We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flamingo Lake Self Catering
Nearby Hotels
Arabella Hotel & Spa(Kleinmond)
US$241
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$89
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$257
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Pines Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
US$805
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
40
36
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
36
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild horsesclose to naturekitchen utensilsbraai areaenjoyed our staybreathtaking scenerylog cabinwonderful breakminutes drive awayan easy drivepeace and quietcomplimentary bottle of winefantastic locationnature reservecomfortable stayspent nightscomfortable beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2017

For the price Flamingo Lake offers the perfect weekend getaway. Peaceful surroundings and absolutely wonderful scenery (bird-life incl.) made for a perfect rest and rejuvenation. The weather was great except for one very windy day that we used for kite flying. The bungalow we stayed in was cosy and well cleaned when we arrived. This is definitely a place we'll return to -- hopefully soon. Thank you Lee Wells for an absolutely wonderful break for the rat race :)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank redewaanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Awesome setting and view. We loved everything about it. We never cooked there other than tea/coffee but I can imagine that we may have needed a few more kitchen utensils had we been cooking. Beds are comfortable but pillows are very flat, next time I will bring my own.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank francisg875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Such a beautiful setting and we were lucky enough to see both the wild horses and the Flamingo's.

We stayed in bungalow 5 which was set out of the wind but without a view, however steps up to the seating area afforded superb views of the bay.

The bottle of wine was a nice touch and much appreciated as was the offer to check out late.

The information files in the bungalow were extremely helpful and well laid out.

However what stopped us giving a very good or excellent was the condition of the bungalow it wasn't so much dirty but shabby and really needed some TLC.

The bathroom showed signs of wear and tear as did other parts of the bungalow but nothing that a little bit of that TLC couldn't sort out in no time at all.

The table mats looked as though someone had used them as a cutting/chopping board and really needed replacing.

Overall it was a extremely comfortable and relaxing stay and we would return hoping housekeeping had upped its game.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CookRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had a lovely weekend at Flamingo Lake. The location was perfect. We loved sitting in our garden watching the sunset and the birds. The accommodation met all our needs. Comfortable and clean, fully equipped kitchen. Added bonuses were a complimentary bottle of wine, use of the kayaks and being able to check out in the afternoon. We had a lovely, restful weekend away. We highly recommend the place and have nothing negative to say. Thank you to Lee for being an excellent host, even though you weren't there you still made sure everything was perfectly organized

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Once again we had a wonderful weekend away at Flamingo Lake. It was even more beautiful than we remembered it. My hubby was saying we should make it a more regular getaway and I agree. Even my 18 year old appreciated the beauty of the place and the comfort of the accommodation. Rondavel 3 had everything we needed with a braai area just outside where we enjoyed our evenings standing by the fire listening to the waves crashing on the shore. Thanks Lee for wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingolake, Owner at Flamingo Lake Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Thanks Janine, I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed it even more on your second visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews