a fairytale weekend here in the snow,sitting in the hot tub with the flakes floating and a roaring log fire to kick back and chill with a neat Dewars.
The surrounding area is stunning, just don't go to the Queens View as it was shut when we went!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littletra...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very own castle...”
Reviewed 31 December 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Dreamy, fairy-tale like, quietly magnificent... That's only from the outside! Spent a lovely few days here, sauna - great, hot tub on the roof - wow! And what a view from the top. Very unusual but would defo recommend if you are looking to get away from it all as it is very peaceful but only a five minutes drive to get down to the Mains of Taymouth restaurant and shop. We also went to the riding stables, another couple of minutes away from the restaurant, and the girls were lovely and we went for a a great hack and had a very fast gallop along the back of the fields on our way home, was great to blow the cobwebs away! Can't wait to come back to this area. Travelled here in march 09.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
himalheid...
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A fairytale hideaway”
Reviewed 8 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

My partner booked this as a surprise as I've always wanted to stay in a castle with a tower and turrets - The White Tower surpassed all my expectations and dreams.... I would have never dreamed of a hot tub on the tower roof!

I love the design and attention to detail that has been put into the set-up; from the sauna downstairs to the kitchen gadgets and candles on the roof, it was just wonderful. We enjoyed beautiful weather, watching the sunset and starry sky from the roof top hot tub, the deer in the forest in the morning and the most beautiful winter munro scenery.

The location is perfect - isolated enough to make it a great hideaway from stressful jobs, but close enough to restaurants, a large deli and of course lots of munros. On our last night, it snowed pretty heavily, and the property manager rang on our morning of departure, to check whether we wanted somebody sending up to the tower to make tracks in the snow for our car to get back to the road easily. A lovely touch!

There is enough room for four people to share the property, but I can fully understand why there were so many guest comments talking about marriage proposals, honeymoons and birthday treats - it's just the ultimate romantic Scottish hideaway. It will be hard to top this perfect little haven, so I'm looking forward to the next stay there already.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a fabulous place”
Reviewed 27 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I have had the great pleasure of staying here for my 50th birthday. On arrival there was a bottle of Bubbly waiting plus other 'little extras'.
The white tower is quality! The owners have put an enormous amount of thought into this wonderful secluded retreat. The views from the turrets are magnificent, the accommodation first class, the property itself very comfortable indeed.
Loved the Spa at the very top, what a bonus! Would definitely recommend this place, worth every cent! Will be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$462
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing