We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
117
71
24
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
117
71
24
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish dining room lovely hotel owners and staff log fire wine list dining experience old school the pub radio record
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2019

One obviously has be in with the "in crowd" at this establishment to fully enjoy the facilities to the full. The bedroom was very small and cramped and the occupants of the room next door insisted on having their bedroom door wide open when using the hair dryer to ensure that everyone else was also awake at their chosen time of waking! We got so cheesed off, my wife got up went into the hallway and poked her head around the door to show her annoyance and then promptly slammed the door shut (after having removed her head from the door gap). Talk about selfish. This appeared to be the common feature of most of the guests staying at this establishment who had a predisposition to carp on at full volume (excuse the pun) about their largely unsuccessful, fishing exploits the previous day. Looking at the trout mounted on the wall it appeared that only one decent fish had been caught, at best, every 12 -24 months! Back to the accommodation, at £150 per night one expects a shaver socket, a full length mirror and a tad more space. We were falling over each other. Dinner was a mediocre affair as was breakfast. The lounge and bar were very comfortable when one wasn't being licked by dogs. I agree with another reviewer (Solfab) who said that it was not good value for money.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank Morganbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2019

After a long car journey from the far north of Scotland, this proved a great stopping-off point because we were able to walk to the lovely bay next to the hotel and enjoy the sunset. The hotel itself shows its heritage as a former fishing lodge. Our bedroom was cramped and oddly arranged (sink in the bedroom/very small bathroom) yet common areas in the hotel were cosy and well-equipped. Breakfast was a similarly uneven experience. All in all, this was a perfectly comfortable place to stop, but at GBP 150 per night, it just didn't feel like good value for money.

Date of stay: August 2019
2  Thank solfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2019

A cozy hotel from the past, Scourie Hotel offer delicious bedrooms for a good price. It lays more or less in the centre of the tiny Scourie centre, close to great views of the bay. It has a coutry hotel taste, not without its appeal. The service is great and friendly, and the inside restaurant will surprise you with some Briish delicacies. Reception closes at night, but you can get a key to access it afterhours.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francescogQ8380UL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2019 via mobile

Can't praise this hotel and its wonderful staff enough.
Nothing too much trouble, lovely food and great rooms.
Traditional decor with modern facilities. My bathroom looked brand new.
We were VERY grateful for the late night sandwiches, saved the day!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank NJamesS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2019

We (6 of us) decided to visit the Scourie Hotel to eat (not as residents) and after looking at both the restaurant "fixed menu" and the Eagle bar "a la carte" we opted for the a la carte menu.

On arrival of the food we were all beyond disappointed. The portion sizes are small, for example as a starter for £7 you will receive a piece of bread approx 1"x 4" and a slice of chicken liver pate approx 2" x 3' x .5" The chips with all the meals are thin frozen chips akin to nothing more that supermarket quality. The battered fish arrived with pale, soggy batter which contained more air than fish. We did bring our concerns to the owner who simply said "all the other restaurants in the area serve frozen chips"

In short, the food was generally poor quality, over priced and the portion size minimal. Six of us ate there, 6 of us will not be going back.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank O7748VWandyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews