We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely family-friendly accommodation in rural...”
other traveller has booked this property
Exclusively for families with young children
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exclusively for families with young children
six cottages sleeping from 4 to 8 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Exclusively for families with young children
six cottages sleeping from 4 to 8 people
The pool area is enclosed. The pools are heated
New for 2016 - Hot Tub
Pottery painting activities each week
Teddy bear picnics each week
scuba diving for kids and adults
Balloons at the teddy bear picnic
Star watch from the hot tub
pirate ship
enclosed play garden
comfortable rooms
Peche gite sleeps 8 and Fleurie cottage sleeps 4
Play garden is enclosed and filled with toys
Heated, enclosed and alarmed swimming pool
Spacious grounds
Ruche gite and Horloge gite both sleep 6
play garden in front of the cottages
Big pool for jumping, toddler pool for the little ones
Papillon cottage sleeps 6
Relax whilst your children make new friends
Fleurie cottage
Fleurie cottage
View to the rear of the cottages
The cottages overlook the garden area
Herb garden
Fleurie cottage
Peche cottage
Grenier cottage
Fun for all the family at childfriendlygites
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Saint-Jean-d'Angely, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah B
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely family-friendly accommodation in rural France”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at La Grange du Moulin for a week in August 2016 with our two children aged five and three. We stayed in Ruche gite, which had a spacious kitchen and living area that remained cool in the 37C heat. It had wifi and was very child-friendly, with shutters that kept the bedrooms very dark, window catches, toilet seats etc. The setting is beautiful, with lots of butterflies flying around, and at night it was lovely to go to the back of the cottage to look over the field and see the stars. The children enjoyed the playground and particularly the swimming pool, where our 5yo got to try scuba diving and we had a great refresher dive. Chris and Wendy and their two sons are very friendly and helpful and have put a lot of effort into making it such a welcoming and family-friendly place to stay. The website and folder in the cottage are very informative and Wendy also emailed lots of useful information before we arrived.

I hadn't been to the Charente Maritime area before and enjoyed seeing the countryside, including on the vineyard walk led by Chris. We also visited the market at Aulnay, La Rochelle, where we went to the aquarium and the tower, and the Ile de Re (cycled around in 35C heat and had a very welcome swim in the sea!)

It is around an hour's drive from the coast (further if you want to go out to the Ile de Re or Oleron), so probably not an ideal location if you just wanted to go to the beach every day, but there are plenty of inland things to see and do that are closer. There are lots of ideas of places to go in the folder in the cottage or on the blog. We ended up doing quite a bit of driving, but the traffic was usually light and the roads very well-maintained.

We hired bikes for five days from Bikehiredirect.com who deliver to the cottage. However in hindsight I would have just hired them on the Ile de Re (a cycling paradise with bike hire shops everywhere) or maybe just for a day. The countryside is good for cycling (fairly flat and not much traffic) but it was very hot during our stay and although you could have a good circular ride, there are not many destinations that are within cycling-with-young-children distance.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Dear Sarah and family, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive and informative review about our property and the surrounding area. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back if you'd like to explore this beautiful region of France more. Thank you.
Wendy. Chris, Benjamin and Thomas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the-trave...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding holiday location for families with young children.”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We absolutely loved it and will be going back !! La Grange du Moulin is an amazing place where parents can actually relax and enjoy spending time with their children. Everything has been thought of and care taken to ensure families are happy and safe. We have been made to feel like guests not customers and the extra mile Chris and Wendy go for families that stay with them (including a rescue from a storm soaked vine walk) make this a must stay destination. We enjoyed both very hot and stormy weather and were advised on great things to do in both. I will have fond memories of relaxing under the stars in the hot tub with a book and glass of wine with the baby monitor - sheer bliss. We will be back next year and cannot recommend this highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was family-friendly.
Liked least: 2 days of rain.....
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to welcoming you all back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick D
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely, friendly family environment”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in June 2015

We had a wonderful week at La Grange du Moulin. A really characterful and rustic set of cottages in a glorious location in Charente Maritime (a region we hardly knew), this place is an absolute godsend for families with young children. The facilities are really good (although it's not intended to be "five-star accommodation"), there's lots to see in the area, and at the end of the day you can relax on your terrace with a glass of something whilst watching the kids play in a very safe environment. The owners are brilliant and put on lots of lovely activities for the kids and the grownups alike during an average week. We were so happy with it we're going back in 2016.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely quiet location.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Dear Nick and family
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you all again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aasmit
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful in so many ways”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We've just returned from a truly wonderful stay and can't rate La Grange du Moulin highly enough. Wendy, Chris and the boys are fantastic hosts and can't be more friendly and helpful. The gites are basic but comfortable with everything they could possibly need (and more for children) equating to very happy kids and we all know that happy kids = happy parents. The perfect holiday recipe as far as I'm concerned. Hope to see you next year !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot J
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you have small children and want to really relax, this is absolutely the place for you...”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week - and wish we could have made it 2 - Wendy, Chris, Ben and Thomas made us feel absolutely welcome and the gite (ours was called 'Papillons') was perfect for our 2 yr old and 11 month old. It was our first trip abroad with them, and we were suitably nervous parents, but we really shouldn't have been. Wendy has thought of absolutely everything, so we didn't need to bring the usual 'family-with-babies' paraphernalia, and the sand-pit, pirate ship pool and trampoline were brilliant for our kids.

Travel wise, we flew to La Rochelle, which was great and only 1h 30 from Manchester, but fellow guests drove and seemed to find it just as convenient.

I'm not one to usually write reviews, but the sheer perfect suitability of this as a first trip abroad with our family, and the excellent time we all had definitely warrants a proper 'thank you' to Wendy & her family, indelibly etched into the fabric of review sites.

If you like down-to-earth, endearing hosts, in an environment where your children will be not only safe, but also constantly entertained, then this is the place for you - watch out for Chris' sparkling Cognac though - it creeps up on you like a sledge-hammer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities for our children
Liked least: The 'as-it-comes' rural approach to driving by some of the locals!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing