We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
155
208
83
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
208
83
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews saga holiday saga lounge private beach old town hotel is modern hot food free safe kept spotlessly clean montenegro trip plenty of wardrobe space hotel bar veal the main road neighbouring hotel walled town hour transfer free sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Rooms are spacious and clean but the views are of other hotels as it is surrounded by them. Pool is okay but a little small and not big enough for the hotel. Restaurant is not so good as it cannot cope with the number of guests. It is too small and chaotic and the tables are not being reset quickly enough with guests having to source cutlery themselves. Restaurant staff seem to be leaderless and badly trained. Choice of food is good but long queues in a serving area which is too small is a disaster. Different sitting times would help if organised properly. Could be such a good hotel but let down by its dining experience.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank andysimmons7809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Hotel looks nice. But hope you're not in the outside villas, since there a walk to the main building. Also, make sure there an accessible entrance, in case you need such.
There was flood in our shower. We asked for maintenance. A guy came and said it is fixed. It wasn't. I asked again to fix it. After a while, the guy came again and started shouting at me that it is ok... Surreal...

Hotel restaurant is nice. Wine is free at dinner.

Overall, not a very pleasant experience, in a country full of wonderful experiences. Amazing place to visit, but you can probably find a better hotel.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Omerl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

I had a lot of apprehension about going to Tara due to the negative comments on Trip Advisor but have to say that we had an amazing two weeks here at this wonderful hotel. Located in a very good area, it was kept spotlessly clean.
Our room was brilliant, very spacious, neat & tidy. We had a balcony so we spent a bit of time sitting there admiring the beautiful Adriatic - ask for room 327 if you can!!
Yes, it is used by SAGA & the European equivalents but that didn't spoil it for us - there are plenty of younger people go there too.
Sunbeds were free at TARA beach & were plentiful too, yes it will be crowded in high season but is that not commonplace in other countries too?
The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was a bother to them, I have to say that I found them very pleasant too.
I read that there was a "very busy road" to cross before one reached the Magnolia Villas - what a load of rubbish - it was a little lane!! Yes, the main road which is further away was busy but no more so than the roads in this country..
Some reviewers said that the Staff were rude but I disagree most strongly, the rudeness came from some of the guests who clearly don't know how to queue & think it's ok to push in front of someone who is patiently waiting their turn.

Would I go back? Yes, most definitely and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it.

Thank you Tara for giving me & my other half a most enjoyable, unforgettable holiday...

Stayed: September 2018
1  Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

The hotel itself is fine. The rooms clean and reasonable size but we had to ask for blackout curtains as lights from the neighbouring hotel made sleep really difficult our first night. Thankfully we are on a Saga holiday and the rep was persistent in getting them to fit blackout curtains. The massive let down is the restaurant. It is badly managed and cannot cope with the number of visitors. At times there were 20 people queuing for the hot food counter and the same for coffee. That isn't acceptable for a 4 star hotel. We tried going later but they can't keep pace with resetting the tables. Also the food at best is only adequate. Absolutely nothing memorable and mostly lukewarm. We did complain to the manager who assured us that it would be better the next day. It couldn't be as this would require major refitting.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

We spent one week at Tara at the end of September. We had room 34 in the annex. The room is on the ground floor with the window shielded by walls on both sides and bushes and trees in front of it, which makes the room dark. There was damp and mold on the wall in one corner and it affected the air in the room. The bathroom smelt badly when we came in. The furniture was well worn and the veneer was flaking off everywhere. The beds were comfortable. We kept our toiletries in the wardrobe because there was very little room for them in the bathroom. There was a safe in the room, big enough to accommodate a tablet. The TV had two hundred channels including English news and film channels. WiFi was good and the AC worked fine. Our strong opinion is that a room in this condition should never occur in a four-star hotel.
We stayed on half board. The food was okay but the selection was somewhat limited, e.g. the only seafood was fried fish, not always good. Half board included wine, juice and water. The red wine was of good quality. The restaurant was nice but the lack of organization was astonishing. On Friday evening the lines to the food stations became ridiculously long, causing some guests to skip the main dishes, just to avoid queuing. When you came for breakfast at nine, most of tables were already free, some cleaned after the previous guests, but basically none set for new guests. Some guests were arranging the tables themselves, picking left-over cutlery and napkins from other tables, some managed to made the staff aware of the situation and help.
The pool area is fine and there were never problems with the sunbeds. There is a short walk to a nice private beach. We had to pay 6 euro for two sunbeds and a parasol on the beach because we came through Thomas Cook (Swedish Ving), but the sunbeds were free for almost all other guests.
Becici is a small place with mostly hotels. Restaurants and shops are concentrated along the beach promenade. Budva is 2,5 km away with fine old town. If you are buying excursions, check with the concierge in the hotel lobby; she may take half of your travel agent’s price and provide a better program, but check also the language spoken on the bus. If you are leaving early, or coming late, you may order a food box as a substitution of the lost meal. In September, the bus to Budva was 1 euro each way, and the bus Budva-Kotor 3,5 euro each way.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the annex
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tourist_from_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews