We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Priceline
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
115
71
24
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
115
71
24
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish dining room lovely hotel owners and staff log fire wine list dining experience old school the pub radio record
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2021 via mobile

I can quite understand why this hotel attracts loyal customers and we have become one . We will be back. Under the current restrictions the hotel has worked very hard to ensure its guests still have a very comfortable and safe time. The staff are great and cannot do enough to make your stay fantastic. Food is great and overall it is fantastic value. Very comfortable room and lovely common areas. Beautiful setting with great walks on the doorstep. And, if you like fishing you could not be in a better place. Cannot wait to return, if only it was not 10 hours from home!!

Room tip: It is all great
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

The lounge areas of the hotel are fabulous. Huge open fire, thick rugs, comfy chairs and sofas, well stocked bar. The dining room was beautiful with crisp white linen, flowers, and silver condiments. The food was delicious. Clearly there are many guests who come regularly and know one another, but this added to the very friendly atmosphere. The staff and owners were wonderful, very helpful and efficient. The only downside was our room. It was very nicely decorated and very comfortable but the only window overlooked the kitchen and was quite dark, even with the lights on. We could also hear the guests upstairs moving about. It was still a very relaxing stay in a lovely hotel, thank you.

Room tip: Don't opt for a courtyard view. Arrive hungry!
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fromnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 May 2021

We arrived just as the hotel was reopening. An absolute gem. Charlotte and her team were like a well oiled machine pandering to our every need. Both supper & breakfast were first class. I can't recommend this hotel enough, If you're in the area take the time to settle back and let yourself be absorbed in Scourie hospitality.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WilliamRose2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2021

We had a wonderful three nights here. The family team, Richard, Fiona and Charlotte and their extended family of staff, looked after us attentively and even though we were the first party after a very long Covid lockdown, things ran very smoothly.
We enjoyed big breakfasts, good packed lunches and delicious suppers each night.

A super-comfy bed, power shower and great heating in the rooms (the weather was traditionally scottish!). Everywhere was immaculate.

The fishing the hotel has available is extraordinary - a real experience. We can't wait to return again next year.

Sadly for the hotel, they couldn't open the public bar because of the restrictions so we had the hotel to ourselves and the extended team of about 20 fisherman and non-fishing partners.

The scenery is staggering and Scourie is perfectly located for the NC500.

Recommended.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tnhonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2020

A great evening and stay at this former fishing lodge hotel. The dining experience to traditional old school and nothing wrong with that.
Would go back on another occasion if in the area.
The bedromms have no TV but have Roberts radios.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Rodgpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews