We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$155
View deal
Expedia.com
US$129
View deal
Hotels.com
US$129
View deal
TravelocityUS$129
PricelineUS$130
travelup.comUS$199
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 433)
Filter reviews
1 433 results
Traveller rating
482
591
231
77
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
482
591
231
77
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view on the rocks lounge area restaurants within walking distance a bit pricey hotel is lovely spa terrace pity taxis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1 433 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2020 via mobile

The hotel is located very nice, right overseeing the sea. We had a balcony with sea view, which is very nice with beautiful sunrise.
Very clean room and good room mate. The linen and towels were changed daily and it was always great to get back to the room.

We ordered a btl of Prosecco, we even didn't step into the room, the attendant delivered it. Without a welcome or any word it was placed on the table.

We didn't take breakfast until the last day and it was an awful experience. Either there was not enough staff or the staff is not skilled enough. I had to ask twice to get a simple coffee. The queue for the breakfast buffet was incredible long because only 2 staff were serving at the buffet.

Overall a very good hotel with lack on f&b service skills.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank SMichael12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giacomo Viali, Agenzia/Consulente at Grand Hotel Baia Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank your for your stay and for taking time to write this your message. We are sorry your breakfast experience was not fully appreciated even if we think your feedback was too severe about it.
We daily work hard in order to offer the best service especially during this period so we can't accept our work has been defined "horrible". The Prosecco service is managed by attention and discretion so we are sorry it was not perceived by you.
Thank you & Best Regards
Grand Hotel Baia Verde Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2020 via mobile

Starting from the good things, the hotel has a unique position on the sea with private beach and a big pool.

It could be a great hotel, but it was a complete nightmare.

Upon arrival we were given an awful room for a 4 star hotel and for the price paid. Car park view, double bed with separate mattresses, old toilet, definitely not a 4 star.

Then, we go for a snack by the pool. A simple salad was 16€ (18€ for a Caesar salad) and water 5€. To put into context, in ANY similar place in Sicily a salad like that would range between 6€ and 8€. The salad was served in a Tesco-like plastic bowl with plastic cutleries, mono dose cheap oil, etc (see the picture attached). It felt like a joke. When I asked the waiter why such crazy prices for simple food, he said with somewhat arrogance: “it’s like in piazza San Marco in Venice, you pay for the location”. Well clearly that was not piazza San Marco... He also said that the plastic bowl was for Covid reasons.
Generally, I don’t think you can price a salad 16€ but if you do so at least serve on decent plates (or decent plastic plates).

After this experience, we go to the spa (main reason why we chose this hotel) and find out that the spa is closed. This was not written on the website nor told us when we booked. Also, even if it was open, it would have been 20€ per person to get in. So, if you see beautiful spa pics on the website don’t erroneously think it’s included in the price.

Finally, we went for dinner in Catania and, when when we came back to the hotel, the car park was full (because it’s also used by external people going to the restaurant). It took us 30 minutes to park...

Breakfast was bad to say the least. Old bred, disgusting eggs and generally very low low quality food.

To conclude, we have never felt so ripped off. This could be a great place but it’s run to overcharge turists with the excuse of having a nice location.

Would not recommend it to anyone

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rixku
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giacomo Viali, Agenzia/Consulente at Grand Hotel Baia Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2020

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to inform us about your dissatisfaction during your last stay with us.
Your reports help us to have a discussion with all the departments: we always really pay attention to criticism given by our guests, in order to get the best professional growth and improvements.
Anyway, we are very sorry about your reviews we think are too harsh.
The assigned room type (classic) reflected the type booked. We have different kind of rooms but we think none of them can be considered "awful". Regarding the beds composition, if your need had been reported to us, we would have been promptly ready to intervene to fix the problem.
We would also like to thank you for giving us this opportunity to specify that, although the normal check-in and check-out times are after 03.00pm and within 10.00am respectively, we were able to allow you to access the room for free two hours before compared to normal hours and to leave one hour later.
As for the problem with the pool bar area, we apologize for the perhaps inappropriate reply of our colleague; however we wish to clarify that we believe our prices are commensurate with the place and area in which we are located and the type of service we offer. In addition, the applied prices are expressly indicated in all the menu proposals that the staff presented to you before taking the order and on the basis of which you could have chosen whether and what to order.
The use of the plastic plate is foreseen by the anti-Coronavirus protocol that, in the outside service, requires using disposable and duly covered materials, for hygienic-sanitary reasons.
Always with a view to the attentions dedicated to you, we want to remind that, following your disappointment, our Barman had the pleasure of offering you a drink.
The wellness area is open and currently available for beauty treatments and massages. The wet area is temporarily unavailable in accordance with anti-covid rules. Anyway the spa use is subject to booking and availability check.
We are finally sorry if something during the breakfast time was not appreciated as we always pay attention to the quality of our products. It's one of the most important aspects of our service and we would never have served low quality food. Then, our breakfast room staff is always available in order to best suit all of our guests needs.
Overcharging our prices is not in our way of thinking and working. We firmly believe our services are good value for money. We have deep respect for all those who choose to spend their time with us. We are sorry that this has not been perceived by you.
Thank you & Best Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2020 via mobile

We came here to spend the New Year. The hotel is modern, clean, and comfortable. The food was also good, although the restaurant was a bit pricey (we had dinner at the restaurant apart from the New Year’s dinner). The hotel has a fantastic view of the sea but if you intend to visit the city center of Catania, it is a bit far, buses run few & far between, and the taxis area bit pricey. Finally, the hotel reception staff were quite disorganized. Due to some misunderstanding of their own making, it took us about an hour to do the check-out. It’s a pity because the experience was otherwise positive.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank filtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giacomo Viali, Agenzia/Consulente at Grand Hotel Baia Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you to spend your time in our hotel. It was a pleasure having hosted you and we are happy to know your experience with us was appreciated.
Regarding our restaurant prices they are usually commensurate with the area and the place we are located on. Furthermore in this specific case we planned a special wide menu for the New Year's Dinner.
On the check-out point of view we are sorry if something was not fully appreciated. It sounds strange to hear an hor to check-out. If it seems longer thatn normal it was probably due to a particular influx of people and we apologize about that. Message like your is important because it can allow us to improve in order to offer an even better service.
Hoping to welcome you again in the future, we offer our
Best Regards
Grand Hotel Baia Verde Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2019

We enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel situated on the rocky coast with beautiful views and pretty terraced patios all along the ocean. Food was outstanding in the restaurant, breakfast was good with a very nice staff. My "complaints" are that it's hard to shower without getting water on the floor due to the configuration of the shower door and they don't provide a coffee/tea pot in the room with complimentary coffee, tea, sugar etc. But, this was a great home base for our 5 day stay in Sicily and we enjoyed the beautiful weather and seeing the sights.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baiaverde, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Baia Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind message and for your stay in our hotel during your time in Sicily. We are glad to know your experience suited your expectations.
At the mean time shower issue you mentioned sounds strange to us but we would have been willing to check it. Message like yours is important to us because let us improving in our service in order to offer an even beter stay to all of our guests.
Hoping to meet you again at Grand Hotel Baia Verde in the future, we offer
Best Regards
Grand Hotel Baia Verde Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2019

We were very happy with our four night stay at this hotel. The hotel is lovely and staff very friendly. We booked a sea view room with a balcony. This provided us with a spectacular view of the sea. The breakfast was plentiful and on nice days we ate outside looking out over the sea.

The only downside of this hotel is that there are not many good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Parking in Catania is tricky and it would have been nice if we could have dined without driving.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Inspiration764976
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baiaverde, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Baia Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2019

Dear Guests,
First of all we would really like to thank you for your kind message and for choosing our hotel for your stay. It was a real pleisure hosting you and we are happy to know from your message your experience with us suited your needs and expectations.
It would have been a pleasure to have welcomed you to our restaurant to let you taste our restaurant with its cuisine and typical local products.
Hoping to welcome you again in the future, we offer our
Best Regards
Grand Hotel Baia Verde Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews