We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quick weekend getaway”

Review of Manyika house

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Thika, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew S
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Quick weekend getaway”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I was surprised at how close this place was to Nairobi. I'm used to spending hours in the car for weekend escapes, but this place is only 45 mins away. That's very important to me because I do the driving and high speed driving usually kills the whole holiday vibe thing. However, getting to this place is safe and simple - it's double lane and divided the whole way.

Once you're there everything is easy. Playground, farm animals, and plenty of space for the kids. Great chef, beautiful sitting room and lots of fresh air for the adults.

Been here for two years and it's my pick thus far for the quick weekend getaway.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thanks Matt, for your review! I also love how conveniently Manyika is located for a quick escape of city life. Hope to welcome you back at Manyika soon. Warm regards, Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlies80
netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to relax and enjoy the coffee fields”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with a large group of 15! Although a bit crowded, we could make it fit! The staff is very helpfull and prepared our food lovely. We did a guided walk around the coffee fields which was very much appreciated. Would definately come back again to stay more than 1 night only. Perfect place for a weekend away from the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and view
Liked least: the power cut
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2016
Thanks for your review Marlies! Hope to see you back for a longer visit in 2016!
Warm regards,
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nettie v
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Peaceful colonial house with lovely garden: a great place to be!”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I visited Manyika house twice last year, in march for a silent retreat and in december with two family's (4 adults and 5 children aged 5-13 years) for the weekend. Both stays were just fabulous: the house is beautiful, spacious and cosy with a nice fireplace; the place is very much suitable for both occassions. The authentic, colonial style of the house feels like being back to the thirties, however, facilities are up to date. We all enjoyed the hugh garden with trampoline, the little bikes, domestic animals and quiet seating and we walked around the coffee plantation with John, the gardener, with beautiful sceneries. Both Joel, the caretaker and cook, and John are very friendly and just avalaible when needed. The food was very nice too. Overall, Manyika house and surroundings make you feel like being far away, but also at home, in just a second!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
Dear Nettie, thank you so much for your wonderful review! John really enjoyed showing you the coffee plantation :-). You are always welcome at Manyika house!
Warm regards,
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura K
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“An ideal escape”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Manyika House is an ideal escape from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi. The grounds are lovely – gorgeous vegetation, a child-friendly play area and fun,farm animals meandering about. The accommodation is charming, spacious, and filled with wonderful lounge areas to cozy up into. The staff is attentive and responsive, and Chef Joel should not be missed, especially his Swahili style curry. We highly recommend staying here and already look forward to our next visit! Thank you Eva and team.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
You are very welcome Laura! And thank YOU for your review ;-). It will be great to have you back as our guests in February or March.
Warm regards,
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice...
Kiserian
2 reviews
“Serenity”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The experience was wonderful, we enjoyed the environment, the service, the food, the hospitality and the freedom. I cannot even sum it up in one email but it was the best experience I had in 2015.

The staff is helpful with everything, the rooms are divine. You might need to have the master bed in the big room checked as it makes a creaking noise, other than that I cannot complain about anything.

I am glad I got to experience Manyika.

Looking forward to another visit this new year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thanks so much for your review Beatrice! We definitely hope to see you back soon!
Warm regards,
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;