We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Wales Gem”
Review of Folly Farm

Folly Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Begelly
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If you are looking for a fun and educational family day out in Wales then there is nowhere better than Folly Farm! With a zoo, farm, fairground and indoor and outdoor adventure play you'll leave understanding why it has twice been voted 'Best Family Day Out in Pembrokeshire and Wales'.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Visited with 4 adults ages 25 - 60, 4 children ages 3 - 11.

Plenty of parking, easy entrance, especially if you've booked on line.

Once inside, plenty to see and do for all.

Animals all looked comfortable in their enclosures; and the keepers I met seemed to care about them and were more than happy to spend 2 minutes discussing them. All ages enjoyed the mix of animals to enjoy, from Lions, Monkeys, Penguins & Rhino to Sheep, Lambs, Shetland Ponies to Cockroaches!

Plenty of ships / castles for the youngsters to burn out on outdoors, and a cracking climbing / adventure frame inside.

Old style fairground rides also available under cover, at a cost.

Food was a decent quality, and considering you are a captive audience, I found it all good value as well.

In West Wales with a mixed age group, give it a go.

1  Thank Cymru13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FollyFarm, PR Officer at Folly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

What great feedback - thanks so much for taking the time to post a review.
I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your day with us and were impressed with everything from parking, to the array of animals and activities available.
The animals are indeed at the heart of what we do here and are very much loved and cared for by the great team of keepers that care for them daily - I'm pleased their pride in their job and the animals they look after was apparent when chatting to them, I'll be sure to pass this on.
It's great to hear you felt the play areas were plentiful to entertain little ones and that you enjoyed our food offering and found it good value for money.
Thank you again for taking the time to post a review and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Emma Owen
PR Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4 628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"all ages"
in 553 reviews
"fairground rides"
in 186 reviews
"value for money"
in 336 reviews
"big wheel"
in 176 reviews
"the barn"
in 135 reviews
"great family day"
in 155 reviews
"go karts"
in 183 reviews
"goat"
in 83 reviews
"half price"
in 105 reviews
"animal enclosures"
in 70 reviews
"land train"
in 102 reviews
"annual pass"
in 80 reviews
"pay extra"
in 83 reviews
"under cover"
in 73 reviews
"indoor play area"
in 147 reviews
"rain or shine"
in 72 reviews
"visit folly"
in 64 reviews
Filter

513 - 517 of 4 628 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Considering it’s in Wales and it rains the majority of the time there was a lack of indoor facilities to see the animals ,
The ones available where a bit small and got through it quickly bit cheap and tacky to be fair for the price you pay to get with a family of 4 leading to go on my next topic going on rides cost more money ? Why ?
Already paying a hefty sum at the door .
The main thing my children enjoyed it but don’t see value for money when it stated it was cheaper online but if I paid at door it would have cost me 4 pound less ?

Thank Ieuan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FollyFarm, PR Officer at Folly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, although naturally I’m disappointed to receive your comments. It’s always disheartening to hear when guests have had anything less than a great day with us but thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond.
I am slightly confused by your feedback regarding entry prices. Just to clarify, our online tickets are discounted by 15% from on the day admission prices at the entrance so it is always cheaper to buy your tickets online. You are welcome to contact us via email with more information if you think you have been charged the incorrect amount.
I’m sorry you felt there wasn’t enough opportunity to see our animals in rainy weather. I must say this feedback is in stark contrast to the majority of other reviews we receive praising how much there is to see and do regardless of what the weather has in store with 50% of attractions being undercover. This includes our huge barn filled with farmyard animals including ponies, sheep, pigs, chickens, barn owls, goats and lots more. We also have our Folly Interactive centre which houses some of the more exotic creatures on the zoo such as snakes, spiders, our sloth, fruit bats, macaws and lots more.
We have designed many of our exhibits on the zoo with wet weather viewing in mind – with sheltered areas available at our giraffes, penguins, lions, bongo, camel, meerkat and rhino enclosures. All of our animals have access to indoor and outdoor areas of their enclosures at all times so essentially it is up to them where they choose to be – but even when they choose to be indoors there are viewing windows into their houses so guests can still see them. Please note our online tickets are open-dated for three months so guests can choose to postpone their visit if the weather forecast is bad as was the case with the yellow weather warning for rain all over the bank holiday weekend.
I’m sorry you were also disappointed that there was an additional charge for rides. This information is clearly stated on our marketing literature and is not included in the entrance fee for a couple of reasons. Firstly, it helps keeps the entrance price as low as possible for all guests which makes it fair to those who cannot or choose not to make full use of our rides. Secondly, it helps avoid large queues forming at the rides more often associated with theme parks. The rides are operated on a token system and at 50p per token with rides costing only 1-2 tokens per person, we feel the fair is still great value for money – especially when compared to travelling fairs that can charge £2-£3 per person. Plus we feel guests are more easily able to manage their budget. Most guests comment on how much there is to see and do without spending any extra in the fair.
Included in the entrance price is our farm, land train tractor ride, zoo, numerous indoor and outdoor play areas plus keeper talks, goat milking sessions, meet and greets and a theatre show. The rides are the only activity not included but I’m sure you can appreciate that there is a full day’s worth of fun to be had even without visiting this area.
I hope this information helps to assure you of our best intentions and clarifies our pricing structure.

Kind regards
Emma Owen
PR Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Visited here whilst spending time in wales at the recommendation of my partners work colleagues- wasn’t sure what to expect but we had a fabulous day!
Excellent value for money, amazing variety of animals and the vintage fun fair is brilliant! Will definitely visit again on our next trip to wales.

Thank roz956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FollyFarm, PR Officer at Folly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to post a review. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your day with us and felt we were great value for money.
It's also lovely to hear you impressed with the array of animals and attractions available.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards
Emma Owen
PR Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I took my family here on Easter Sunday, whilst staying in South Wales for the Easter break, not expecting a great experience.
How wrong could I be?!
After getting our tickets online (recommended, as you get a 15% discount and just show a barcode on your phone at the ticket office), we strolled into the park.
We started with the Zoo. It suggests 1-2 hours here. Definitely took us that long.
Then we went to the indoor vintage funfair - well, what a blast from the past for adults, but equally as engaging for the kids!
On to the farm - which was lovely to see the newborn lambs, but the rest of the encumbants looked so comfortable and healthy. A joy!
We didn't go on to the main funfair, as members of the party cannot go on the 'big rides' - but took the underpass to the landtrain on a free 15 minute ride around the 'other' farmland of the park.

All in all a great day out - in a CLEAN, well-organised park, with tons of facilities, from toilets; food-stops; sanitisation stations; seating and, importantly, waste bins. Hence, the cleanliness of the park.

Well done to ALL THE STAFF of Folly Farm who clearly CARE about the park and its inhabitants!!!

Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FollyFarm, PR Officer at Folly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Wow - what fantastic feedback. Firstly, I'm delighted that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed a fun-filled family day with us.
It's wonderful to hear that you were impressed with all aspects of your visit - from the cleanliness of the park, array of facilities, catering outlets and all of the fabulous attractions. I know the team will appreciate your wonderful praise as they work so hard to maintain our high standards - it's very rewarding to receive such positive feedback.
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Emma Owen
PR Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Recently visited Folly Farm whilst on holiday and was by far the best place we went to. Would recommend without hesitation and would certainly return if ever in the area again.
Thought the entry price was very reasonable given that we spent all day here and still hadn't done everything on offer (we chose not to pay for the extra rides given our daughter was only 2 but in fairness we didn't really have time anyway as there is so much to do).
My daughter loved it, as did we. Everywhere was clean and the animals appeared happy and well looked after - which is not always the case in these types of places. Staff were friendly and helpful. Honestly cannot praise this place enough!
In response to the reviews moaning about cost of food and merchandise it is only what is standard at these types of attractions and you don't have to spend the money. There is a barn for picnics if you want to bring your own food so no problem even if it is raining.
Thank you for a wonderful day.

Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FollyFarm, PR Officer at Folly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

What wonderful feedback - thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm delighted to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to us including what great value for money we are, how much there is to see and do that's included in the entry price and how friendly our wonderful staff are - but it's especially rewarding to receive such lovely praise regarding our animals and enclosures. The animals are at the heart of what we do and they are all very loved by all the staff that care for them daily - I know they'll be delighted to hear your comments
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Emma Owen
PR Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Folly Farm also viewed

 

Been to Folly Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing