We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
117
72
24
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
117
72
24
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish dining room lovely hotel owners and staff log fire wine list dining experience old school the pub radio record
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2019

After a long car journey from the far north of Scotland, this proved a great stopping-off point because we were able to walk to the lovely bay next to the hotel and enjoy the sunset. The hotel itself shows its heritage as a former fishing lodge. Our bedroom was cramped and oddly arranged (sink in the bedroom/very small bathroom) yet common areas in the hotel were cosy and well-equipped. Breakfast was a similarly uneven experience. All in all, this was a perfectly comfortable place to stop, but at GBP 150 per night, it just didn't feel like good value for money.

Date of stay: August 2019
2  Thank solfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2019

A cozy hotel from the past, Scourie Hotel offer delicious bedrooms for a good price. It lays more or less in the centre of the tiny Scourie centre, close to great views of the bay. It has a coutry hotel taste, not without its appeal. The service is great and friendly, and the inside restaurant will surprise you with some Briish delicacies. Reception closes at night, but you can get a key to access it afterhours.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francescogQ8380UL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2019 via mobile

Can't praise this hotel and its wonderful staff enough.
Nothing too much trouble, lovely food and great rooms.
Traditional decor with modern facilities. My bathroom looked brand new.
We were VERY grateful for the late night sandwiches, saved the day!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank NJamesS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2019

We (6 of us) decided to visit the Scourie Hotel to eat (not as residents) and after looking at both the restaurant "fixed menu" and the Eagle bar "a la carte" we opted for the a la carte menu.

On arrival of the food we were all beyond disappointed. The portion sizes are small, for example as a starter for £7 you will receive a piece of bread approx 1"x 4" and a slice of chicken liver pate approx 2" x 3' x .5" The chips with all the meals are thin frozen chips akin to nothing more that supermarket quality. The battered fish arrived with pale, soggy batter which contained more air than fish. We did bring our concerns to the owner who simply said "all the other restaurants in the area serve frozen chips"

In short, the food was generally poor quality, over priced and the portion size minimal. Six of us ate there, 6 of us will not be going back.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank O7748VWandyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2019

stayed in room in garden, adequate, but nothing out of the ordinary.
This is a well established fishing hotel that was run by the same family for years, had dozens of regular clients that would come back year after year for the fishing, it was a bit old school and had some weird and wacky ways of deciding who fished where and when, but it all worked and it was booked solid a year in advance.
Then it was sold and the new owners have tried to put their stamp on the place.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews