We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
117
72
24
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
117
72
24
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish dining room lovely hotel owners and staff log fire wine list dining experience old school the pub radio record
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2021

We stayed here for one night for dinner, bed and breakfast. Our room seemed quite pleasant and well equipped, including a coffee maker and hand sanitiser (no TV though, which didn’t bother us but may do others). The view at the rear of the hotel was a pleasant view of the mountains in the distance. However, the grounds at the rear of the hotel were used to store a rusty old bench and other clutter, which wasn’t very pleasant to look at. It really needs tidying up. We could also hear the noisy kitchen extractor fan, which was quite close to our window and looked like it was in serious need of a service or replacement. We could also hear noise from at least two other guest bathrooms, which meant we didn’t sleep very well. We quite liked the room but didn’t think it was very good value for money and needed a little sprucing up. The bathroom ceiling had a rather bodged repair, where areas had been covered with masking tape and painted over, rather than being re-plastered properly. It took us ages to figure out how to switch on one of the bedside lamps as the switch was behind the bed, with the headboard pushed right up against it. Dinner was very poor value for money at £35 each. The kitchen ran out of one of the starters early on, so we had to opt for an alternative. The main course of cod we thought was good though. We decided not to opt for the steak as we felt the £8 supplement was excessive. My wife’s ice cream dessert was good, however, my cheese board was minimal to say the least (three tiny pieces of cheese with two oat cakes). We were asked to move into the lounge area for tea and coffee after dinner, we were told we couldn’t have it at our dining table due to Covid regulations. This made absolutely no sense at all as when we went into the lounge there was nowhere we could sit without being far too close to other guests. We therefore opted to take our tea and coffee to our room, where we felt more comfortable. Breakfast was also disappointing. Some items in the cooked breakfast were hot, but others were cold. The kitchen also ran out of yoghurt and toast (first time I’ve known a hotel to run out of bread!). Overall, very poor value for money, we stayed in much better hotels during our holiday at far less cost.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carl719
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2021

We stayed for 2 nights on 5th and 6th June 2021 with our dog Dylan the labradoodle. We loved this hotel. Very comfortable, spotlessly clean and elegantly furnished. It felt like a country home. The team behind this hotel are all really lovely and friendly, from the receptionist to the bar keeper (he was ace) and all the restaurant staff. There are lovely grounds to sit in and enjoy the peace and quiet and the beautiful view over the little bay. We really enjoyed the food too, both breakfast and dinner were excellent. And we asked for a picnic lunch for our touring and that was spot on with plenty of choice too. I will defintely go back at some point. Thank you to everyone at the Scourie Hotel for looking after us so well.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Helen Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2021 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as part of the NC500. On entering the hotel, the decor and set up of the entrance and lounge really gives a sense of what is to come, it is very tastefully decorated and furnished with a flavour of Scotland without being over the top. There is a focus on fishing but the hotel welcomes hikers, birders, anyone and everyone!
Our room was beautiful with nice hill views and whilst of modest size, was beautifully decorated and furnished and clean. The bed linen is super quality and the bed very comfortable. There is a bath and shower and a sink in the bedroom area however this is so well incorporated into the effect of the room it feels right.
We had the set 4 course meal, starting with pigeon breast with black pudding, beautiful, then soups followed by a main of hake and a lovely dessert of profiteroles. There is a good choice of meals on the menu to suit all tastes.
The next morning the Scottish breakfast was super filling and tasty.
What really made this stay however was the staff, they are so chatty and friendly, it felt like being part of a large family.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SanH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2021 via mobile


Amazing food... 5 course meal with great selection and extremely well cooked, presented and served .Fish particularly their speciality. I had Langoustines which were fab-u-lous! Others in our party had the steak which was also v good. Staff were all v polite and helpful. We have stayed at other places on the NC500 but this place is top class! Rooms fantastic too, v large and great views.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jaynebrad54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

Overpriced and under delivered.

For £160 we were expecting a really good hotel. Sadly, it was lacking the basics and we left feeling cheated. We’re doing the NC500 and found other hotels at half the price significantly exceeded this place.

There was no television in the room, something which even a basic Travelodge provides you with for £25 a night. The room was overlooking the roof. There were no complimentary biscuits and one teabag of English breakfast tea (we had to chase reception for more). The wood in our bathroom had not been painted properly making it look uncared for, and our double bed was two singles put together with a big dip in the middle. There were only two plug sockets in the room, one for the kettle and one near the bed for the heater meaning you could only plug in one bedside lamp at a time and not be able to power the other or the heater. Again, a basic Travelodge would have more sockets and possibly USB ones yet a £160 a night hotel does not. The curtains were not blacked out and had big gaps at the side meaning that the light at sunrise woke us up at 4am - things that wouldn’t have been an issue if the price was less.

At breakfast the waiter was less than cheerful and somehow thought I could drink a pot of tea without a cup. He didn’t ask if our food or stay that night was okay, nor asking if we wanted more drinks.

Checkout is early compared to a lot of hotels at 1000hrs. A member of staff walked straight into our room with their own key at 0940hrs without even knocking - we were still showering at the time.

There was no one on reception when checking out so we couldn’t raise the issues with the management.

Not a positive experience.

Room tip: Avoid room 1. Too off the stairs where people seem to want to stand around chatting before going to bed. Poor view from the room.
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews